Skip to content

Overnight Oat Sensation

July 6, 2011

Just a quick one from me today because I’m still on a residential course in Sheffield (yawn!).

I thought of this post title in the early hours of the morning, somewhere between sleep and wakefulness – apparently my semi-conscious mind likes to think up cheesy post titles. I knew that I had to try to create the ultimate overnight oat recipe to justify the post … and here it is:

Oats_3

Strawberry, mango & coconut overnight oats

  • 50g rolled oats
  • 1 tablespoon milled flaxseed
  • Small handful of dried mango
  • Milk to cover (I used oat milk)
  • 6 strawberries, sliced
  • Toasted coconut

I mixed together the oats, flaxseed, mango and milk in a bowl, then covered it and left it in the fridge over night. In the morning I just sliced the strawberries on top and then sprinkled on the coconut. The mango had become deliciously soft and juicy – a completely different texture to how dried mango usually is.

I don’t like the flavour of coconut to come through to strongly, so the toasted pieces suited me. If you really like coconut I think this combo would be nice made with coconut milk.

Oats_1

I think that this is my favourite overnight oat combo that I have made so far – definitely a success!

What are your favourite additions to oats?

Do you dream about blogs too? Go on, make me feel more sane!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 8:44 pm

    Oh that sounds so yummy! I love how raisins soak up milk overnight but I have never tried it with other dried fruit (although I did entertain trying it with dried peaches the other week).
    Raisins and cinnamon are such a classic combo, or maybe with some grated apple added.

  2. Errign permalink
    July 6, 2011 9:35 pm

    I love overnight oats & what a great idea to add the mango night before. I have oats, yogurt, mango and milk so perhaps I’ll “copy” you tonight 🙂

  3. July 6, 2011 11:14 pm

    Never tried overnight oats… am I really a blogger lol! I have dreamt about blogging though and I do have blog ideas overnight haha

  4. July 7, 2011 1:27 am

    I love to add sunflower butter and a crunchy cluster cereal or granola for texture 🙂

    I can’t say I’ve had a blog dream yet but I’m sure I will someday so you’re definitely not alone 🙂

  5. July 7, 2011 6:40 am

    I’m a bit unadventurous with oats, limited not by inclination but inspiration, and as a result the most adventurous I do get would be to add a banana and a few seeds to my porridge.

  6. July 7, 2011 7:04 am

    Hehe, I can’t say I do dream about blogs! But I do know that space between wakefulness and sleep, where you think things that seem totally sane or normal or brilliant, and then you wake up and think “what!?”

    The few times I’ve made overnight oats I’ve really enjoyed them. The idea of soaking dried mango overnight it goooood! I really like coconut, so I usually put the flakes in overnight to soak too. It’s great for warmer weather too. I’ve been having yoghurt and granola, but this is a good (and healthier) alternative that I’d forgotten about, thanks!

  7. July 7, 2011 7:21 am

    Where do I start? I love all sorts on my oats, always fruit, nut butter, granola, flax or chia, chocolate, cookies, muffins, you name it! Today I had cherry coconut 🙂

  8. July 7, 2011 10:54 am

    Oats are my favourite. I love them in chia puddings and the toppings are endles- nut butters, nuts, dried fruit, berries..yum!

Trackbacks

  1. Yoga High « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

