Skip to content

Incongruous Romans

July 18, 2011

Good evening! Thanks for all your advice on my half marathon training. I think I will devise my own plan based on a good-looking Runner’s World plan that I’ve found and incorporating the best of your tips. I’m going to get the York 10k at the end of the month out of the way first and then concentrate on getting ready for the half.

I set my alarm at 6.30 this morning in order to get in a short slow recovery run to start my busy day. I woke up at 6am and asked Peter whether it was raining. When he said yes, all my resolve to do the run dissolved and I set my alarm for an hour later than I’d originally intended. Despite quite enjoying running in the rain yesterday, I really wasn’t fancying it this morning for some reason. I intended to do the run later in the day …

I had to go to the hygienist this morning which isn’t the most pleasant experience, but I was cheered up by a fabulous juxtaposition that you could only find in Chester. As I was coming out of the dentist I saw two Roman soldiers having a cup of coffee in Cafe Nero … and it isn’t the first time that I’ve seen them!

Legion1

Source

It couldn’t be Starbucks or Costa – it had to be Cafe Nero!

I got stuck into more revision when I got home, just breaking for some lunch. It’s actually pretty similar to what I’ve had over the past few days … apparently revision makes me lose my imagination.

012

Salad with:

  • Spinach
  • Diced cucumber
  • Sliced apricot
  • Walnuts
  • Sabra hummus with piquant sauce

Served with Biona rye bread with amaranth and quinoa:

015

Although I’ve had this hummus for a couple of lunches now, I’m not actually that keen on it – I find it a bit salty. I think I need to either make some more of my own or get some Delphi hummus (my favourite shop-bought brand).

While I was working, Peter was fixing my parents’ dishwasher – he’s useful like that!

023

I just realised this photo looks like he’s asleep/dead – he is in fact inspecting under the dishwasher.

The weather did start to clear up in the afternoon and I was thinking that my run was definitely on. Just as I was going to get changed into my running gear the rain started again. I still didn’t feel like getting wet, so I decided to call today a cross-training day and did Level 3 of the 30 Day Shred. I think Level 3 is my favourite – some of the exercises are really tough, but there are some enjoyable ones as well.

I *WILL* find the motivation to do that 3 miles tomorrow morning, rain or shine! I’m going to have my head in books for the rest of the day, so running will help me to get energised.

Peter and I are going to watch Harry Potter in 3D tonight, so that’s it for now. I hope you have a good evening!

Does your motivation sometimes leave you? I think my general motivation has been lacking today … I really didn’t feel like hitting those books.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 6:06 pm

    Don’t apologise for the salad – it looks delicious. I may steal the idea of putting fresh apricots in salads…

    Motivation leaves me quite often, usually it’s because I’ve been doing too much and it’s my body’s way of telling me I need a rest or just take it a bit easier.

  2. Errign permalink
    July 18, 2011 7:07 pm

    I love apricots so I bet they’re fabulous on salad. Have fun at Harry Potter, I can’t wait to see it!

    My motivation definitely disappears sometimes – it’s usually because I’m tired!

  3. July 18, 2011 7:10 pm

    Café Nero….I love that 🙂

    Fruit is often a winner in salads – apples & nectarines at least. Come to think of it, apples are no strangers where my sandwiches are concerned too.

  4. July 18, 2011 7:16 pm

    I love the cafe Nero!
    I had that feeling today- I had planned a run after work but when I left work it was pelting it down, and after saturday I did not fancy it, so decided to do a dvd instead. But when I got home the sun was trying to come out, so I just went out knowing that I always feel better after getting some fresh air.

  5. July 18, 2011 7:47 pm

    oooh never thought to put apricots with salad fab idea. its okat to have a day of from running. lol at romans in cafe nero.

  6. July 18, 2011 8:55 pm

    I feel the same about Sabra homous! I just really don’t like it as much as other brands…I thought I was the only one!
    Hope you enjoyed Harry Potter, I LOVED it! 😀

  7. July 18, 2011 11:30 pm

    That salad looks so delicious and exactly my taste.

  8. July 19, 2011 7:01 am

    The salad looks delish! I could eat that every day.
    I love seeing the romans! I saw some yesterday too, I especially like seeing them when they have the school groups with them. I’d love the get a shield and do the walk lol.

  9. July 19, 2011 8:20 am

    Just saw your tweet so know that you got out for your run today! I often struggle with motivation but I have some good ways of sorting myself out that I’ve developed over the last few months. I do struggle with work motivation some times hence why I am currently on my tea break after only being in work for 30 minutes 😉

  10. July 19, 2011 2:02 pm

    Just when I needed something to cheer me up, you come up trumps with your Romans tale 🙂 Such a brilliant image appeared in my head…the concept seems quite Python-esque (have been watching many Monty Python DVDs today…)

    I think my problem is that my motivation doesn’t leave me enough: my current situation pretty much proves that it’s better with exercise to have that element of wanting to pull back/ease off on training sometimes. With work? I have NO motivation at all…well, it depends on the work. But with studying I am useless…I don’t think I studied for more than three hours total for my exams at Uni *shame*

    Yum salad too, but I am in complete agreement about Sabra. It’s nice at the time but afterwards I found myself downing about a litre of water as I was so thirsty…and with tummy ache in my case because of the garlic darn it!

    xxx

  11. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    July 19, 2011 3:39 pm

    I am definitely guilty of falling into a lunch rut too. Salads all day every day 😉
    Hummus is dangerous for me to buy– I literally can spoon it into my mouth…
    (don’t judge me 😀 )

  12. July 19, 2011 4:41 pm

    My motivation often leaves me for a while, it’s usually to do with tiredness for me!

  13. July 19, 2011 5:39 pm

    I DEFINITELY deal with lack of motivation from time to time. Especially I find if I’m super tired. Hope you find yours (and if you do, send some my way!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

