Skip to content

My First What I Ate Wednesday

July 13, 2011
tags: ,

Can you believe that this is my first What I Ate Wednesday post?!

 

WIAWbutton

 

I meant to join the party earlier, but when Wednesday comes around and I see everyone else’s posts I think “crap, I forgot to take photos of my eats again!”. This is more accurately what I ate Tuesday evening up until Wednesday afternoon, so I’ll start the clock at yesterday’s dinner.

7.45pm

13Jul11_1

A completely random butter bean and vegetable casserole:

  • carrots
  • red onion
  • mushrooms
  • beetroot
  • broad beans
  • butter beans
  • tinned chopped tomatoes

Topped with nutritional yeast.

9.30pm

13Jul11_2

A bedtime snack of chopped apples and raisons cooked in the microwave for 2 minutes and then topped with Total 2% greek yoghurt and some Jordan’s natural muesli.

5.30am

Grabbed a few dates as pre-run fuel. It must have worked because I had a fantastic run. I based my workout on the 30 minute tempo run in Zest Running Made Easy but adapted it to do half mile intervals instead of 5 minutes.

  • 1/2 mile warm-up
  • 1/2 mile at effort level 8
  • 1/2 mile at effort level 5
  • (Repeat)
  • 1/2 mile cool-down

My only regret was not setting my Garmin to half mile auto-laps, so I don’t know what my pace was during the tempo parts of the run. I know it was well under 9 min/mile, so I’m very pleased. I love how speed work makes running slower seem easy – my “cool-down” was at 9.40 min/mile (which is quite fast for me).

I followed my run with the intermediate workout from Pilates Made Easy.

7.00am

13Jul11_5

Wholemeal toast, scrambled egg and ketchup – just what I fancied!

9.45am

13Jul11_6

Possibly my favourite Nakd bar … I can’t decide

12noon

13Jul11_3

A salad of charlotte new potatoes, broad beans, cherry tomatoes and beetroot.

13Jul11_4

Topped with spinach and goats cheese. Have I mentioned how much I love goats cheese at the moment? … I think I might have done!

3pm

13Jul11_7

Yummy sunflower seed and oat Ryvitas with cucumber. This was a surprisingly satisfying mid-afternoon snack – I will definitely be eating this combo again.

Phew – I enjoyed that Smile

What was the best thing you ate today?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 6:54 pm

    The best thing I had today was macaroni, courgettes, peas with fresh mint. Sweat the sliced courgettes in olive oil and a bit of butter while the pasta cooks, chop up the mint and mix everything together when it’s all done. Add salt and pepper to taste and hey presto a yummy supper that tastes of summer. 🙂

  2. July 13, 2011 7:03 pm

    Yay! So glad you joined the party 🙂
    Mmmm think you’ve definitely put me in the mood for scrambled eggs tomorrow!
    Have i ever said how much i love how upbeat your posts are? They always put me in a good mood 😀

  3. July 13, 2011 7:03 pm

    I had a lovely chilli today, on top of spinach, and topped with nutritional yeast and then food doctor seeds. It was lovely 🙂 I have not done what I eat wednesday yet- I am the same I keep thinking about it but the weeks go by so fast!

  4. July 13, 2011 7:48 pm

    I had goats cheese today too, thanks for posting the salad I am trying to think of ways to use it up. the apple pie is one of my favourite nakd bar but the banana bread one defeintly tops them all! xx

  5. July 13, 2011 7:50 pm

    Looks like an AWESOME WIAW! I love these posts – so much good food all crammed into one 🙂

  6. July 13, 2011 8:32 pm

    I just tried Nakd bars and they’re sooooo good! I like the cocoa the best 🙂

  7. July 13, 2011 8:49 pm

    Loved seeing your WIAW 🙂

    You eat so well too: little and often, and a great protein/carb balance. I could learn a lot from your style of eating!

    Ahh, the apple pie Nakd is the only one I’m not so keen on…aside from the banana bread, which I am REALLY not keen on and even the smell of makes me slightly nauseous. Cocoa Loco is my favourite (quel surprise)

    Best thing I ate? A whole lot more spaghetti squash!

    xxx

  8. July 13, 2011 10:27 pm

    Yay you’re joining in the fun 🙂
    Your food all looks so healthy and fresh!
    The best thing I ate all day? Definitely the raspberries, they’re my absolute favourite!

  9. Errign permalink
    July 13, 2011 11:28 pm

    Best thing(s) I ate today: Oatmeal pancake and a grassfed burger on top of brown rice, kale, carrots and eggplant. Yummmm.

    I looooove goat cheese too 🙂

  10. July 14, 2011 12:02 am

    that salad looks awesome! and I am always obsessed with goat cheese. There’s just something about it that is so darn good!!!

  11. July 14, 2011 3:24 am

    Your veggie butterbean casserole definitely looks like something I would make- it looks delicious! I have yet to try a nakd bar, but I hear they are great!

  12. Bronagh permalink
    July 14, 2011 9:33 am

    I don’t have my own blog but reading WIAW posts are my favourite, I literally salivate at my desk over all the good food and your post is no exception!

    I’m totally with you on the goats cheese loving, it makes the BEST salad topping. I usually buy some from the farmers market but that only happens once a month so I run out pretty quickly 😦 Best thing I’ve eaten today (yesterday) was the smoked tofu stirfry I had for dinner. I made up my own sauce using smooth peanut butter, sweet chilli sauce and tamari and it was SO good!

    I agree with Sarah, your posts are always so upbeat and cheerful 🙂

  13. July 14, 2011 9:44 am

    I love butterbeans, they are my favourite! I am also on a goats cheese kick. Yesterday I had a salad with apple, grapes, goats cheese and balsamic and it was soooo good. I loved reading your WIAW post! I need to join the party at some point!

Leave a Reply

