Skip to content

Yoga High

July 12, 2011

Hello and happy Tuesday! So far this evening I’ve been battling with some blog problems, but I’ve now managed to drop the .wordpress.com, so you can find me at www.everydaysapicnic.com

After I wrote my post last night I headed to a 90 minute ashtanga yoga class. I really love the teacher and the challenge of the class. I’ve always viewed yoga as a “gentle” form of exercise, but this class in tough … phew! Over the past few weeks I’ve made a commitment to myself to push myself and give my all in yoga classes, which is probably why I feel sore today! I’m gutted that my teacher is going to France for the whole of August (although trying to be happy for her!) and can’t get the class covered (sad face). I will do some at-home practice and maybe another class, but it won’t be the same.

We usually start the class with some tai chi moves, which I find very energising. It might be something that you usually see grannies doing, but I would like to try out some more tai chi at some point. Then we move on to some fast-paced sun salutations, which really made me get my sweat on last night. The rest of the class is spent moving through various balances, twists and stretches that I’m too much of a yoga newbie to be able to describe with any authority.

I find yoga a challenge because the lower half of my body is super inflexible – unlike this guy!

ashtanga-yoga

Source

I was kind of embarrassed at first because I’m so tight, but now I realise that I need to persist with yoga in order to improve. I blame my lack of mobility partly on genetics and partly on years of high-impact exercise without proper stretching. However, every time we do a shoulder opening exercise I brim with pride because I have the most flexible shoulders in both the classes I go to. I’m not sure what real-life advantage this gives me … but it’s my competitive side coming out!

I’ve never taken drugs (unless you count caffeine and alcohol), but I imagine it’s a lot like finishing a tough yoga class. I kind of floated out of the gym and goodness knows how I managed to drive home in one piece. I was so hungry by the time I got home as well – definitely the munchies. Last Monday night I managed to sleep in my contact lenses, which I’m now putting down to the yoga high. I dragged myself up to bed using the bannister and could barely take my clothes off to get into bed.

The other-worldly tiredness has continued today, plus my muscles are sore (yoga is a serious workout), so I’ve designated today a rest day. A filling breakfast was in order, so I modified last week’s overnight oat recipe:

12Jul11_2

It was basically the same recipe, only I stirred in a tablespoon of Total 2% greek yoghurt and topped with a banana instead of strawberries. It was delicious and kept me full for much longer than usual.

For lunch I used the last of my beetroot hummus to top a salad of giant wholewheat cous-cous, cucumber, yellow pepper, cherry tomatoes and mushrooms.

12Jul11_1

I love wholewheat cous-cous in salads – it gives a great robust and chewy texture. In the UK you can find it on the tinned veg/beans aisle in Sainsbury’s.

Finally for today, I’ve been contacted by the people at Innocent to let you know about a very quick innocent survey about loyalty schemes. If you take part you could win 1 of 50 free innocent Veg Pot’s http://svy.mk/mT9F4b … yummy!!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. pcjc2 permalink
    July 12, 2011 7:29 pm

    Well done with the .com, very proud of you getting it all sorted. I look forward to seeing what you’ve got planned for the redesign.

  2. July 12, 2011 7:32 pm

    Woo hoo for the .com!
    Sounds like you had quite the workout, i fancy getting some of that high for myself 🙂

  3. Meesh permalink
    July 12, 2011 7:46 pm

    I love yoga as well, whenever I finish a class I feel so calm and energized! I’m sure the flexibility will come with practice. I wish there were more yoga classes available in my city, but it’s rather small 😦

  4. July 13, 2011 6:34 am

    I need to get more flexible too- my hamstrings are terrible and in aerobics I even find the stretches hard at the end! But like you say, I am persisting with it as I think it will help.

  5. July 13, 2011 9:15 am

    Oooh the .com is exciting!
    I wish I was flexible, I really am not. I’d like to try yoga but haven’t found any classes that are also affordable around here.

  6. July 13, 2011 9:24 am

    Ooh very nice with the .com

  7. July 13, 2011 1:13 pm

    I am sooo inflexible unless I’ve done some yoga! I can see improvement after a while but I find it hard to stick with a consistent program. I have however incorporated a mini-ashtanga I do three times after working out as a stretch/ cool down.

    I love the bright pink pop beetroot gives to everything – looking summer-y!

  8. July 13, 2011 1:48 pm

    Well done for doing yoga. I’ve never tried and doubt I ever would – classes don’t really do it for me – and my flexibility is probably pretty awful. That probably means I should but I’ll stick to patting myself on the back for at least doing some stretching after this morning’s workout – that’s a huge step forward for me.

  9. July 13, 2011 6:33 pm

    I wish I could commit to a regular class, I would definitely go 🙂

  10. July 13, 2011 9:18 pm

    You are really selling me on the yoga – it sounds like you are getting so much benefit from it! 🙂

  11. Errign permalink
    July 13, 2011 11:30 pm

    That “high” of tiredness and flexibility and calm is totally what I love about yoga. Sorry your teacher is bailing on you 😉 but hopefully you can find another class you’ll love – most vinyasa flow classes are nice.

Leave a Reply

