Skip to content

Pigging Out

July 16, 2011

Hello! I hope everyone is having a good weekend so far. I know that it’s been horrid weather across most of the UK, but just to make you jealous, the sun has been shining for most of the day in Chester. Actually, I don’t think you’ll be that jealous because I haven’t stepped foot outside yet today. I’ve been chained to my parents’ dining room table revising for an exam on Wednesday morning.

This is the view from my prison cell:

Garden

Very pretty, but I’d rather be outside than looking at it.

I did have something to cheer me up when I got to my parents’ house last night – my Goodness Direct order had arrived. I ordered it to be delivered to Chester quite a while ago and I had a chuckle to myself as I unpacked – look how many coconut-related products there are! I guess I really am a coconut convert.

16Jul11_1

I opened up the Kara coconut milk straight away and used it to make my porridge. I took advantage of having more time to make breakfast and cooked my oats on the hob.

16Jul11_3

I used some of my Mum’s stash of jumbo oats and added a mashed banana into the mix (I’m usually a sliced banana girl). Slow cooking the oats made them so deliciously creamy! I also added a dessert-spoon of milled flaxseed before serving.

16Jul11_4

With breakfast I tested out the Meridian pear juice concentrate that I got in my stash. It was lovely and flavourful, but very strong – I diluted it a lot more than was advised on the instructions.

For lunch I used some of the salad veggies I got in my organic box this week.

16Jul11_5

The lettuce and celery are from the organic box and I added cucumber, sweetcorn and a boiled egg. I dressed the salad with some olive oil and balsamic vinegar and served with a slice of the Biona rye bread with amaranth and quinoa that I got in my Goodness Direct delivery.

It was so good that Penelope Pig wanted some!

16Jul11_6

Oh dear – I think I’m delirious! At this rate by the time I’ve done my exam the men in white coats will be waiting for me.

Exercise-wise, today has very much been a rest day (read: I haven’t even put my shoes on today). I need it though because I feel quite sore from the hilly 4.5 miles I did yesterday and Level 3 of the 30 Day Shred, which I did on Thursday. I have been stretching and have done a bit of yoga to stretch out my hammies and my hips.

Talking of yoga, my right hand is now shaped like a claw after a day of handwriting notes (who writes anything by hand anymore?!), so I’ve been researching hand exercises.

This one featured in the Guardian seems quite effective. Basically, you put out your right hand, palm up, with your forearm, wrist and hand in a straight line from your elbow. You then put your left hand out with the palm down and grip your right hand with your left thumb supporting your knuckles. Without bending your wrist you gently bend your fingers backwards for 12 seconds, rest, and then repeat. You then repeat with the opposite hand.

I also found this website which has more hand yoga exercises. I sometimes get pain in the fingers of my right hand, so I think doing these exercises regularly would be a good idea.

What are you up to this weekend – more exciting than revision?

Have you tried any hand yoga exercises? Have you got any more tips for keeping your hands supple?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2011 5:32 pm

    I haven’t tried any hand yoga exercises. I was bad and went to the next sale today which was pretty awesome lol all your order looks lovely. is coconut milk nice in coffee?

    • July 16, 2011 5:36 pm

      Personally I don’t really like it in coffee, but I think it’s the best milk I’ve tried for using in porridge, on cereal or in smoothies. I like real milk in coffee!

      • July 17, 2011 7:01 am

        I agree: it goes a little strange in coffee.

        Would it be possible to have the exact ingredients/amounts and cooking method for those oats? They look so tasty and I’ve never tried mashing in a banana before. Such a good idea 🙂

        xxx

      • July 17, 2011 7:06 am

        I used 50g oats, and one banana, but I don’t measure the milk – I’m guessing about 250ml. I just put it all in a pan and cooked on a low heat until it all got creamy, but not too thick because the flaxseed thickens it (about 5 mins). I stirred in a tablespoon of flaxseed before serving.
        I usually make my porridge in the microwave using the same measurements.

  2. July 16, 2011 5:41 pm

    Oh I feel for you, I hated HATED revising for exams so much so I haven’t done it in years, if not decades 🙂
    If I miss it or you don’t post again, all the best. Just keep repeating “I have the power of recall” and all should come flooding back 😉

  3. July 16, 2011 6:02 pm

    Today: gym (and family signed up too), then off to the cinema with the eldest to see Harry Potter.

    Tomorrow: gym (followed by family swim), then off fo a curry in the evening.

    I’m very happy with that. My needs are simple.

  4. July 16, 2011 7:49 pm

    Why do exams always take place in summer? Exam season should be in February when it’s miserable and freezing outside.

    I’ve never done hand exercises, but please take care of your hands! I’ve known people get carpal tunnel syndrome while typing dissertations up/revising.

    Good luck with your exam!

  5. July 16, 2011 8:29 pm

    I feel your pain; that top bit took me straight back to A level revision; looking out of the window at the most beautiful scene 😦 your view is gorgeous and hope the next few days go quickly so you can get out and enjoy it!
    That porridge looks so good – mashed banana in it is the way forward – and I love anything coconut too 🙂

  6. Errign permalink
    July 16, 2011 8:47 pm

    Today has been = yoga, laundry, blog stuff, cleaning. So exciting.

    Tomorrow = running, yoga, walking on the treadmill (so I can watch TV), and hopefully doing something exciting.

    There’s not much going on in my city today, and I’m a bit broke, so I’m trying to stay in so I’m not tempted to spend anything. 🙂 No advice re: hand exercises, but if you find some more good ones, share, because my hands are always horribly cramped up the beginning of the school semester after taking time off from writing most of the summer.

    (P.S. Stove cooked oats are the BEST! 🙂 )

  7. July 16, 2011 8:48 pm

    Ahaha I love that pig!! So cute 🙂 I’m off to see Harry Potter soon and I absolutely can’t wait!

  8. July 16, 2011 11:44 pm

    Good luck with your exam!
    Can I just say that even though you’re stuck inside revising, I’m still jealous of the weather, it poured with rain for hours here!
    Your delivery looks delicious, I love little treats like that especially when you’re doing something horrid like revision 🙂

  9. July 17, 2011 6:54 am

    I wish I’d had those hand exercises when I was 16! It would have saved a lot of trouble and ‘claw hand,’ as you say, when I was sitting my GCSEs. They look like an excellent idea though. When I was going through puberty and my skeleton was developing alongside the whole scoliosis thing I also had/have hypermobility, particularly in my wrists, and one English exam was too much for my right hand so it ended up in one of those fetching braces for three months afterwards. Ironically my wrists were always weak until I started doing Body Pump…they only crack once in a blue moon now as opposed to every other second 😉 Sorry for my life story there: I clearly have too much time on my hands without running!

    Seriously admire your commitment and concentration though: I’m so terrible at studying and have to take breaks all the time. I can’t cram things in all day because I have such a short attention span and my brain just doesn’t ‘absorb’ that much. You’re amazing 😀

    Love your piggie picture too: so cute. And I hope you get on better with the pea protein than I did! It wasn’t my cup of tea but if you do happen to like it then I have a packet spare, so I could send it too you if you wanted. I can’t seem to like it no matter what form I use it in!

    xxx
    P.S Give yourself a little break! You deserve to see a bit of sunshine!

    • July 17, 2011 7:07 am

      Believe me – I was losing concentration towards the end of the day! I’m planning to take today off, otherwise I would be insane by Wednesday!

  10. July 17, 2011 9:01 am

    Unfortunately, the sun is NOT shining in Chester today! It was lovely yesterday after the morning rain cleared up wasn’t it. I am book marking those hand yoga pages, I hand write all of my uni notes, and sometimes I can’t feel my hand by the end of a session. I worked yesterday and went to a charity band event in town last night which was fun! Work again today, possibly an indian tonight. So not much more exciting than yours.
    Just saw that you’re taking today off, so have a fun day!

  11. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    July 17, 2011 10:11 am

    I’ve never even thought of using coconut milk in my morning oats! I always stick to almond milk because its what I know best– but thats a great idea 😀

    And that pig is too cute! haha

    I’ve never tried hand yoga — in fact, I’ve never even HEARD of it! Awesome site though 🙂

  12. July 17, 2011 10:56 am

    Oh revising sucks especially when the weather is so nice.
    I love Kara coconut milk in tea- especially in sweet tea like teapigs chocolate tea 🙂

  13. July 17, 2011 12:23 pm

    Great Goodness Direct Haul! Hope your exam on Wednesday goes well, that garden looks like it must have been so tempting to sit out in!

  14. July 17, 2011 12:30 pm

    Good luck on your exam! For a moment that little piggy statue looked real to me!

  15. July 17, 2011 6:18 pm

    Good luck with the exam! 🙂
    I got a new keyboard, an ergonomic curved one, which has really helped with the hand pain but I am also going to try some of these exercises!

Leave a Reply

