Skip to content

TOTAL Top 10 Health & Fitness Tips

June 15, 2011

Hello! I’m really confused today – I keep thinking it’s Thursday and I have to constantly remind myself that it’s only Wednesday. I hate it when that happens … I’m going to get a nasty shock tomorrow when the weekend doesn’t arrive.

The people at TOTAL Greek Yoghurt contacted me earlier in the week to see if I wanted to get involved with their Fit4Summer Campaign. They have a dedicated website: http://www.totalgreekyoghurt.com/wellbeing/fit4summer.aspx which includes video tutorials on a variety of exercises, nutrition and health tips. I’ve had a look around the site and the tips seem to advocate a sensible approach towards getting fitter and healthier and it doesn’t include any crazy diets (which is always a major plus point for me).

They are asking bloggers to contribute their top 10 tips for living a healthy lifestyle. I can think of a lot more than 10, but I’ve tried to pick out the ones that I live by on a daily basis and have worked out for me in the long term.

1. Eat a variety of food

When I was a teenager trying to lose weight I ate the same breakfast (porridge) and lunch (a bagel) every single day. Not only was it really boring, I wasn’t getting the nutrients I needed and really lacked energy.

Now it’s a rare occasion that I eat the same thing twice in one week. If you eat a variety you will be stimulated by the food you eat and motivated to keep up your healthy habits.

2. Eat loads of fruit and veg

Fruit and vegetables make up the majority of my diet and I really miss them if for some reason I can’t eat any for a day (or even a few hours really!). They tend to be low calorie, filling and full of nutrients. I try to eat lots of different colours as they all have different nutritional properties.

3. Try something new

This goes for both food and exercise. Being part of the blog community has really encouraged me to try out different things. I’ve discovered to joys of quinoa, chia seeds and tofu amongst other things and there are loads of healthy recipes to try out.

I’ve also started running for the first time. It’s been hard work, but I’ve loved the new challenge. Never let yourself get bored with what your eating or the exercise your doing – there are so many new experiences out there.

4. Work out what you really like to eat and ditch the stuff you’re not keen on

Have you ever eaten something really unhealthy and then realised that you didn’t really enjoy it? What’s the point? I don’t really like crisps or donuts and I’m not overly fond of pastry … so I don’t eat them anymore.

Chocolate and cake on the other hand … yum yum! So I include them in small quantities in my diet. There is no point in feeling deprived – it’s a recipe for overeating.

5. Try and get a balance of protein, carbs and healthy fats in your diet

Carbs and fat have a bad reputation, but they are an essential part of your diet that can’t be neglected. For every meal I like to have a complex carbohydrate like brown rice, protein like tofu or lean meat, and the healthy fats come from things like nuts, seeds and avocado.

6. Try out a group exercise class or join a club

Somehow it’s much easier to motivate myself to get out of the house to go to a class than it is to exercise at home or go for a run. There is a huge variety of classes – I’ve tried yoga, pilates, aerobics, circuit training, BodyCombat, fitball and general toning classes.

I’d also recommend joining a walking or a running club. I loved walking with my hiking group (I’m injured, so I can’t go at the moment) – it’s so sociable and a fantastic way of getting out and seeing the countryside.

7. Think long-term

Having a goal like looking good in your bikini or fitting into a special dress is great, but what happens after that? Losing weight (only if you need to of course), eating right and exercising should be about looking after your health for life, not just looking good for a short period of time.

Yes, I loved it when I got complements about my appearance when I was losing weight, but I always had a more long-term holistic goal in mind.

8. Appreciate your body now

You may want to change something about yourself, but you have to live with the body you’ve got, at least in the short-term. Don’t be constantly negative about yourself and look to the positives.

9. Treat yourself and take the focus off food

When you’re trying to eat healthily it sometimes feels like all you’re thinking about all time is food. I find that by treating myself to something a bit special I feel relaxed and more confident without making it all about what I eat. I love manicures, getting my hair cut, shopping trips with my Mum and going to the cinema.

10. If you have a few days when you eat unhealthily or don’t do any exercise don’t get disheartened … get right back to it!

Everyone has the odd weekend when they drink too much, overdose on cake and vegetate on the sofa (or maybe I’m just speaking for myself). A few days really won’t make a difference if you get right back into your healthy habits. Honestly, I think this the real secret to staying healthy.

 

TOTAL would love to hear more tips, so I’ve been asked to tag three other bloggers to give their top 10.

Donny Fan @ The Rocky Road to Maintaining

Lara @ Eat Less, Move More

Lexi @ Lexi’s Getting Healthy

Also, there is a competition to win a month’s supply of Total Greek Yoghurt – go to this link to see how to win: http://www.totalgreekyoghurt.com/news-events/news_detail.aspx?nID=71&nType=1

What is the number one thing that you live by to keep healthy? It would definitely my last tip for me … if you fall off the bandwagon, get right back on it again!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 5:45 pm

    I couldn’t agree more, especially regarding the importance of appreciating your body as you go along.

  2. June 15, 2011 6:59 pm

    Great post – I especially like the tip about thinking long term! Inspiring 🙂

  3. June 15, 2011 9:07 pm

    I’m guilty of little variety! I buy a lot in bulk, so I feel really obligated to eat it all as fast as possible. Number 10 is SO important! I get discouraged so easily, and it’s hard to stay on track. I have to remind myself that being healthy is a lifetime thing, not just temporary.

  4. June 16, 2011 6:58 am

    Great tips! I think the total campaign is a really good idea, I’ll have to get my thinking cap on for my top 10 tips too!

  5. June 16, 2011 11:58 am

    Thanks for the heads up, any and every opportunity to get the word about living healthy out there is a good one 🙂

Leave a Reply

