Skip to content

Time To Myself

July 1, 2011

Whoop – it’s Friday! I’ve had the past two days off work, which has been bliss and I’m now sitting in a nicely sunny Cambridge listening to a very polite-sounding cricket match being played. Although I have no idea about how cricket is played and I don’t think I’ve ever watched more than 10 minutes, the sounds are very evocative of summer. One of the best things about these two days has been that I’ve had the chance to do some distinctly “Sarah” things.

I was in London yesterday evening for a networking event with some women from my old college. There was wine and nibbles – I felt very grown up! I’m very shy by nature and usually a networking event wouldn’t be my sort of thing, but it’s a group of women all working in the same sector of varying ages and experience, and I find it really inspirational. I think it’s really great to see people from a similar background to myself succeeding and doing interesting jobs. There were a few women there with the same degree as me and they were doing really exciting stuff! I’m starting a new role at work on Monday, so it was just the confidence boost I needed – I definitely had a spring in my step as I left.

I took the opportunity while I was in the big smoke to pay a visit to Wholefoods. I couldn’t be bothered to go to Kensington, so I had to make do with the smaller shop in Soho, but I still managed to get a good haul of stuff.

004

As you can probably see, I have an obsession with rooibos tea, so when I saw all theses different varieties I couldn’t resist. I’m particularly excited about trying the chai flavour – I’ll let you know how it goes. I also picked up some brown risotto rice, which I’ve never seen before and some delicious-looking cherry balsamic glaze.

Today started out with a 3 mile run. I wanted to try one of the tempo runs in my Zest Running Made Easy book, but I realised that I might not be at my peak because of my blood donation on Wednesday evening. The run went OK, but it was hard work – I seemed to be going a lot slower for the same effort as usual. I’m hoping to have recovered a bit more in time for my long run on Sunday.

After my run I decided to indulge in my number one decadent treat – going to the cinema on my own. I used to do this all the time a few years back, but I’ve got out of the habit. I love having two hours to myself watching a good film … call me unsociable if you like (I can be sometimes!) I went to see “Bridesmaids” and because it was the early showing there were only 7 people in the screen. I really enjoyed it and I left the cinema in a really good mood. I imagine it would be a great film to see at a busier time because the whole audience would be laughing – the 7 of us could only managed mild tittering (although I did let out a few embarrassing belly laughs).

I was very hungry by the time the film ended, but I just couldn’t decide what I wanted to eat. I went in 3 different shops until I decided on this epic sandwich from Eat (excuse the fact that I’d taken a bite before deciding to snap it).

013

It’s goat’s cheese, spinach, grated sweet potato and beetroot, pumpkin seeds and pine nuts. I’m prone to hyperbole, but this might be the best shop-bought sandwich I’ve ever had – it was divine. There were other things in there that I would have happily eaten like a meze salad and spicy chicken noodle salad.

I’m looking forward to a relaxing weekend. I should crack open my study guides for the course I’m on next week, but I’m not sure that will happen!

What do you like to do when you have time to yourself?

Have a great weekend everyone!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2011 6:45 pm

    That sandwich looks really nice, i’ve never tried eat even though there seems to be one on every corner now, might have to pop in 🙂
    You should try and get into cricket too! I used to have no idea about it and randomly started watching a couple of summers ago when i was ill and got really addicted! I still don’t understand all the rules but it’s very relaxing to watch on a hot day especially if you can get to a match with a picnic 🙂

  2. July 1, 2011 7:48 pm

    Love the idea of putting grated sweet potato in a sandwich, and I completely agree with you about cricket evoking the sounds of summer. Although my attention span is just too short for it, even 20/20, but my Dad watches every single match on TV, and records things when they clash (i.e if one of them is in another country and there are two going on at once!)

    Good for you on the networking: I’d find that incredibly difficult but at least there was Whole Foods there as an incentive 😉

    I actually don’t like being on my own: too much time with my thoughts never ends well for me. Glad you enjoyed your film though.

    xxx

  3. July 1, 2011 8:09 pm

    Oooo I love the Rooibos Chai you’ve got – we have that in all the time 🙂

    Seeing as I’ve had a lot of time in on my own whilst I’ve been ill, I’ve discovered I like to read, think about big and important things, make life changing decisions, research exciting things to do and places to go. When I’m not ill, I quite often like to sit in a coffee shop and read or occasionally I go to the cinema on my own 🙂

  4. July 2, 2011 5:12 am

    I love to bake, read, and go grocery shopping when I have time off! I’ve realized that I spend so long in grocery stores that no one ever wants to go with me anymore 🙂

  5. July 2, 2011 9:51 am

    Loving your wholefoods haul, that bounce bar looks yummy! That sandwhich looks like a good choice too, I’d never thought of grating sweet potato before but I bet it’s yummy!

  6. July 2, 2011 11:53 am

    I love to read, bake, workout or take a nice long bath 🙂 Can’t really beat those things in my book!

  7. July 2, 2011 2:19 pm

    I love to read or just potter around. I find it very relaxing!

  8. July 2, 2011 3:30 pm

    That sandwich looks amazing! And glad you liked Bridemaids- I am still going to attempt seeing it! And I have that rooibos chai tea and I love it, so I hope you do too 🙂
    When I have time to myself I like to have a run, maybe wander around some shops or have a walk, do some baking, or read a magazine. 🙂

  9. July 2, 2011 8:04 pm

    That sandwich sounds delicious! I must buy some more of those granola nibbles, I love the cherry pie ones!

Leave a Reply

