Skip to content

Food Inspiration

June 24, 2011

Even though I took two days off work this week, I’m still glad it’s Friday. I’m going to London on Saturday to meet up with some friends, one of which I haven’t seen for ages, so I’m really looking forward to it.

Up until the past couple of days you might have noticed that there hasn’t been much food on the blog. I’ve still been eating healthily *most* of the time, apart from when I’m faced with the temptation of cake (I really love cake at the moment!). However, I guess I’ve been feeling a bit uninspired by the food I’ve been eating and haven’t really felt like writing about it. If I’m truly honest I’ve also been frustrated that I’ve over-eaten at bit at weekends, although I haven’t felt like dealing with it head on.

If you’ve been reading for a while you might have gathered that I have a very low boredom threshold and I’m a big fan of shaking things up and trying new things. I regularly do this with my exercise routine and the way I eat has evolved too. Over the past year or so I’ve eaten much less processed food and cook most of my meals from scratch and I’ve slashed the amount of meat that I eat. Reducing my meat consumption started out as a convenience thing – it takes more effort to cook and good quality meat is more expensive than say a tin of chickpeas! However, I’ve realised that I enjoy vegetarian sources of protein more than meat and 9 times out of 10 will choose a plant-based meal (although I do still enjoy meat occasionally). Reading blogs has also had a huge effect on my diet – I’ve discovered new and exciting foods like chia seeds and nut butters.

I believe that I’ve managed to eat healthily and exercise consistently over the past 3 years because I don’t let myself get bored with my routine, so I knew that it was time that I tried something new. On impulse I decided to try out an organic fruit and vegetable box. Thank you for all your broad bean and cabbage recipe ideas – I will be trying some of them out soon! In the meantime I threw together some concoctions of my own:

Quinoa pilaf

006

  • Quinoa
  • 2 fresh tomatoes, diced
  • Broad beans
  • ¼ red pepper, diced
  • 6 closed cup mushrooms, diced
  • a few almonds

And a yummy salad box for my lunch today with boiled charlotte potatoes, shredded cabbage, diced cucumber, red pepper, sliced radishes and a boiled egg.

007

Have you ever lost your food inspiration and how did you get it back?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 4:48 pm

    I lose it every now and again with certain ingredients – tofu right now, and pasta’s getting dull, but I get out of it by flicking through recipe books and blog surfing looking for new ways to cook food or new ingredients to use it with.

    Don’t worry about what you ate, tomorrow’s a new day, and the pictures of meal you post always look delicious.

  2. June 24, 2011 5:47 pm

    I am a bit fed up with pasta right now, but I have had a look at a few new recipe books (the raw pesto I made the other week was lovely with it)- I do not mind getting fed up so long as I have the time to experiment- I often get in a rut because I am busy with work and stick to what I know will be quick. 🙂

  3. June 24, 2011 8:06 pm

    I’m in a rut too ~ a blending one! Well, that or my fallbacks of peanut stir fries or mountains of roasted veggies. I had a flash of inspiration when I saw some lovely stuff on Laura (Keeping Healthy)’s blog but I’ve been so lazy and haven’t made the things I meant to yet. I think reading blogs for recipe info is a good idea though.

    Don’t beat yourself up over overeating a bit at weekends: at least you don’t do it every day like me!

    xxx

  4. June 25, 2011 1:11 pm

    Occasionally I feel a bit uninspired but I have a lot (over 1000!) recipes stored on my evernote account so when I’m looking for ideas I have a browse through them until something catches my eye. If that doesn’t work then I just take myself off to the shops and see what I feel attracted too, most of the time I’ll see one thing that looks really good and that will set me off with new ideas! Your quinoa looks lovely, I have my confetti quinoa salad on my meal plan for next week and that has made me look forward to it even more 🙂

  5. June 25, 2011 1:37 pm

    I get uninspired every now and then, but I find reading other blogs can really help. I hope you have a great tome in London!

  6. June 25, 2011 3:48 pm

    Losing food inspiration is something that happens to me often! To be honest I’m not really a natural cook. I’m a bit lazy and unimaginative, and will happily fall back on the same old recipes time and time again. I tend to consult my cookery books from time to time to try and shake things up, and occasionally I’ll make something from a blog. I don’t mind repetition though, and I think routine is comforting to me. If I’m in a phase of chaos, then I’ll tend to stick to the same few favourites food wise, and that keeps me on the straight and narrow.

  7. angie permalink
    July 27, 2011 2:57 pm

    yes, it doesnt happen often, but when i do lose my inpiration its pretty difficult to get it back. Right now, I am hungry but dont know what to make. Looking at that picture of the salad made me remember a really amazing salad place that i visited last month and thus making me crave a really good salad. I havnt started putting things together yet, but that craving will probably lead me to make something awesome! Thanks for putting those pics up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

