Skip to content

Nails and National Blood Week

June 17, 2011

Woohoo – I’m soooo happy it’s Friday. I’ve haven’t had a bad week at work, but I’m really excited about my parents coming to Leeds for the weekend and my 10k race on Sunday morning!

Thank you for all your comments on how to combat cravings. I really liked Becki’s suggestion of thinking about whether an apple would satisfy the craving instead of the chocolate/cake/biscuit. This is something that I have done in the past and it really works, so I think I will buy some apples for my desk at work. My appetite has been a lot less than usual today and I think it’s because today was my second rest day from exercise in a row. I’m constantly amazed at the relation between the amount of exercise I do and my appetite – I just need to make sure that I have lots of healthy food on hand to snack on when I’ve done a tough workout.

I treated myself to a manicure after work. I LOVE having my nails done and for me it’s the ultimate selfish treat. I had a long-lasting treatment and I went for an uncharacteristic Barbie pink colour.

003

And in natural light …

005

I really love it, which is a good job because this stuff lasts 2-3 weeks.

After reading Lara’s post yesterday and seeing loads of stuff on TV about National Blood Week I got my arse in gear and booked an appointment to donate blood in a couple of week’s time. I started donating last year and I’ve donated twice, although I’m a couple of months behind schedule now (you can donate every 4 months). If you’re between 17 and 65 you can give blood and I’m ashamed that I was 26 before I first did it. I’m not particularly scared of needles (although I don’t love them!) and I’m fit and healthy, so there’s no reason why I never went to a donation session. I just never got round to it and I was generally anxious about what would happen.

When you first arrive you answer a few questions to make sure that you are eligible to donate and your haemoglobin levels are tested to make sure you aren’t anaemic or in danger of becoming so if you lose blood. I found this reassuring because I’m so pale I’ve always wondered whether I’m anaemic, but I’m fine (it must be all those green leafy vegetables I eat!). The nurses who put the needle in and look after you are professional and very well practiced, so I hardly felt a thing. The first time I went to the donation centre it was touch and go whether I’d be able to donate because apparently I have small veins (the nurse said it was because I was slim … I could have kissed her!). She managed to get the needle in, but it does take a long time for me to give blood and I have to squeeze my hand to encourage blood flow. Despite that, it was a pleasant experience with tea and biscuits afterwards and an afterglow of feeling like I’d done something worthwhile.

After I donated the first time I did a circuit training class 24 hours afterwards, and although I didn’t feel ill or anything I completely flaked out halfway through. So, I’d definitely recommend taking a rest day the day you donate and the day after.

What’s your favourite colour of nail varnish?

Have you ever donated blood? If not, what puts you off?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 6:01 pm

    Well done for donating. I used to, but I would faint every time. I am squeamish, and they even put on my form to take less blood, but I still fainted (when they take the needle out) so I do not go. Only did it about 5 times I think.
    I love chocolate brown nail varnish the best, but it looks better in winter I think

  2. June 17, 2011 6:30 pm

    This is a really good post on blood donation. I think a lot of people are intimidated by the whole thing, so having people talk a bit more about what happens when you’re there is probably really useful.

    You have really amazing nails by the way! Mine just won’t grow long, so I don’t paint them that often. Yours look so elegant though. And I love the pink barbie look. Amazing!

    Good luck on Sunday if I don’t touch base before then 🙂

  3. DonnyFan permalink
    June 17, 2011 6:33 pm

    I’m having my nails done regularly at the moment with Bio Sculpture gel – have gone for a baby pink colour as I can’t wear bright colours for work (boo hiss). My nails are the best they’ve ever been and I love them 🙂

    I have to confess to never having given blood 😦 I went to do it one time and they refused me for a medical reason (as I recall I was on anti-depressants at the time…..)

    Never too late eh? Thanks for the reminder 🙂

  4. June 17, 2011 6:43 pm

    I first gave blood at my sixth form because they’d organize sessions once a year or so, which definitely helped me see it as not being scary at all. I did scare the nurse once by sitting up once while the needle was still in and bending my arm. She made me lie back down again quick sharp. Sorry nurse.

    My favourite nail colour is either red red red or this gorgeous Opi one I have. It’s sort of a dark watermelon with a bronze shimmer and is so incredibly pretty.

    Good luck with your 10k!

  5. June 17, 2011 7:21 pm

    Thank you for spreading the word on blood donation, so important and I think a lot of people don’t realise it until its too late and someone they love needs blood.

  6. June 17, 2011 8:28 pm

    I have tried to give blood but sadly my veins are far too thin: it takes at least three attempts to get blood out of me just for my regular bloodwork. But it is an amazing cause and I do feel guilty that my veins won’t co-operate!

    Favourite nail varnish colour is definitely black…it’s just a shame that it stains your nails so easily!

    Wishing you all the best with the 10K!

    xxx

  7. June 18, 2011 5:05 am

    You should seriously be a hand model!

    The times I’ve tried to give blood, I’ve either been turned away for low iron or they can’t find my veins. Boooo! I need to try again. I have AB negative blood (the rarest) so I feel like I should give!

    Good luck with your 10k 🙂

  8. June 18, 2011 12:39 pm

    Love your nails! I almost gave blood once but I had a phone call about a family emergency just as they were about to put the needle in. Since then I’ve had tattoos done so haven’t been able to give blood recently (as they don’t let you for a few months when you’ve had them done) I do need to try and do it sometime soon though 🙂

  9. June 18, 2011 5:47 pm

    Your nails lookk gorgeous – and good luck for tomorrow! Look forward to hearing about it 🙂
    I’ve never given blood but only because I can’t – I’ve got a blood condition, which means they don’t want mine… I still feel bad about not doing it though, even though they wouldn’t take it!
    But so much respect to everyone that does give blood; it’s truly life-saving.

  10. June 18, 2011 5:47 pm

    Oh, and meant to say – I agree with Kate, you so could be a hand model!

  11. June 18, 2011 7:55 pm

    Now then Sarah.

    I’ve given blood a few times. The act itself never bothered me but I have a history of feeling faint a few minutes after – round about the time I’m eating my custard cream and sipping my brew. That can be quite embarrassing if donating at work or via a mobile village hall type session as it tends to involve having to lie down on a camp bed in front of everyone, feet raised and a cardboard sick bowl resting on the chest. That put me off going for a few years until last year when I went to one in Adel. By the time I’d got there I felt almost hysterical with nerves and the nurse in charge had a quiet chat and advised me, ostensibly on the basis of my track record, that I shouldn’t give blood then or in the future as “…it seems to make you poorly”. I felt shame and relief in equal measure.

    Guessing Sunday is the Jane Tomlinson race?

    I’m not a nail polish kind of a guy. Much to my youngest daughter’s disappointment.

Trackbacks

  1. Mid-week Workout Round-up « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

