Skip to content

Getting My Organic Five a Day

June 28, 2011

Well, my title today is slightly inaccurate because everyone knows that I eat way more than five portions of fruit and vegetables a day! Fifi asked me in a comment how I was getting on with the organic fruit and vegetable box that I got delivered for the first time last week, and I thought that I would give my answer in a post.

I’m using Abel and Cole who deliver nationwide at the moment, but there are lots of other schemes that run around the Leeds area. I’ve been wanting to try out a box for ages, but I’ve been put off by the fact that I’m out of the house all day and there is nowhere for a box to be left. You can arrange for the driver to take keys to a shed or a communal area, but since I live in a terrace house that’s not much good. In the end I just decided to go for it and left a big bag outside for the box to go into. It actually turned up just after 6am as I was coming back from my run, so there was no problem (they don’t knock on the door before 7am, but I’m an early bird anyway).

This week I chose a medium box and got charlotte potatoes, a green pointed cabbage, broad beans, tomatoes, radishes, a red pepper, broccoli, bananas, oranges and coxes apples.

012

It seems like a lot for one person, but I will have got through most of it by tomorrow – I eat A LOT of fruit and veg.

Today every meal has included at least one item from the box. Breakfast was my usual overnight oats combo of oats, milled flaxseed, goji berries, mashed banana and oat milk, topped with some hot summer fruits.

28Jun11_2_edit

For lunch I had the most random, but delicious salad.

28Jun11_1

  • Sliced charlotte potatoes
  • Radishes
  • Cucumber
  • Red pepper
  • Nectarine
  • Feta cheese
  • Roasted red pepper hummus

I picked up the hummus from the health food shop and it is the most yummy shop-bought hummus I’ve ever bought. It’s Delphi brand and I will definitely be trying other dips in the range.

For dinner I took inspiration from Laura’s Italian vegetable and barley stewsotto and all your suggestions to use my broad beans in a risotto.

28Jun11_3

Barley, broad bean and tomato “risotto”

  • Approx. 6-7 broad bean pods, shelled and cooked (for ~5 mins)
  • 2 tomatoes chopped
  • 1/2 clove garlic
  • 50g pot barley, cooked
  • a little pepper

I don’t go in for complicated recipes, so apart from shelling the broad beans this was super super simple to make. I fried the tomatoes, broad beans and garlic in a little oil for 5 minutes and then added the barley, et voila! I served with some of the green pointed cabbage and broccoli, as well as some leeks that I had left over in the fridge.

I’m really pleased that I decided to get a box delivered – it’s so much fun to use vegetables that I’m not all that familiar with. However, I have decided to switch to a purely vegetable box next time. I’m not that keen on the cox apples and the bananas aren’t any more local than the ones you can buy in the supermarket. I have also missed some of my staples, especially spinach! So next week I will supplement my delivery with spinach and some fruit.

Have you tried an organic box? If so what is the most exciting thing that you have found in there? Do you supplement it with other produce?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 7:48 pm

    I’m dying to start getting an organic veg delivery, need to set it up this week!
    That recipe looks completely delish, too 🙂

  2. June 28, 2011 7:56 pm

    I keep meaning to try one- I even got to a website once as I had an offer (for buy 2 get third one free) but the website didn;t work and I have not tried since. Ithink the idea of variety would be good for me as I tend to buy the same things each week.

  3. June 28, 2011 8:04 pm

    Oooh that risotto sounds delicious! I made a similar one with barley a few days ago – it’s such an amazing grain 🙂
    I’ve never had an organic veg box because I love going to the market in my town every other day to get fresh produce. I find it really exciting and I practically live in there haha. I just love getting a bargain too!

  4. June 28, 2011 8:14 pm

    Thanks for this post! Very useful. 🙂 We were thinking about Riverford, but I’ll look into Abel and Cole as well.

  5. June 28, 2011 8:14 pm

    I love my organic veg box but because I eat a hell of a lot of veg (I think I may even eat more than you if that’s possible!) I have to get other stuff too. I think the fact that I one serving of strawberries or other berries equals one whole punnet and that I can easily eat a whole bag of kale in one go or a full size head of romaine in my salads I don’t have any other option! I do like that it makes me think of other recipes to try, glad you took my recipe for inspiration but I would have missed the olives! I do have a new found love of broad beans too x

  6. Errign permalink
    June 28, 2011 8:37 pm

    I’ve never done anything like that box or a CSA or anything. My summer routine is to go to the farmer’s market on Saturday & Wednesday and stock up. 🙂

  7. June 28, 2011 9:44 pm

    hello 🙂
    You have me pining over that Delphi houmous. I’m really picky about houmous and they get it just right, especially the carrot one, and I’d get it all the time when I was a student. I can’t find it anywhere where I am now, hrmph.
    I’ve never had a veg box. It’s mostly the price that puts me off when I know I can get the same local stuff for cheaper at the grocers and (bizarre as this may seem) the commitment of having to eat what’s delivered! Apparently my cravings don’t like to be tied down.
    One day I think I’ll have to get one, though, to challenge my commitment phobia ;). Maybe when I’ve found a Proper Job, though.

    ps. Are you in Leeds? If you are, have you ever been to Pickle and Potter, the wee cafe/deli down one of the arcade things (possiby the one with the mildly creepy teddy bear and doll shops)? One word: tiffin 😀

    • June 29, 2011 6:53 am

      Thanks for the the tip – I’ve not been to Pickle and Potter yet, although I’ve heard of it. I’ll definitely be going along if it has tiffin!

  8. June 29, 2011 6:43 am

    We get our veg box from a local farmer (SB Organics) and I utterly adore it – we only get locally grown, seasonal produce in ours (so no peppers for us!). We tend to supplement with a couple of other bits – normally mushrooms and (depending on what’s in the box) spinach or maybe peppers or something. We mainly have our box because we have quite a tight budget really and this means we end up spending a lot less on food than we used to! The downside is we probably eat slightly less than we used to too!
    Most exciting veg box? The day we got a squash after a whole winter of yucky celeriac. It was a beautiful day.

  9. June 29, 2011 10:06 am

    I love my organic veggie box. it’s great that they they give you so much variety in each box each week. I always have to buy more veg in the week though since I eat so much of it!

  10. June 29, 2011 12:39 pm

    I want your salad please! Yummy! I’ve never tried a veg box yet, been meaning to for ages but never quite get round to it! I worry I would waste stuff if I wasn;t sure what to do with it..

Leave a Reply

