Skip to content

Trying to Shop Local

July 8, 2011

Happy Friday everyone! Thank you for all your comments on my Tips For Staying Healthy Away From Home – I’m glad that you found it useful. I’ve certainly picked up a lot of tips from reading blogs!

My Friday started off with an awesome run in Sheffield. I went on a similar route as on Wednesday morning (only without taking a wrong turn!), so it was quite hilly. The first mile was mostly uphill and was really hard work, so I ended up doing a 10.15 minute mile. The second two miles were gently undulating and I managed around 9.06 min/mile. The last mile had a bit of downhill, which helped me to recover, so I did it in 8.56. This is the first time that my Garmin has recorded under 9 min/mile, so I’m really chuffed. I’m pretty sure that I went at least this fast during parts of my first 10k, but I didn’t have my Garmin then. I feel like I’m finally back on form and improving after I gave blood last week – I guess it does take a little while to get strength and stamina back.

When I got home this afternoon my organic vegetable box was waiting for me Smile

8Jul11_3

Getting these boxes delivered is turning into the highlight of my week – it’s so exciting. This week I got:

  • Accent new potatoes
  • Beetroot bunch
  • Broad beans
  • Carrots
  • Cauliflower
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Red onions
  • Yellow pepper

I needed to get a few other groceries, so I headed to Sainsbury’s after I got home. Seeing as I’m now getting a vegetable box delivered I decided to buy as local as I could find, but I discovered how difficult that is at the supermarket. I bought British produce if it was available, if not I bought European produce.

8Jul11_2

(Excuse the mess in our kitchen – it’s tiny and my housemate was in the middle of making a whale cake, which is why you can see a whale template in the photo).

8Jul11_1

The mushrooms, spinach, cucumber, cherries and strawberries are from the UK and the rest of the stuff is of European origin. I was really shocked at how difficult it was to find an apple that wasn’t from South Africa or South America – the only ones I could find were the Sainbury’s “basic” apples and brambly apples.

I really looking forward to using my produce over the next week. I’m considering doing some meal plans to make sure that I use up everything that I’ve bought. I’ve never bothered with meal planning before, but I think that it would help me to make the most of what I’ve got.

Do you try to buy local produce and do you find it difficult?

Do you plan your meals in advance or just make what you fancy on the day?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2011 8:47 pm

    We always plan our meals each week- we never used to and just bought what we fancied and ended up with loads left over and also needing to do extra shops. I do look for local stuff (well, UK stuff) when it is in season, but it is hard I think.

  2. July 8, 2011 9:50 pm

    There was a big sign in a supermarket today saying “British strawberries” but all those in the display were from Holland! I didn’t buy any 🙂
    I try to buy British as much as possible, to support our farmers and because I can’t see why we need to import stuff that’s readily available here! It can be really hard though, like you say – I might have to look into those veg boxes, your stuff looks great!

  3. July 8, 2011 10:43 pm

    Kudos to you running in Sheffield! I know how hilly it is there!!

  4. July 9, 2011 8:22 am

    I’m a big meal planner for so many reasons – mainly for keeping costs down and to save time! I love my organic box delivery – we get emailed with the expected contents the week before which means I can plan. Sometimes I like to change it up a bit and will leave a couple of meals free to just have what we fancy. I do try and stick to more local produce when possible but it can be so difficult at times, I try and find a balance. I love those basic apples at sainsbos, they are actually quite sweet and crunchy!

  5. July 9, 2011 8:43 am

    I try and buy British, or Yorkshire for that matter, as much as I can mainly on the basis that local ought to be fresher and more seasonal (but I know that belief is flawed in several ways). After that its anything from the rest of Europe as I’m quite a Europhile, and finally the rest of the world though there are a couple of countries I try to avoid solely on political grounds.

    I probably ought to add to that, that salad leaves, courgettes, new potatoes, radishes, herbs, and soon cucumbers, tomatoes, chard, cabbages, leeks, potatoes and spring onions will all be from the garden over the summer and early autumn.

    I suppose for apples we’re almost as far out of season as its possible to be for UK produce – though I’m pretty certain I see only southern hemisphere ones all year round.

    • July 9, 2011 3:44 pm

      Wow – I’m impressed with your green fingers! I live in a tiny terraced house, so don’t have room for a vegetable patch. Plus, I’m not sure where to start. I would love to start growing my own at some point though.

  6. July 9, 2011 12:12 pm

    Hello fellow UK blogger who is also called Sarah 🙂

    Ok, that was a little wordy. Just found your blog! I try to buy local produce but we live in a tiny flat at the mo so don’t have the fridge storage space. We’re moving shortly so I intend on getting a local veg box delivered then.

  7. July 9, 2011 3:43 pm

    I buy local from farmer’s markets, and some of the produce sold at the Costco near me is grown in my city!

Leave a Reply

