Skip to content

Peanut Flour and Organic Veg Box

June 23, 2011

Happy Thursday everyone! I took a complete night off from my computer last night, so no post. I spent the evening re-watching some episodes of Mad Men that I had only seen a couple of weeks ago … I think I might be obsessed. I need a new DVD box set to get addicted to. Any suggestions?

Yesterday morning started with my first visit to the gym in ages. Since I switched to mainly morning workouts I haven’t been going so often because my local leisure centre only opens at 7.15am. Since I didn’t have to be anywhere until about 9.45am I decided to go along. I started with a 30 minute interval run on the treadmill which consisted of a 6 minute warm-up and then 6 intervals (1 min hard running and 2 minutes moderate), finishing with 6 minutes cool-down. I also did weights for the first time in quite a while and I have lost a lot of strength, followed by some core exercises. I’m going to go into more detail about my training plans over the weekend, but I really want to build on my strength and core to help me get faster and try and prevent injury.

This morning I got up bright an early to get in a 3 mile run. I want to include some hill training in my plan for the York 10k because I’ve heard it’s quite hilly. I have a wide variety of hills to choose from where I live and today I decided on a long, moderately steep one. I did half mile intervals up the hill and then back down. It was gorgeous weather and I really enjoyed getting the blood pumping. I managed to sustain a decent pace both up and down the hill and it was only towards the end of the last interval that I began to tire.

Food-wise I’ve been experimenting with the peanut flour that I won in Leanne’s giveaway. I tried some of your suggestions:

Using a tablespoon mixed with water and agave nectar to make a yummy stir-fry sauce for my tofu, carrot, aubergine, courgette and broccoli stir-fry:

011

Adding a couple of teaspoons into my porridge:

017 (2)

The peanut flour made it so creamy and gave the oats a delicious flavour. I also added in a banana before cooking and topped with ground flax and cinnamon after cooking.

I also experimented by adding the flour to a tofu pudding. I blended together half a block of firm tofu with a tablespoon of cocoa powder, a tablespoon of peanut flour and some agave nectar. I ate half of this today as a delicious high-protein mid-morning snack that managed to keep me going until lunch time.

008 (2)

I also got an organic fruit and vegetable box for the first time this morning. I’ve wanted to eat more seasonally for a while now, but when I go for the supermarket I usually just pick up the things that I tend to eat all year round. I’m excited by the challenge of using produce that I don’t normally buy – this week I’m got tons of broad beans and a huge cabbage.

012

So, any suggestions for interesting broad bean and cabbage recipes?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 5:24 pm

    Broad bean risotto! That’s what I did with my beans from my veg box. Cabbage I just like to steam and then toss in a little butter and nutmeg as a side dish.

    You sound really on top of your training at the moment — hill intervals are no easy! Very sensible of you to be including some core and strength work too. I was reading a cope of Running Fitness today about hamstring development. I think that’s especially good for hills too.

  2. June 23, 2011 5:25 pm

    The Shield was good- police/ corruption drama series thingy.
    🙂

  3. June 23, 2011 5:29 pm

    Broad beans are lovely with mint, or for more of the meal you could go for a pasta primavera type thing, with lemon and spring onions?
    Very impressed with your training plan and morning workouts 🙂

  4. June 23, 2011 5:42 pm

    Ditto for the broad bean risotto – keep is nice and light, maybe use a little lemon and some courgette and loooots of dill!

    Cabbage wise – I suggest stuffed cabbage rolls! Lightly boil them then stuff with a mix of nuts, mushrooms, onion, chopped toms and herbs (blended) and top with a cheesy/noochy white sauce 🙂

  5. June 23, 2011 6:59 pm

    I’m getting broad beans in my box this week too, I’ve seen a wonderful recipe in one of the Leon cookbooks for Italian broad beans which I think I’m going to make. You can also make a wonderful dip by blending the cooked beans up like a hummus with tomatoes, garlic and olive oil. As for cabbage and greens I always steam as a side and cover with shoyu and devour!

  6. June 23, 2011 7:43 pm

    If you haven’t seen it yet The West Wing is a good box set to buy. It kept me going for aaaages and has some brilliantly written characters in it. Also The Wire, Treme, State of Play, Downton Abbey, Upstairs Downstairs, The Sopranos, and In Treatment are all worth checking out if you haven’t already.

    I have a life, honest!

  7. June 23, 2011 8:07 pm

    Nothing off the top of my head for the beans but cabbage:
    Cabbage salad
    finely slice/shred half a white cabbage
    same with 1 sweet onion
    mix together
    douse with olive oil and squeeze over 1 to 2 lemons (taste dependent)
    Blitz together 1 red chilli (de seeded) hand grab of basil & parsley
    mix into cabbage & onions
    salt & pepper to taste.

    Its a very “taste as you go” salad but DIVINE 🙂

  8. June 23, 2011 8:29 pm

    I agree with Laura that broad beans make the most amazing dip. Cabbage is great stir fried in coconut oil or steamed..yum!

  9. June 23, 2011 9:39 pm

    My gran always does broad beans with a sunday dinner which I always enjoy, not exactly a recipe but simple is sometimes good!

  10. June 23, 2011 9:45 pm

    Sadly broad beans and cabbage are two of the few veggies I’m not particularly keen on (although I did put cabbage leaves in a green smoothie once,,,typical). I do love your idea of having the fruit/veg box though.

    I’d never thought of the peanut flour/tofu pudding: definitely one for me to try.

    xxx

  11. June 24, 2011 12:25 am

    I’ve never thought to add peanut flour in tofu pudding! I just made some tofu pudding today. That would have been a great combo!

  12. June 24, 2011 9:03 am

    Veg boxes are exciting! I’m getting one on Monday. My mum makes some kind of braised cabbage and apple which is absolutely delicious! She uses red cabbage but I bet white would work.
    I’m currently obsessed with nip/tuck box sets! I’ve even got my boyfriend and his housemate in to it.

  13. June 24, 2011 9:05 am

    can’t help you on the broad beans thing – I HATE THEM! blurrrghhhh!!!!!!! yuck yuck yuck!

  14. Bronagh permalink
    June 24, 2011 10:26 am

    I love shredding cabbage and using it to bulk up stirfrys, or simply steamed and seasoned with some garlic salt/dried herbs as a side dish. Also if you don’t mind eating it raw then you can use the larger leaves to make some tasty veg wraps… I usually spead in some hummus, alfalfa sprouts, olives, grated carrot, maybe a slice of lean turkey. Makes a nice portable handheld lunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

