Skip to content

Food on Parole

July 14, 2011

Good evening! I hope the week is going well for everyone so far. It’s Friday tomorrow, which is always a good thing! Unfortunately I will be spending most of my weekend revising for my next exam, which is on Wednesday morning.

Last night for dinner I made a Thai green curry for the first time. It wasn’t anything special, but it was really tasty:

14Jul11_1

  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 2 small carrots, cut into small batons
  • 6 closed cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons frozen peas
  • ½ block of Clearspring firm tofu, pre-baked with a little soy sauce
  • ½ tin coconut milk
  • 2 teaspoons of green curry paste (yes, I cheated!)

I just cooked this all together in a large pan for about half an hour and then added in half a bundle of pre-cooked Clearspring soba noodles (half buckwheat, half wholewheat).

While I was eating this, admiring my cooking prowess, I was thinking about the fact that just 6 months ago I would be turning my nose up at this meal and declaring my hatred for coconut. It’s not just coconut milk I have a new appreciation for – I’ve also been known to indulge in some coconut water.

008 (2)

I use the word “indulge” because it’s so darn expensive. I like the Cocofina brand the best out of the ones I’ve tried, and it seems to be one of the cheapest. Nevertheless I limit myself to one a week as a treat.

There are other foods that I’ve taken of my “will not eat” list. Believe it or not, I used to hate pumpkin and squash.

butternut_squash

Source

I think this stems back to a nasty experience with pumpkin pie when I was younger. I’m still not sold on pumpkin and squashes in sweet things, but they’re perfect roasted or in one of my random casseroles.

And nuts! I used to avoid nuts! I think I had a genuine dislike of them when I was younger, but then I avoided them because of their fat and calorie content. When I started to learn a bit more about nutrition I realised how valuable they are to my body and just how darn tasty they are. Now I’m fully enrolled in the nut and nut butter fan club. I quite zealous about it actually – I have my Mum converted.

There are some foods that are still banged up. I can’t ever, ever imagine liking liquorice or aniseed. I was once at a fancy conference that had red boiled sweets on the table – I thought that they were strawberry flavoured so I popped one in my mouth. Turns out it was aniseed and I had to discreetly remove it in the middle of a very posh conference room – it was either that or gag.

What foods have you let out on parole?

What can you still not stand?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2011 5:44 pm

    Most of your dislikes are firmly on my likes list!

    For me the only vegetable I don’t like is the runner bean – not round French beans – but the very English, flat bean. Its the texture I don’t like.

    Beyond that my only dislike is (most types of) fish. Its not so much the taste or even smell, as I love fish sauce, but its the whole skin and bones thing that makes me want to heave.

  2. July 14, 2011 6:14 pm

    used to hate:

    broccoli
    kidney beans
    butternut squash
    fish (unless battered)

    still can’t stand….

    broad beans
    bananas
    liquorice
    marmite

  3. July 14, 2011 6:30 pm

    Oooh I’m the same, absolutely hate liquorice & aniseed! & baked beans, yuk.

    Things that I now (sort of) eat are other types of beans – kidney beans, butter beans etc…tbh I’m still not keen on the texture, but eat them mashed in things like bean burgers, burritos & dips.

    Can’t think of anything else I used to hate, but I am now much more adventurous with my food, mainly thanks to reading other blogs 🙂

  4. July 14, 2011 6:42 pm

    I really dislike liquorice, aniseed and baked beans. It’s interesting to see few other people dislike these tastes as well.

    MALTESERS ARE THE DEVIL’S WORK. Life in prison no chance of parole. Ditto marmite.

  5. July 14, 2011 7:51 pm

    Rollmops …… you can’t get me near one and I’m heaving!!!

  6. July 14, 2011 8:55 pm

    Aniseed is DEFINITELY on my ‘will not eat’ list!
    In France along with mint you can readily buy aniseed flavoured toothpaste which I think sounds disgusting!
    The only foods I really don’t like now are beetroot and some methods of cooked egg. I used to hate broccoli but now I love it, especially stir-fried 🙂

    • July 15, 2011 6:49 am

      I think a lot of people don’t like broccoli when they’re younger – it’s quite bitter. It’s one of my favourite foods now!

  7. July 14, 2011 9:16 pm

    Liver. ‘Nuff said – the thought makes me shudder! Also sprouts, radishes and raw tomatoes.
    I never used to think I liked butternut squash, so weird to think now, and when I was younger, I never ate mushrooms, spinach, broccoli, cauliflower – all the things I couldn’t be without now 🙂

    • July 15, 2011 6:49 am

      I’m not sure about raw tomatoes – I like them better cooked! I once ate liver thinking it was steak – I was very disappointed and nearly heaved.

      • July 15, 2011 7:33 am

        I know! It looks like nice steak but then you eat it and – bleeeaaagh! And exactly; love cooked tomatoes but raw are just nasty – it’s the texture 🙂

  8. July 14, 2011 9:58 pm

    I used to be such a fusspot when I think about it now! I never used to like any nuts except salted peanuts, any beans (even baked beans), brocoli (I did like purple broccoli when it was grown in our garden so I think I was just being fussy for the sake of it), spinach, courgette (except yellow). I like all those things now. Except butter beans which I can eat but I think have a bit too squishy a texture. I still cannot stand parsnips (they make my throat feel like it is closing up even thinking about them), mashed or boiled or new potatoes, and cooked peas. Which is weird as I love peas fresh from the pod, but never cooked. And would not eat eggs. Any eggs.

  9. July 15, 2011 6:30 am

    Ooh you’ve made me want a thai curry now, I have some paste in my cupboard. I’ve never even thought of making a thai curry without the paste, I can’t imagine it would go well for me!
    I’m glad you now like squash!
    I’m not that fussy, but I can’t let scrambled egg out of jail. Or fennel, which smells like aniseed/ouzo and makes me want to vomit.

  10. July 15, 2011 8:44 am

    Oh I used to be so so fussy! I think the main one was celery and although I still don’t like it straight up I love it in a good green juice!

  11. July 15, 2011 12:46 pm

    I can’t actually think of foods that I hate apart from peanut butter (and I love peanuts!)

    I never used to eat fish but I’m training myself on that one and actually have liked every type of fish that I’ve tried recently so perhaps I can just assume that I properly like it now….

    Rosex

  12. July 15, 2011 3:22 pm

    I love thai green curry! I think it’s probably my favourite food, but i hardly ever eat it because i’m scared that if i do then i’ll get sick of it and it won’t be as “special”, how weird is that?! Haha
    I used to hate aubergine and tried it a few weeks ago and still hate it! But i also used to hate broccoli and tomatoes and now they’re two of my favourites 🙂

  13. Charlotte permalink
    September 26, 2011 4:27 pm

    Hi Sarah,

    I see your blog a few weeks ago and I see the Cocofina coconut water, I thought i would give it ago. I searched for it and found their website http://www.cocofina.com. It is great i am now hooked on the stuff.

Leave a Reply

