Skip to content

What I’ve Learned In 99 Posts

July 4, 2011

Hello! I hope everyone has had a good Monday. I know it’s a tough day for a lot of people, but I actually like the start of the week … so full of possibilities! It’s also my only day in the office this week because I’m off to Sheffield tomorrow for the rest of the week on a (boring) course, but at least it’s a change of scenery.

This is actually my 100th post. I can’t believe that I’ve managed to write that many posts – I didn’t think I had that much to say! I’ve loved becoming involved in the blogging community and I’ve discovered some really great blogs and the fantastic people behind them. In order to celebrate this milestone I’ve added a blogroll page so that you can check out some of the blogs I love (if you haven’t found them already of course!).

Are there any other blogs that you think that I should have a look at?

It’s been a steep learning curve over the past 99 posts and I’ve learned a lot about blogging, health, fitness and life – here are just a few things:

1. Sometimes I feel inspired, but sometimes writing about the more mundane things is OK

When I first started my blog I used to get stressed about making all my posts really interesting and life-changing, but that’s never going to happen. Sometimes I’m buzzing with ideas about what to write, but sometimes I just end up writing about my day and general life. Sometimes I feel totally uninspired and I don’t post … that’s OK too.

2. Blogs are fantastic, but it would be very easy to fall into the comparison trap

Like a lot of women compare themselves to others and I’m no different. The blog community is the ideal breeding ground for comparison-itis, but it’s something that I was very aware of when I first started blogging. It may seem as if a blogger has the perfect life, but their blog doesn’t show the whole picture. Plus, if someone has a great life – that’s fantastic and I shouldn’t begrudge them happiness. I concentrate on the good things in my life and when things do go wrong the blog community is a fabulous source of support.

3. I can write whatever I want … but blogging does come with responsibility

I’ve found blogging a great way to express myself and write about what I’m interested in without worrying what other people think. In “real life” I find it difficult to express my opinion, but it seems easier on the internet. However, I’m also aware of who might be reading what I write – from a personal perspective I know that my parents and several friends are readers and I don’t want to write anything incriminating Smile I’ve also found that the blog world is open to debate, discussion and can generate some fantastic ideas.

4. Blogging has encouraged me to do things that I might not have otherwise done

Specifically, running. I always wanted to learn how to run, but I’d reasoned that I wasn’t a natural runner, so I should probably stick to the exercise routine that I was familiar with. Reading about how other bloggers have started running and how much they enjoy it really inspired me to give it another go. I now love running regularly and a few weeks ago I completed my first 10k!

5. Blogs encourage me to spend money

Seeing all the nice stuff that everyone else has makes me want it – a Garmin, snack bars, chia seeds … Thankfully my kitchen doesn’t have room for a food processor, but you can bet that as soon as I move to a bigger place that will be on the top of my shopping list!

What have you learned from blogging and/or reading blogs?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2011 7:58 pm

    Ha ha I totally agree that it makes me spend money! And also about being careful to not compare yourself to others, especially as blogs do not show the true picture.
    But I love it too as it is a community- I comment on other people’s posts, they read mine, and we sort of get to know each other. People have helped me with my training and things like that, people have given me links to great recipes, great websites and stuff like that. And actually as for trying new things, I would not be doing yoga at the moment if I did not read blogs. 🙂

    • July 4, 2011 9:03 pm

      You are completely right – I love this community and I’ve got so much out of blogging that I couldn’t have even imagined!

  2. July 4, 2011 8:42 pm

    Yep, another overspender on ‘blog’ products right here 😉 It’s all I can do not to try to order from iherb even when flat out broke.

    I’ve learnt that there are actually nice, intelligent, lovely people in the world, and that there are more tolerant people out there than I realise. It’s so wonderful to have both a support network and a source of inspiration online, and if there’s one thing I’ve discovered above all others it’s that health is truly subjective: one person’s definition will never fit another’s. I would never have run a marathon if I hadn’t read blogs, because I didn’t think I had the ability or strength. Nor would I ever have discovered the joys of a Green Monster….or carob!!!

    xxx

  3. July 4, 2011 9:17 pm

    I agree with every one of your points! I love the community feel, I love being inspired by other people – and I have to watch the comparison thing and wanting to spend loads of money!
    Great post, congratulations on the 99 and here’s to many more 🙂
    Hope the course is good…

  4. July 4, 2011 9:23 pm

    I love what I can learn from peoples blogs. I have suffered from comparing myself to others but have managed to pull myself into check when I find myself doing it (running distances and speeds being specific issues for me). Blogs got me into green monsters, I would NEVER have thought it possible but there you are 🙂

    Mostly I love reading what people do and a things about them and interacting and commenting.

  5. July 4, 2011 11:21 pm

    I think the main thing for me was how much more creative I got with my meals. Having a blog really made me realize how much I repeat the same thing over and over!!

    I also learn every day from other’s blogs – everything from life lessons to the best books to read. The blog world really is an amazing place! 🙂

  6. July 5, 2011 3:12 am

    I definitely agree with all of these, especially number 4! I found blogs when I was just starting to run, and seeing all the race recaps inspired me to sign up for races 🙂

  7. July 5, 2011 7:21 am

    I agree with all of those points, especially no 5! But I do love the things I spend my money on, they make my diet so much more varied and delicious 🙂 I’ve learned and gained so much from blogging, its given me the creative outlet I have needed and a place to share my passions with other like minded people. I love that even though we have similar interests there is also such a diverse range of people of all ages and backgrounds within the community. I can’t imagine life now without a good green smoothie 😉

  8. July 5, 2011 9:42 am

    I loved reading this post! I have read food blogs for probably 4+ years but it wasn’t until I started posting my own that I realised what a wonderful community it is. It’s great to meet like minded people. I like point one, I love reading posts that make me go “wow” but I also love just reading about what someone gets up to in their daily life.

  9. July 5, 2011 10:04 am

    I love this post and agree with all of your points. I have found that I spend more money since blogging mainly on new foods to try, but I love trying new things so it’s not so bad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

