Skip to content

A Day of Randomness in London

June 26, 2011

Phew – it’s boiling hot here in Cambridge. Some of my lovely Twitter friends encouraged me to go out for a run this morning and it was sweltering! I enjoyed the run, but couldn’t manage more than 5.5 miles. It was the kind of heat where you can smell the tarmac melting! I hope everyone has some sun wherever you are as well.

Yesterday Peter and I went to London to meet some friends for lunch and a chat. It ended up an interesting visit with lots of random occurrences, starting with a pigeon that decided that he/she wanted a trip on the tube:

002

It contentedly wandered about nibbling on crumbs and then calmly flew out at the next stop – I guess it wanted a change of scenery.

We had lunch by the river, which was lovely. I don’t have any photos because I find it a bit uncomfortable taking photos of my food when I’m eating with friends. Afterwards we headed to a free Spanish Rioja and tapas festival right by the restaurant.

008

013

I didn’t have room for any tapas, but we did sample some Rioja. We paid £3 for a glass and 4 coupons for samples. I mainly hit the red stuff:

014

But I also sampled some lovely rose, which really matched the gorgeous weather:

009

We took a wander along the Thames and came across some amazing sand sculptures:

016

017

After we left our friends I dragged Peter to Snog for a frozen yoghurt. I am obsessed by frozen yoghurt and I make a pilgrimage to Snog every time I visit London. Luckily I’m heading back on Thursday so I can indulge my obsession once more.

018

Mine was the one on the left – natural yoghurt with granola and raspberries. Peter had passion fruit flavour with strawberries and milk chocolate hearts (maybe not the most manly combo). We then hit China Town and had a fabulous meal before a nightmare journey train journey back to Cambridge – it was totally worth it though! I’m a planner by nature, but sometimes it good for the soul to have a spontaneous day.

Do you have any current food obsessions?

Do you like spontaneity or do like to know what’s going on?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2011 7:18 pm

    Looks like you had a great day! I’m also a planner but it does feel good occasionally to be more spontaneous! Current food obsessions are berries all the way!

  2. June 26, 2011 8:06 pm

    I do like spontaneity, but I also like to plan if I’m going somewhere new as I don’t want to miss out! my current obsession is strawberries, I can’t get enough. it is my mission to look like one by the end of strawberry season. Your weekend looks like it was wonderful 🙂

  3. June 26, 2011 8:28 pm

    I love off the cuff spontaneous get togethers – they are always the best 🙂

  4. June 27, 2011 5:35 pm

    Those sand sculptures are so cool! Sounds like you had a fun day, i love London but i’ve only been a few times in my life because i live quite far away, would love to visit snog though!
    My current food obsession is watermelon, i’m craving it 🙂

  5. June 27, 2011 7:18 pm

    OMG I am also obsessed with frozen yogurt – had it for the first time in California last year and was so pleased to see it in London! 🙂
    Sounds like a really nice day out – I love Chinatown too, Haozhan is my favourite place to eat there.

  6. June 28, 2011 7:31 pm

    Oh no, I can’t believe I missed that rioja festival! I love white rioja.

    I still haven’t been to snog. I must try it next time I’m in Soho — thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

