Skip to content

Today I Actually Had a Picnic!

June 18, 2011

First of all thanks for the comments about my hands and nails. I get quite a lot of complements about my hands, which I’m very happy about, but it doesn’t seem and obvious thing to notice in everyday life (I know I flaunt them on my blog!) Unfortunately my career as a hand model was scuppered when I cut my finger on some wire a few years ago, which has left a scar.

As the title of my blog suggests I’m a huge fan of picnics and I was determined that my parents and I were going to have one today despite the rubbish weather we’ve been having lately – I was even prepared to eat it in the car. The weather did good in the end and the rain held off. I made a healthy picnic spread, which went down very nicely with my parents (although my Dad did ask where his meat pie was).

Salad with walnuts, feta and chopped dates:

002

Quinoa with peas and sweetcorn:

008

Cantaloupe melon:

010

We also had some egg salad sandwiches (no picnic is complete without egg sandwiches in my opinion), olives and tomatoes. There are no eating action shots because it was so windy that I was concentrating on eating it all before it blow off my plate.

We had our picnic at the West Yorkshire Sculpture Park, which was amazing. We didn’t get to see everything there because there is so much, so we’ll have to go back another time. I might go back with Peter so he can take some proper photos. I managed only very amateurish ones with my point and shoot camera, but you get an idea for how brilliant the sculptures are.

004

005

007

I’m getting an early night now in preparation for the big day tomorrow Smile Goodnight!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2011 9:13 pm

    That walnut and feta salad looks so good, i need to start putting nuts in salads more often 🙂
    Looks like such a nice day out!

  2. June 18, 2011 9:36 pm

    Good luck for tomorrow.

    Those salads look yummy, I may be stealing the ideas for my lunches next week…

  3. June 18, 2011 9:54 pm

    Picnics are so fun! I love the second sculptures, very unique!

  4. June 19, 2011 2:13 am

    I am dying to go on a picnic! I haven’t been for ages. I have a picnic basket that never gets any use!

  5. June 19, 2011 8:27 am

    Oh wow, those sculptures are amazing! And may I just say your feta and beetroot salad looks professional! Good luck today 🙂

  6. June 19, 2011 9:17 am

    I love sculpture, I really love to visit St Ives to see the Henry Moore works one day. All those salads look delicious!

  7. June 19, 2011 10:58 am

    Wow those sculptures are amazing. And hooray for having a picnic!
    Hope today goes well 🙂

  8. June 19, 2011 5:05 pm

    I just love Yorkshire Sculpture Park – such a long time since I’ve visited!

  9. DonnyFan permalink
    June 19, 2011 5:39 pm

    oh feta! how I’ve missed thee……..

    *scuttles off to the shop to buy feta* :p

Leave a Reply

