Skip to content

Recreating Restaurant Favourites

July 9, 2011

Last week Peter and I had a gorgeous meal in a small Korean restaurant in Cambridge called Bibimbap House. I’ve had a Korean meal once before and enjoyed it, but this was something special. There were two basic dishes to choose from – rice with vegetables and a fried egg, or rice with vegetables and sweet potato noodles. You could then choose to add beef, pork or tuna if you wanted.

I went for the sweet potato noodle option with some added beef:

Korean_1

The main dish came with miso and a couple of small side dishes – these ones were pickles and some crunchy broccoli and french beans.

Peter chose the other option with a fried egg on top:

Korean_2

You can’t see the egg because the idea is that you add sweet chilli sauce, spicy tomato sauce and soya sauce to the dish and then mix everything up together.

The sweet potato noodles I had were heavenly. I’ve never had them in the UK before, but they were a regular on the family table in China. I will definitely be on the look-out for them in my local oriental supermarket.

Last night I decided I wanted to take inspiration from this lovely meal and make my own bibimbap. I didn’t have any sweet potato noodles, so I decided to do the eggy version using some of the vegetables that I got in my organic box. I imagine that it would be equally good with tofu if you wanted to make it vegan.

Korean Bibimbap

9Jul11_1

  • 50g brown rice
  • 2 small grated carrots
  • 1/3 head of cauliflower divided into florets
  • 6 closed cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 egg
  • Sweet chilli sauce
  • Soya sauce

The major advantage of this dish is that it can be all made in one pan (great if you’re lazy like me!) – I even poached the egg in a poacher in the same pan. According to Wikipedia other popular vegetables used in bibimbap include cucumber, courgette, spinach, soya bean sprouts and lettuce. I mixed all this up thoroughly just before I ate it and it was delicious!

For lunch today I also took inspiration from a meal I ate out recently. Remember this sandwich from Eat?

013

I just fell in love with the combination of beetroot and goats cheese together and seeing as I got beetroot in this week’s organic box I decided to indulge.

9Jul11_2

I made my version on a wholewheat bagel and just spread on a little soft goats cheese and topped with raw grated beetroot – I LOVED IT!

The only downside was the faff of grating beetroot. I cling-filmed my chopping board, which reduced the damage and used a plastic bag to hold the beet, but I still managed to make a mess! I didn’t drop any down me though, which is some kind of miracle.

Do you like to recreate or take inspiration from meals that you have eaten in restaurants?

Have you tried any new cuisine lately?

I hope everyone is having a fabulous weekend so far – enjoy your Saturday evening!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2011 6:26 pm

    I’ve never had Korean food before but it looks absolutely delicious 😀
    After you blogged that sandwich last time, i made sure to go to EAT and now i love it too! Thanks for introducing me to such a convenient lovely place x

  2. Errign permalink
    July 9, 2011 7:16 pm

    I love seeing things on restaurant menus I know I can recreate at home – they’re perfect recipe ideas!

  3. July 9, 2011 7:20 pm

    Ooh that bagel looks wonderful, I’m on such a goats cheese kick at the moment! Recreating restaurant food is fun, especially when you create something almost exactly the same, or even better!
    Grating beetroot sounds like a nightmare! Getting the skin off is messy enough for me.

  4. July 9, 2011 10:22 pm

    Sweet potato noodles! I would have absolutely loved the dish with just the noodles/veggies. I’m so jealous!

    I never really recreate restaurant dishes as I rarely eat out, and am ultra-picky about certain flavours and spices/textures too. I tend to muck about with recipes from blogs more often 😉

    xxx

  5. sunshinevegan permalink
    July 10, 2011 6:14 am

    Yummm! Your eats look deelishh!
    I always have so much fun trying to recreate restaraunt foods and veganize or health-ify them 🙂 a do a totally kick ashh version of Panera’s black bean soup!

  6. July 10, 2011 10:20 am

    I am totally in awe of your creativity! It all looks amazing 🙂 the grated beetroot…… was that raw or cooked beetroot you grated? I’m guessing the cooked if it was a bit messy 🙂

    It’s weird….. I love food, I love looking at food, I love the taste of food, but more often than not I can’t be bothered with the faff of preparing it!

    must. try. harder.

    🙂 x

Leave a Reply

