Skip to content

Rainy Day Adventures

July 17, 2011

Smug? Me?! Yesterday I was gloating that it had been awful weather across the UK, but the sun had been shining on Chester. Well, I got my comeuppance today because it hasn’t stopped raining heavily all day. This meant that I had to deal with my first real experience of running in the rain. Unbelievably, I’ve been running for four months, but the worst I’ve had to contend with so far is some light drizzle. The morning of my first 10k was terrible weather, but it miraculously stopped raining just as I walked to the start line.

This is me looking happy before I started the 8 miles:

006

And this is me afterwards … still looking quite happy actually, despite being soaked through:

007

The truth is I quite enjoyed myself. It was much cooler than previous weeks (hence the long trousers), which suits me and although the heavens opened there was very little wind to contend with. The weather conditions, along with the fact that my route was gently undulating compared to the hills of recent weeks, meant that I was able to push myself.

Here are the stats:

Mile 1 10:21 (I’ll call this a warm-up mile)
Mile 2 09:35 (comfortable pace)
Mile 3 09:12 (slightly downhill I think)
Mile 4 09:27
Mile 5 09:37
Mile 6 09:40 (back up that hill)
Mile 7 09:18
Mile 8 08:44 (sod it, only a mile to go!)
Average 09:29

I’m pleased with that, although I think I need to work a bit on consistency. Hopefully I’m in a good position for the York 10k in two week’s time.

It’s now 12 weeks until the Peterborough Half Marathon, so I’m thinking about my training plan. I’ve been researching lots of different beginner’s plans and they look OK. The only thing is that the longest run on all of them is 10 miles.

Considering I’ve run 8 miles today and I have 12 weeks to train, do you think that I should do some longer runs?

Have you followed a half marathon plan that you can recommend for a first-timer?

I refuelled with a delicious lunch of Biona rye bread with amaranth and quinoa, topped with Sabra hummus and served with a side salad.

011

Peter was visiting a friend in the area, so he came to help distract me from my revision (I planned to take the day off anyway). We headed over to Cheshire Farm Ice Cream, which is about a mile from my parent’s house. We went in the car because it was still raining and I was feeling lazy after my run.

Peter had a slice of lemon drizzle cake (he’s not keen on ice-cream … the crazy person!). Some of this *might* have ended up in my tummy.

017

My mother said never trust a man with a beard …

I had the most delicious green apple sorbet – so good that we bought a big tub to take home with us.

021

Enjoy the remainder of the weekend everyone and I’ll catch up with you again tomorrow!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2011 5:41 pm

    You looked terrific after the 8 miles!

  2. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    July 17, 2011 5:55 pm

    When I did my first half marathon, I followed Jeff Galloway’s training plan for beginners. It was pretty decent, with a long run every other weekend. I highly recommend it!
    If you’re at 8 miles and you have 12 weeks left, you have plenty of time! I had a friend who completed her 1st half with a decent time when her longest training run was only 7 miles! (Although I do not endorse this kind of last- minute training at all!)

  3. July 17, 2011 6:15 pm

    With 12 weeks to go, sounds like you could up the mileage without too much of a problem. Even small increases of 5 minutes to your weekly long run will increase the distance without risking injury, but have one rest week in four where you cut back significantly. This method has worked for me in several races. Good luck….

  4. July 17, 2011 8:04 pm

    You look amazing after 8 miles! Mmm I love the ice cream farm! I love the apple and custard ice cream. I didn’t know they did sorbet though, looks like I’ll have to go there soon!

  5. July 17, 2011 8:11 pm

    If I looked as good as you do in that last pic in particular I would be smug too!

    In terms of the plan, it really depends on your goals. I’d say better to go in slightly undertrained and make the start, than push things too far too soon and risk injury (speaking from my current injury status!) My first half marathon I’d never run over the distance at all, yet by my third I’d started marathon training so obviously gone a lot further, but the entire period leading up to the third one was fraught with injury and worry, so although my time improved I’m not sure the distress was worth it. Considering you’re making the jump from 10K to half quite quickly, I’d stick with not exceeding the 12-13 mark but I’m sure you’d be fine to go beyond 10 miles at some point.

    And thanks a lot for the oat combo: I’ll be trying that one tomorrow as now I’ve completely totalled myself I’ll need to adjust to a more restrained level of food for a while!

    xxx

  6. July 17, 2011 9:27 pm

    Pretty dress 🙂
    And excellent run too- well done.
    As for the plan, my first plan (which I am not sure where I got it from- maybe from my Zest running book?) I got up to 11, and 11.5 miles (which turned into 12 miles as I measured it wrong). I wanted to be confident that I could finish so I wanted to get close to the actual distance of the race. So I would say go for maybe 11/12 ish miles, as you have plenty of time to get up to that.

  7. July 18, 2011 6:24 am

    I’m not sure I followed a plan as such, I just ran a bit longer on some of the weekend runs. I do remember that I’d only got to 12 miles before the half though, and that’s what I’d aim at if I were you.

    I’m certain that if you can do 10 now you could do 13 next week, especially with race day adrenaline, but doing something like 10, 11, 12 four times over 12 weeks would mean you’d mange it comfortably.

  8. July 18, 2011 8:23 am

    I think when it comes to increasing your distance it depends on if you’re training to finish the half marathon, or training to finish it by a specific time. I would build up your mileage sensibly and aim to peak at week 10 or so with a 13 mile run or one slightly longer then reduce your mileage slowly again so you’re not doing 13 mile runs every week toward the end.

  9. July 18, 2011 9:23 am

    I never really followed a proper plan when training for my first half but I think you could easily get some longer runs in there when your at 8 miles already. That ice cream sounds yummy!

  10. July 18, 2011 10:18 am

    can’t offer any advice as to training as I just go out and ‘do’, but then my longest runs have been 10k, I don’t fancy anything longer than that.

    well impressed by the times 🙂

  11. Errign permalink
    July 18, 2011 2:05 pm

    No half marathon training advice as I’ve never run more than 6 miles 🙂 I do know though that you should only increase your weekly mileage by 10% a week, so if you’ve run 10 miles this week, you should only be doing 11 the net 🙂

  12. July 20, 2011 7:29 am

    Nice work on the 8 miles! I really, really want to run a half marathon but I’ve been putting off signing up to one until I’m done with the studying so that I can defo commit to the training. I’ve pledged to myself to run a half before I turn 30 so I have 11 months to do one…

    Isn’t sabra the best hummus, ever! x

Leave a Reply

