Skip to content

My Current Fitness Routine

June 25, 2011

After completing my first 10k last weekend (you can read the recap here) I’m already thinking about the next challenge ahead – the York Run For All 10k.

For my first 10k I followed the Zest 10k plan, which I would really recommend for newbie runners. I already had a reasonable level of fitness, so I skipped a 5k plan, but if I was a complete newbie to exercise I would have definitely built up a bit more slowly. I would really like to improve on my Leeds time in York and I have 6 weeks to work on it. I have put together a rough plan, which I’ve managed to stick to for a week already. So, the plan for this week and next week is:

WEEK 1 (w/c 20th June)

Monday 40 min walk
Tuesday Rest
Wednesday 28 min intervals (+ strength & core)
Thursday 3 mile (incl. hill) + yoga
Friday Cross-train (30 Day Shred)
Saturday Rest
Sunday 6 mile run

WEEK 2 (w/c 27th June)

Monday 30 min easy run (+ yoga)
Tuesday Gym (strength & core)
Wednesday 3.5 mile run (incl. hill)
Thursday Rest
Friday 30 min tempo (+ yoga)
Saturday Rest
Sunday 7 mile run

Whilst I was training for Leeds I prioritised my running training, so my strength and core has suffered a little. I want to include at least one strength workout in my weekly routine as well as two yoga sessions. I have two yoga classes that I regularly attend, but it seems like I never manage to make both sessions every week. I’m trying to fit in practice at home when I can’t make my class.

I’m going to write more about this another time, but I’m also doing some short Pilates practices regularly during the week to strengthen my core. I’ve been having a few problems with my neck and shoulders that I’m sure is to do with my posture. I believe that the Pilate’s is already helping after only a week.

What sort of workouts are you enjoying at the moment? I loving everything – my enthusiasm still hasn’t waned!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2011 12:52 pm

    I am loving it all! I missed aerobics for a few weeks so it was great to be back. I am loving running (and for whatever distance I feel like at the mo), and am trying to do yoga twice a week, as I think it will be so good for me! 🙂

  2. June 26, 2011 2:40 pm

    I think it’s a really great idea to keep on top of the strength / core training while running. I went running with sore abs yesterday, and it really showed me how much you need your core to keep good form (as they really hurt!)

    I am enjoying getting back to doing anything at all, though I am finding running tough. I think the weights are where I’m gaining my confidence back the most, and that carries over into other stuff. I need to make sure I do yoga / stretching regularly though, as I’m getting pretty sore right now!

Leave a Reply

