Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday: The Second Edition

July 20, 2011

Happy Wednesday everyone! It’s the best day of the week because it’s time for What I Ate Wednesday! I enjoyed it so much last week that I’ve come back for seconds.

WIAWbutton

I’ll start with last night.

7:00pm

20Jul11_4

A beany burger that I picked up from Holland and Barratt earlier in the week, served with tomato, chilli and ginger relish, Cheshire new potatoes (soooo good!), cabbage, carrots and sugar snap peas.

The burger had a really good texture – crispy on the outside and beany in the middle. I even persuaded my Mum to have one, although she thought it lacked a bit of flavour and definitely needed to relish with it.

20Jul11_2

Dessert was a delicious bowl of fruit that my Mum prepared for me (ah, it’s so nice to be home!).

20Jul11_5

I split this with my Mum, but I probably had over half of it – what can I say? … I’m a fruit eating monster.

9.00pm

20Jul11_6

This chocolate has been all over the blog world. I was already a huge fan of Montezuma, but this one is absolutely gorgeous! I only had a small piece, but it’s open now, so there might be no stopping me.

6.00am

I had an early start in order to get to the exam centre in time for my exam. I wanted to eat something filling for breakfast to help to keep me going. I went for the classic porridge with sliced banana, milled flaxseed and cinnamon combo.

20Jul11_7

8.00am

I arrived at the exam centre with an hour and a half to spare. Just enough time to take some deep breaths and calm my nerves.

20Jul11_8

Note the messy “exam hair” and lack of make-up.

I haven’t really explained what I’ve been doing exams for. I’m doing a professional qualification in purchasing and supply alongside my full-time job. It takes three years to qualify and I’m just coming to the end of my second year. That means five more exams to take, as long as I don’t have re-sit any!

9.00am

Just before the exam I ate an Eat Natural bar to try to see me through the three hours. I can’t stand being hungry when I’m trying to concentrate.

20Jul11_3

I didn’t take a photo in the exam room because I thought I might be disqualified or something!

12.30pm

Finished! I was pretty hungry so I gobbled down a Superfood Salad from Marks and Spencer that I had brought along with me.

20Jul11_1

20Jul11_9

I’m not a fan of eating in my car, but needs must. This salad was lovely with lots of yummy, healthy ingredients like quinoa, barley, red rice, seeds, blueberries and mango.

2.00pm

The salad obviously didn’t fill me up very well because I was still hungry when I got home. I filled the hole with a Total 0% yoghurt pot with honey and added some muesli to it for substance.

20Jul11_10

I then indulged in an afternoon nap because I was beat after the adrenaline rush of the exam. I managed to drag myself out of bed an hour later and downed a few dates before heading to the gym.

I did an interval workout on the treadmill from Zest’s Running Made Easy book. It involved a 7 minute warm-up, followed by a seven intervals (1 minute fast, 2 minutes moderate) and then a 7 minute cool-down. I decided to leave strength training today because my arm was aching from all the writing – I did some core work instead.

5.30pm

I went to the supermarket after the gym and I was so hungry, so more car-eating ensued.

20Jul11_11 

These Kallo mini rice cakes perhaps weren’t the best recovery snack as they don’t have much protein in them, but at least they are wholegrain and they were very tasty.

So that’s what I’ve eaten over the past 24 hours. There’s more convenience food than I would normally have because of the exam and my hunger pangs, but I tried to make healthy choices.

If you can’t cook from scratch which convenience foods do you rely on?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 6:32 pm

    The eat natural bar, salad and honey yoghurt are three of my favourite foods ever, i think we must be kindred spirits!
    I hope your exam went well, that’s so cool about you doing an extra qualification 🙂

  2. July 20, 2011 6:56 pm

    That salad looks lovely 🙂 I like cereal bars (nakd, trek, clif), also bear granola is good as a packet can fit in your bag. I also love alpro soya pots as they do not need to go in the fridge, and are tasty. For dinners I love a pot of bean and tomato/veg soup, either with toast or a sweet potato. Yum.

  3. July 20, 2011 6:59 pm

    I always go for a baked sweet potato or something I’ve previously made and frozen! Hope your exam went well! I love the M&S salad 🙂

  4. July 20, 2011 7:13 pm

    I used to always try stay hydrated during exams – been a while though 😉 Hope all your hard work pays off and you get the results you want.

  5. July 20, 2011 7:16 pm

    oooh I have tried all those yummy eateries you have had:) Love that ms salad. I like the innocent veg pots for convience foods have loads of veg and beans in the and really filling.

  6. July 20, 2011 7:19 pm

    That Marks & Spencer salad reminds me of something I’d get at Pret a Manger! Looks like a fabulous day of eats 🙂

  7. July 20, 2011 7:28 pm

    Hope the exam went well – I am studying too, it’s tough fitting it round work but I think (hope!) professional qualifications will be worth it!

  8. July 20, 2011 7:46 pm

    Oooh I’ve never seen that salad in M&S! looks really good, I’ll have to give it a try!
    I rely on fruit, sandwiches, bars and yogurt when I’m on the go! Healthy & portable 🙂

  9. July 20, 2011 8:27 pm

    Something frozen from the freezer, something prepared by my boyfriend, or a quick stir-fry of tofu, stir-fry veg, stir-fry rice noodles, and sauce. Hope the exam went well.

  10. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    July 20, 2011 8:28 pm

    Good luck! I hope your exam results turn out well hope 🙂

    P.S: I LOVE being home because my mother cooks for me as well. Nothing like a home cooked meal that you don’t have to prepare 😉

  11. July 20, 2011 10:15 pm

    oooh! where did you get that 0% with honey????? I NEEEED those…

    I’m a great fan of the ‘Just’ bars, especially for a good burst of energy that then stays round for a while. I’m also a bit naughty about using the pouches of rice when I can’t be bothered to cook the real stuff!

    Hope the exam went well. Do you have to wait long for results?

  12. July 21, 2011 12:01 am

    Best of luck with the exams! That salad looks really very delicious!

  13. July 21, 2011 12:33 am

    def some convenience foods there but girl… what healthy options! the burger looks yum and the salad looks absolutely amazing! something I would make at home for sure… but ahhh the convenience of a goof salad in a box! hehe! Welcome back to WIAW love! bet you rocked that exam!

  14. July 21, 2011 1:18 am

    I have one of those Eat Natural Bars that I haven’t tried yet! I’m so excited to, it looks so good 🙂

    Good luck with your exams! I bet you did awesome!

  15. July 21, 2011 6:13 am

    Snap on the salad front – I had one of those yesterday dinner too. Since the sad demise of the chicken & prawn laksa and then the super wholefoods salad (with asparagus, pumpkin seeds, broccoli etc in it) this one has become my staple. a bit light on the protein side but great tasting, great texture and nearly 20g of fibre.

  16. July 21, 2011 6:49 am

    During my exams I lived on 9 bars, bagels with pb, yogurts, fruit, and jacket potatoes for actual meals.M&S have some great salads and easy to grab stuff at the moment! I was very impressed last time I went there.
    Hope the exam went well for you!

  17. July 21, 2011 7:38 am

    Hope the exam went well! I love those beany burgers. Haven’t had them in ages though, going to have to sort that out! x

  18. July 21, 2011 12:29 pm

    That’s my fave M&S salad! It’s so tasty!

  19. July 21, 2011 8:39 pm

    I love those burgers! Only recently discovered them and couldn’t believe how good they were, and perfect for when you haven’t got time to cook.
    Hope the exam went well… fingers crossed 🙂

  20. Errign permalink
    July 21, 2011 9:24 pm

    Well just today, I had a packaged sandwich for lunch while at work because I wasn’t sure how long I’d be there or if there was a fridge etc. It tasted good, but it was HUGE. Like way bigger than a sandwich that is one serving needs to be!

Leave a Reply

