Skip to content

Attention Deficit

July 19, 2011

Hello – I hope Tuesday is treating everyone well! My day has mostly been spent revising … with a few distractions as you will see!

I went with Peter to see Harry Potter in 3D last night and I thought it was brilliant. To be honest I’d been getting a bit fed up with the films (sorry!) and I was dragging myself to watch the final film just for good form, seeing as I’d watched all of the others at the cinema. The actors have learned to act a bit better and the fact that the narrative was hurtling towards the conclusion kept me entertained for the full 2 hours 10 minutes. I remember going to seeing the first film with some friends when I was in sixth form at school … a lot has happened since then!

This morning I was determined to do the 3 mile run that I had originally planned for yesterday. The weather didn’t look too good, but I set off in earnest anyway. The rain held off until the moment that I got through the door at the end of my run – it couldn’t have worked out better. I’d planned a slow and steady run, which was a good job because my legs were very heavy after the 30 Day Shred yesterday and my 8-miler on Sunday.

I even managed to motivate myself to do the intermediate workout from Pilates Made Easy. I can really feel my core working during these workouts, so hopefully I’m getting stronger. I looked ahead at the advanced workout, and it looks HARD! … it might be a little while until I move on.

Today has been the last day of revision before my exam tomorrow and I have developed the attention span of a goldfish (apparently goldfish can remember how to get fed … so I think that’s about my level!). I started out by writing down my plan for the day – because everyone knows that’s a sure-fire why to waste some time.

19Jul11_1 

Note that I planned in some blog reading – I knew I’d be tempted, so I thought I’d be realistic. Oh, and I actually took an hour and a half for lunch and finished at 5pm!

Peter then helped me procrastinate by joining in me in some crafts:

19Jul11_2

This is my attempt at a tiger, which I’m quite pleased with actually. The only flaw is that he only has one ear – I couldn’t work out how to make more than one.

Peter made a pink giraffe with an unfeasibly long neck:

19Jul11_3

After Peter went home and my Mum went out I decided it was time to make lunch – salad as usual, but a bit different this time:

19Jul11_4

In the mix:

  • a tablespoon of leftover brown rice cooked with turmeric (to make it yellow!)
  • a chopped egg
  • sweetcorn
  • petit pois
  • cherry tomatoes
  • spinach

This was delicious, but not very substantial, so I also had a slice of wholemeal toast with some low-fat soft cheese.

Then I distracted myself by checking out the Mercury Music Prize shortlist. I came across an album called Peanut Butter Blues and Melancholy Jam by Ghostpoet … I thought that name alone meant it deserved a listen.

Ghostpoet–Liiines

This isn’t the sort of thing that I normally listen to, but I thought it was good. However, listening to new music isn’t the best way to focus …

All I can hope for is that I can focus for 3 hours tomorrow morning! At least I won’t have my laptop and my phone with me.

What are your favourite methods of procrastination?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2011 6:05 pm

    Blog reading is DEFINITELY my favourite form of procrastination!
    When I was studying for my exams, all I did was blog read…too bad the questions weren’t about food…!hahah!
    Good luck in the exam!

  2. July 19, 2011 6:24 pm

    I love your tiger, rawwwr!
    Sounds like you had a really productive day all in all, much better than when i revise haha.
    I do love blog reading for procrastination but also organising things like my wardrobe/food cupboards/paperwork…it’s addictive!

  3. July 19, 2011 6:31 pm

    Surfing youtube, blogs, newspapers, forums, tidying, and plain old daydreaming.

    I’m not so sure about the flat/donut peaches. They’re quite sweet without tasting terribly peachy.

  4. July 19, 2011 8:05 pm

    Love that your list included blog reading, when I was revising in may/june I read so many blogs. I also have an immaculate bedroom, and my exercise routine is amazing when I’m meant to be revising! I definitely went spinning and on bikerides a lot more in may and june!
    Your tiger is so cute!
    I feel daft asking this, but what are you revising for? Good luck for it though!!!

    • July 19, 2011 9:29 pm

      Thanks! I don’t think I’ve really explained what I’m studying for. I’m doing a professional qualification over 3 yrs. This is the last exam of my 2nd yr – so only 5 more exams to go!

  5. July 19, 2011 8:19 pm

    your revising the best way! short and sweet gaps. best way so you have the perfect plan;) love the salad I always add tueric to my rice whish their was a pink spice so I could have pink rice lol.

  6. July 19, 2011 8:19 pm

    Just listened to the GhostPoet link you put up – AMAZING song! Thanks for introducing him to me. Something in his voice reminds me a bit of Roots Manuva but a bit more tuneful.

    • July 19, 2011 9:28 pm

      He’s not someone I would have picked up on if it wasn’t for the very cool album title. I will definitely be having another listen soon.

  7. July 19, 2011 8:31 pm

    Blog reading, Facebook and randomly assessing Garmin data are my procrastination methods of choice, but in reality I’ve been known to go as far as simply staring into space to avoid working/studying. It’s not so bad once I get going, but the THOUGHT of getting going? Ugh, don’t even get me started.

    Best wishes for tomorrow 🙂

    P.S You really are giving me some consistent laughs at the moment, which is wonderful! First the Romans (I showed my Mum that one and she loved it too) and now Peter’s ‘giraffe’. I have a very visual sense of humour 😀

  8. July 19, 2011 9:14 pm

    Oh I am brill at procrastination! I will read blogs, go on facebook and look at people’s holiday photos, listen to the radio, clean the bathrooms, do some dusting, sort out cupboards, get clothes ready for charity shop- honestly I am very productive!
    Hope tomorrow goes well 🙂

  9. July 19, 2011 9:22 pm

    Definitely blog reading and commenting. Time totally gets away from me!

  10. July 19, 2011 10:39 pm

    I think you followed your timetable pretty well! I’m a bugger for making timetables too strict and failing them completely :s maybe I should try your approach next time!

  11. July 20, 2011 1:48 am

    The pink giraffe is genius!

  12. Errign permalink
    July 20, 2011 2:16 am

    My choice modes of procrastination are: blog reading, email checking obsessively, and facebook. Bad news bears.

    I always forget about the English/Irish tendency to put sweet corn on salads and how good it is – thanks for the reminder!

  13. July 20, 2011 7:31 am

    Good luck for your exam! I’m sure you’ll do great 🙂

    oh, and I love the you schedule in blog reading. defo necessary and defo my fave method of procrastination. x

  14. July 20, 2011 8:24 am

    I am the Queen of Procrastination….

    doing crossword puzzles in bed
    surfing on WLR
    blog reading
    thinking about food
    making lists of jobs to be done and then losing the lists

    and the list goes on…..

  15. July 20, 2011 9:49 am

    Good luck for your exam! I have to say that blog reading is a great way to waste time, that and looking at pretty things on Pinterest!

  16. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    July 20, 2011 11:03 am

    Those little animal things are too adorable! I don’t consider something that cute procrastination, I consider it productivity 😉

Leave a Reply

