Skip to content

Chillaxing

July 10, 2011

Hello – I hope you’re all having a great weekend so far! My weekend has been very uneventful … but that’s the way I planned it. Earlier in the week I mentioned that I had been particularly ditzy and thought that it might be an early sign of stress. I’ve been rushing around a lot lately – visiting Peter in Cambridge, his parents in Lincolnshire and my parents in Chester, as well as visiting friends in London and spending most of last week in Sheffield. These are all pleasurable activities, but they have been taking their toll. So, I decided to stay at home on my own this weekend and do … not very much actually.

I’ve spent the majority of the weekend reading “Health at Every Size” by Linda Bacon, PhD. It’s incredibly well written and backed up by scientific study, which being a bit of a geek I love! I couldn’t put it down, even if I didn’t find everything it had to say comfortable. I will post a full review once I’ve had time to mull it over.

The rest of the weekend has been spent in the kitchen cooking, eating my creations and exercising.

Yesterday morning I hit the gym to do some strength training and core work. I hadn’t done any strength workouts for over a week because of my trip to Sheffield, so it was well overdue. The advantage was that my muscles were fresh and I was able to lift heavier than I normally can when I feel fatigued. I mainly concentrated on my upper body and did a couple of circuits of the resistance machines. I would love to incorporate some of the other equipment into my workouts, including some more lower body stuff now that my ITB problem has calmed down a lot. Writing that has just inspired me to ask for a review of my training with one of the guys at the gym! I would love a few sessions with a personal trainer, but I can’t justify that expense!

Today was my long run. I’m not usually in Leeds at the weekend, so unbelievably this was the first time I’d tackled more than 4 miles here. I decided to run the 3 miles into town and then up to the university campus, round the park a few times and back to a conveniently located bus stop. It felt a bit strange getting the bus home, but I’d already done 7.5 miles and didn’t want to add another 3 miles to that. It was all uphill from town to the park and I felt done in when I got there. I took quite a few water breaks and don’t think I performed at my best, but probably better than last week. When I plugged into Garmin Connect I was a bit disappointed to note that I had run more downhill than uphill, because that uphill felt HARD. Overall I managed 7.5 miles in 1hr 12mins 29secs.

When I got back from my run I really fancied a green smoothie with a slice of wholemeal toast slathered with Dark Chocolate Dreams:

10Jul11_2

In the smoothie:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 7 fresh strawberries
  • Handful of spinach
  • 1 teaspoon peanut flour
  • 1 teaspoon milled flaxseed
  • 2 tablespoons oats
  • Cup of oat milk
  • 1 tablespoon 2% Total yoghurt

Banana and strawberry green smoothies are my favourite at the moment – they have a lovely fresh and delicate flavour.

Last night I used some more of the delicious veggies I got in my organic box to make a vegetable and lentil curry:

10Jul11_1

I just chucked together some charlotte new potatoes, cauliflower florets, sliced carrots and mushrooms with a tin of chopped tomatoes, a couple of tablespoons of red lentils and spices (black pepper, coriander, cumin, ginger, chilli powder, cinnamon). It made a huge plate of curry, but I gobbled it all up … sometimes a girl just needs volume!

I also used some of the beetroot I got to make a simple beetroot hummus:

  • 1 small beet, cooked
  • 1/2 tin chickpeas
  • 2 teaspoons tahini
  • Cumin, salt and pepper

The beetroot was a lot easier to handle when cooked. I boiled it for about half an hour until cooked through and then just rubbed the skin off with my fingers. I usually over-garlic my hummus, so I decided to leave it out this time. I could have maybe done with some lemon juice, but I didn’t have any and I was too lazy to leave the house! I intend to eat this for lunch over the next couple of days, but I couldn’t help sampling some on a cucumber baton:

10Jul11_3

Delicious!

What’s your perfect way to relax and de-stress?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2011 6:15 pm

    Oooh, that beetroot houmous looks great! I’ve been meaning to make houmous this week so I may have to buy some beetroot to try this out 🙂

    As for relaxing…not much of that goes on around here with the children!! We got back from child-free honeymoon last night & it’s such a shock to the system to be straight back in to the children constantly asking questions, wanting to show us something etc etc…it’s never-ending!! When I do get some “me time” though, I love to read a book in the bath, or bake cakes with Liam having promised to do the washing up afterwards!! 😀

  2. July 10, 2011 6:23 pm

    That book sounds really interesting, it’s got great reviews on amazon too, I’ll have to look out for it. I have never thought of using beetroot in a dip, the colour is amazing! If I get beetroot in my box this week I will try it out.
    I’m glad you’ve had a nice relaxing weekend, I like to take time out and be by myself too when I need to de-stress.

  3. July 10, 2011 6:53 pm

    Love the look of the beetroot dip 🙂
    I like to have time at home to relax- just time to catch up on jobs, and time to watch TV or read magazines, and be in no hurry about anything.

  4. July 10, 2011 7:56 pm

    I think my answer to your question is probably a foregone conclusion: running, or reading running magazines. Or watching running on TV! Or possibly dreaming about running…okay, I’ll stop now.

    I would have given that hummus a sneaky try too: looks great! And obviously I love your (far more restrained than mine) green smoothie 🙂

    I just had a peek at that book on Amazon and would absolutely love to hear your thoughts on it: it sounds pretty controversial to me and even if the science behind it is sound I must admit I’d have a hard time accepting the general principle…but then again, is that because I’ve been socially conditioned that way? Certainly food for thought (terrible punn, sorry) anyway.

    xxx

    • July 10, 2011 7:57 pm

      *pun, I meant! I was thinking about Nunn tablets today and have been spelling everything with two ‘ns’.

  5. July 10, 2011 8:26 pm

    mmmm – the curry looks fantastic – yum!

  6. July 10, 2011 8:34 pm

    Congratulations on your run!
    So inspiring that you’ve had such a busy/fun/a bit stressful week and still go out and do an amazing workout 😀
    Can’t wait to hear the book review, and that curry looks so lush!

  7. July 10, 2011 9:34 pm

    All your food looks so delicious! If I had a bath in my house, a long hot bath is perfect for destressing – but I’ve only got a shower! At this time of year, going out on my bike in the beautiful evenings is perfect for chilling 🙂

  8. sunshinevegan permalink
    July 11, 2011 12:53 am

    Awesome runn! Can’t wait to hear about that book. I love nerdish stuff like that too 🙂 your curry looks deelish btw.

  9. July 11, 2011 9:14 am

    Yesterday pretty much hit the mark – marshaling at a race in the morning, gym at dinner time, chopping up a load of veg for roasting then watching the athletics on tv.

  10. Bronagh permalink
    July 11, 2011 9:46 am

    Love the look of your smoothie, hummus (I’m a HUGE beetroot fan!) and curry – a delicious day of eats! My favourite way to relax is either baking or just the classic slobbing out on the sofa. Yesterday I ran 10 miles in the morning and pretty much spent the entire rest of the day glued to the sofa… and I didn’t feel the least bit guilty 🙂

  11. July 11, 2011 11:22 am

    Your beetroot hummus looks lovely…the colour is amazing!

  12. July 11, 2011 12:11 pm

    Mmmmm, that veggie curry looks absolutely delicious. I need recipe inspiration and that looks like it might be high on my list of things to try.

    As for relaxing: for relaxing for my mind I like to go and pull stuff up in the garden – nettles, bindweed, elder, ivy….anything that I can just have a good old pull at and will result in a noticeable improvement after only a couple of hours work.
    For true relaxation nothing is better than a bath, a book and a glass of wine (a cigarette used to be on that list but I try not to remember that!!!) – the whole thing is even better if the lights are on, the candle is lit and hubby has sorted it all out for me.

    Rosex

Trackbacks

  1. Yoga High « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

