Skip to content

The Power of the Smoothie

July 22, 2011

Happy Friday! Is everyone as glad as I am that it’s the weekend? I feel like I’ve had a hectic and stressful week with my exam on Wednesday and a very long day in London yesterday. I got home last night and my brain felt fried, hence why there was no post yesterday … I’m not sure that anything I could have written would have made sense.

On Wednesday evening I really felt like I needed a restorative green smoothie.

22Jul11_1

I made this one with:

  • Banana
  • Frozen blackforest fruits (grapes, blackberries, cherries)
  • Spinach
  • 2 dessertspoons of Pulsin’ pea protein isolate
  • Kara coconut milk

This was my first experience with a protein powder and I though that this one was OK. It didn’t taste horrible, I could just detect a slight background flavour. In general I eat quite a bit of protein, but something like a green smoothie could do with some more adding to it.

16Jul11_2

I had some wholemeal toast with peanut butter on the side. After I ate this I went back for another slice of toast, this time with Dark Chocolate Dreams slathered on. I’m such a carb monster at the moment for some reason!

Yesterday the start time of my meeting in London had changed, so I ended up with a bit of spare time. I used it very productively and made a trip to Leon to have one of their Power Smoothies.

22Jul11_5

Oh my goodness, it was to die for – so thick and creamy! At 348 calories and 14g of fat, it was an indulgence, but so worth it. It contained bananas, oats, honey, greek yoghurt, milk and fruit compote, so it would be easy to make a healthified version at home.

On the whole, the meeting was boring, but the highlight was a talk by one of my favourite bloggers! Peter Smith writes at spendmatters.co.uk, which is a blog about procurement. It may not interest you, but if you have an interest in purchasing or business in general it is so well written and insightful. Peter gave a talk on careers and one of his main themes was the need to be involved in and understand social networking. I found meeting a successful blogger really inspiring and I’m looking forward to hopefully meeting some of you in the future!

I was so knackered when I got home that the only thing I could face making was my ultimate fast food – an omelette. This mushroom and spinach combo worked out quite well.

22Jul11_3

To be honest I was so tired I could have gone to bed without anything to eat, but I wanted to be fuelled for my run this morning. I actually ended up overeating yesterday evening with yoghurt and muesli and some chocolate. Tiredness really is one of my overeating triggers, so I have to work more on overcoming that.

At least I was fuelled for my run this morning. I did 4 miles of my hilly route (it took me 4.5 miles last week because I got lost!), followed by a strength circuit that I found in this month’s Women’s Running.

15 reps, 3 sets:

  • one arm rows
  • weighted squat
  • alternate lunges
  • tricep extensions
  • shoulder press
  • glute lifts

This was tough and I was properly spent when I finished. I definitely need my rest day tomorrow!

Questions for today:

Do you use protein powders and do you think that they are necessary?

Do you use social networking outside of the healthy living community? Have you found it helpful in your career / education?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2011 4:48 pm

    I’ve started using the pulsin pea protein since becoming a vegan and I am a big fan. Use it in smoothies and oatmeal!

  2. July 22, 2011 5:22 pm

    I love omelettes, definitely my favourite fast food too (and i like how you can make them look pretty and patterned with different add-ins hehe)
    Meeting a sucessful blogger sounds inspirational, talking of which we should sort something out with leigh soon, maybe in August?

  3. July 22, 2011 5:32 pm

    I do not use protein powders, but you are right they do help up the protein content of something carby like a fruit smoothie.
    I do not do twitter or anything like that, I know some blogs have facebook pages but I do not- seems like a little too much work to me haha!

  4. July 22, 2011 7:06 pm

    I’ve been using protein powders for a long time, way before I was blogging. I personally really like them for adding extra nutrition and flavour to my diet. In the past, using them in conjunction with weight training made a huge difference to my muscle definition! I don’t think they are probably needed for most people, but as a very physically active vegan I feel better I know I have them as an option. I always put some kind of protein powder in my GM’s to give them a bit more staying power. I’m loving a strawberry flavoured hemp protein powder right now its delicious 🙂

  5. July 22, 2011 7:08 pm

    i do use protein powders occasionly when i need extra protein usually after a heavy cycle ride.

  6. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    July 22, 2011 8:07 pm

    That omelet looks beautiful & delicious 🙂

    I don’t personally use protein powders, but I know people who swear by them. I used to and I got a little carried away with my protein intake– so now I choose to get my daily amount from other sources. But that’s just me, everyone is different!

  7. July 22, 2011 8:32 pm

    I don’t think protein powders are essential but depending on diet and activity levels I believe they can enhance athletic performance and help with general satiety. Some of them taste darn nice too!

    That smoothie you got doesn’t look too bad! I don’t see a single ‘unhealthy’ ingredient there. I suppose using 0% greek yoghurt would lighten it up, as I presume it was full fat in the bought version.

    Don’t beat yourself up over the ‘overeating:’ I’m sure it was not as bad as you think and tiredness is a huge trigger for me too.

    xxx

    • July 22, 2011 8:34 pm

      P.S would you like me to send you my other thing of pea protein or were you not that keen? It’s just sitting in the cupboard and won’t get used here, so I don’t mind at all 🙂

  8. July 22, 2011 9:01 pm

    Oh I do love Leon 🙂 And admire you for your green smoothies – I’m too chicken to try them out x

  9. Errign permalink
    July 22, 2011 10:36 pm

    I do use protein powders in pancakes and oatmeal (though not all the time) because I like the nutritional punch they add. I don’t think they’re totally necessary, but I find if I load my diet with protein I’m much less of a snacker, so protein powder makes it easy to have a 400cal breakfast with 40 grams of protein..

  10. July 23, 2011 12:44 am

    I have never used protein powder but your smoothie does look delicious and so healthy

  11. July 23, 2011 5:42 am

    I love protein powders and think they are a great way to pack out smoothies. There are so many types out there though that it can get a little confusing!!! 🙂

  12. July 23, 2011 10:53 am

    I don’t think that protein powder are neccessary, but I use it as a way to get in extra protein on workout days, cos I don’t really get alot from my regular diet..
    I love adding them to everything from smoothies to oats, to “ice-cream” – delicious! 🙂

  13. July 24, 2011 5:24 pm

    Now that I am starting to lift weights I think I will use a protein powder, only on those days though just to get a little extra in as generally I think I eat a decent amount of protein.
    Don’t beat yourself up for overeating, it sounds like what you ate wasn’t ‘bad’ food and like you said it fuelled you for this morning!
    I only use facebook for keeping in contact with people, I have no idea how twitter works. I am toying with the idea though.

Leave a Reply

