Skip to content

Mid-week Workout Round-up

June 29, 2011

Hello! I hope everyone is enjoying the week so far. I have tomorrow and Friday off work, so this evening is like the start of the weekend for me. I gave blood this afternoon – you can read more about my previous experiences with blood donation in this post.

Blood_logo

Everything went well again and I managed to give my donation quite quickly compared to the last time I went. The only slight annoyance is that they have to put the needle in my right arm and I’m right-handed. Afterwards the nurse put a little cylinder in the crook of my elbow which made it difficult to bend my arm – it was hard to make my post-donation cup of tea! I actually really enjoy giving blood – it gives me a fantastic sense of having done something worthwhile and all the staff at the centre are really helpful and grateful. I also enjoyed the free Alpen bar that I ate afterwards.

I’m going to rest up for a while now, but I should be OK to try a gentle run on Friday. In the meantime I’ll review what I’ve been doing so far this week. I’ve had a great workout week, starting with my long run on Sunday. It was so HOT that I could smell the tarmac on the roads melting. It was my first experience of trying to run in the heat and runners in hot climates totally have my respect. I aimed to do 6 miles and to be honest I felt like giving up after 2 miles! I kept going though and made it to 5.5 miles before I walked back home to cool off. I was very pleased with myself and quite enjoyed it really – I like a challenge. However, I’m not sure that I want to run in that kind of weather again unless I really have to.

Monday started with a 3 mile recovery run. I ran really slowly, but my heart rate wasn’t that different to when I run faster – I felt very comfortable though. I did a quick Pilates workout afterwards (as promised, I am going to write more about this in a post soon). In the evening I went to yoga, which I found really hard. I know that yoga practice is meant to be done in warm conditions, but I really struggled with the heat. I think that I was a bit tired as well, so I sat out some of the vinyasas to give myself a rest. Overall it was a good practice though and I’m convinced that yoga is really contributing to my fitness and to my overall well-being. I’m not seeing much progress on my lower body flexibility though.

Yesterday was all about strength and core. I went to the gym to use the resistance and weight machines and did have a routine in mind. However, the gym was really busy, so I ended up going on whatever machines were free. I also spent some time with the stability ball to work on my core. I was at the gym for about 45 minutes and left feeling really good. I’ve been a little sore today, which I think is a good sign!

This morning I headed out early doors for a 3.5 mile run including a hill. I ran the first flat mile at around my 10k pace and then headed up a huge, fairly steep hill. I found this a real challenge, but I enjoyed it and I especially enjoyed getting to the top! Free-wheeling down the hill was pretty awesome too. When I got home I did a longer Pilates workout and discovered that not only is my lower body inflexible, so is my back – it’s something to work on!

Phew – a busy week so far … I think I need that rest day tomorrow! I’m feeling good though and loving every aspect of my routine at the moment Smile

What’s been your favourite workout so far this week? For me it’s probably been the hilly run this morning.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 6:58 pm

    Eish & I thought I had been busy 🙂
    My fav workout surprisingly was the intervals this morning, not too long and not too stressful (read fast) but still felt like I had had a good workout.

  2. June 29, 2011 7:23 pm

    I’m impressed with your hot weather run – the heat was punishing!

  3. June 29, 2011 7:36 pm

    Well done on your run! I really enjoyed my body pump workout on Tuesday night and would have enjoyed my recovery run this morning if there hadn’t been such a cold wind!

  4. June 29, 2011 8:05 pm

    Well done 🙂
    My fave workout was aerobics yesterday, as I had not been for ages (well, I went last week but it was a different instructor and not the same).
    🙂

  5. June 29, 2011 9:06 pm

    Congratulations on all the super workouts 😀
    I signed up online with my mum to give blood once but then got an email saying i was ineligible but it didn’t say why! That was about a year ago so i should probably try again or ring up and ask them why….thanks for reminding me!

  6. June 29, 2011 10:00 pm

    Sounds great; I’d struggle to run that anyway, let alone in that heat!
    Brilliant about the blood-giving too; it’s such a lifesaver, literally, and everyone who does it should be so proud of themselves 🙂

  7. June 29, 2011 10:22 pm

    Yay for donating blood! I wish I could donate more. I have AB negative blood (the rarest) so I feel bad that I can’t donate too often, but they can never find my veins! I used to have low iron, and now that I have a proper level it’s my veins that prevent me from donating 😦

  8. June 30, 2011 8:31 am

    I love donating blood, it’s such a worthwhile thing to do. Sometimes I feel bad that I don’t/can’t really donate much money, so giving blood makes me feel even better. I wasn’t able to do it for a while because I had a tattoo, but I’m all clear now and waiting for the next blood drive at my uni!

  9. Errign permalink
    June 30, 2011 8:27 pm

    I wish I could give blood, but my veins are too small! They just collapse 😦

    My favorite workouts this week: yesterday I had a 2 mile run, strength training and 1.5 hours of yoga and today, I had a 4.35 mile run/walk around a local lake, which was beautiful and it wasn’t disgustingly hot out yet!

Leave a Reply

