Skip to content

The Great Debate and Giveaway

July 23, 2011

When I worked in retail my job was extremely hectic and stressful, so my colleagues and I would try and lighten the mood and keep ourselves entertained in whatever way we could. This once involved a three day in-depth debate about which is the best biscuit. The debate raged on – we decided the parameters were taste, texture, dunkability and price. It was a close run thing between Hobnobs and Chocolate Digestives, but I think the Digestive clinched it in the end.

biscuits

Source

I was reminiscing about those heady days and I got to thinking about what the equivalent would be in the healthy living blog world … snack bars! So, here’s the big question:

What is the best all-round snack bar?

Here are my contenders:

004

A small bar, the Nakd bar is great for a mid-morning or mid-afternoon snack, paired with a piece of fruit. This cocoa orange flavour tastes just like a Terry’s chocolate orange (yummy!) and the texture is lovely and soft, and just a little bit chewy. Nakd bars are widely available in the UK – I’ve seen them in all major supermarkets, Boots and W H Smith, which is a big plus. They don’t contain any added sugar or syrups.

 

008

I’ve only just discovered Clif bars and I’m addicted! Unfortunately not widely available in the UK – I have either had to wait for a trip to Wholefoods or bought them off the internet. I find them very sweet, but I find that perfect for a post-run snack. The pieces of peanut in this flavour are divine!

 

008 (2)

This Wallaby Superbar wasn’t as sweet as I expected, but that meant that the natural flavour of the nuts and seeds came through. Having said that I think that it could have done with another flavour to jazz it up a bit. It was very filling though and got me through several hours of revision. I’ve seen these in many health food shops, so they are fairly easy to get hold of.

 

20Jul11_3

The ingredients list of this Eat Natural bar isn’t perhaps as good as other bars – one of the main ingredients is glucose syrup … but boy does it taste nice! The cranberry flavour comes through strongly and the dark chocolate is lovely. They are very widely available in the UK.

 

005

I love Trek bars as a post-exercise snack. Like it’s brother the Nakd bar, it doesn’t contain any added sugar and I’m very impressed by the high protein content. This flavour is delicious and very filling.

 

023

To me, this Pulsin’ bar tastes better than a real brownie. It is really chocolaty and you can just detect the flavour of cashew butter. It has no added sugar, which is a huge plus point for me. I love these a healthy-ish treat to keep me away from the cake. Not very widely available, but my local health food shop sells them!

 

008 (2)

9 Bars are deliciously sweet, again perfect for after a run. The carob topping is yummy and makes it a real treat. The nutty bar has big pieces of nuts in amongst the seeds, which I really like. The downside is that they are quite high in calories and fat, so I leave them as a treat.

 

I want your opinion. What is the best snack bar? It doesn’t have to be one that I’ve featured – let me know what I’m missing out on! I’m going to GIVEAWAY all these bars, plus a few little extras to one lucky winner.

To enter:

1. Leave a comment joining in the debate – let me know which is your favourite snack bar.

2. Follow me on Twitter and Tweet about the competition linking back to this post

3. Like my Facebook page

4. Link to this giveaway on your blog

Leave a separate comment for each one of the above and you’ll get one entry for each. Entries are open to everyone, even if you live outside of the UK!

You have until FRIDAY 29th JULY to enter. The winner will be announced on Saturday 30th July.

48 Comments leave one →
  1. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    July 23, 2011 1:59 pm

    My favorite snack bar are definitely Clif Bars! So filling and gives me plenty of energy! 😀

  2. July 23, 2011 3:02 pm

    I’ve only ever tried the Nakd & Eat Natural bars from you list …. looks like I’m missing out 😦 They are both great but I err towards the Nakd bars as I tend not to scoff as many (Eat Natural are tooo scrummy & I can wolf down several on the trot if I’m not careful!).
    I have made a homemade version of LaraBars before which again I had to stop as I just took liberties with how many I ate!

  3. July 23, 2011 3:15 pm

    Oh my this is such a hard choice as I love them all but for me its got to be the nakd bar as they just taste divine and are not too pricy and perfect for snack anytime of the day. Have you ever tried the banana bread one? Its so so nice. Be interesting to hear other peoples responses defintly be entering this giveaway.

  4. July 23, 2011 3:20 pm

    I would say it is a toss up for me between nakd (delicious and great ingredient list), Trek bars (so so filling- I take them on holiday and have them for lunch with a banana! (after a big breakfast..)), or seed stacked bars, which are like 9 bars but without all the added oil and stuff-just seeds, oats and honey. I do love clif bars for a post run snack, but then the ingredient list has more things on it. Eat Natural bars, although I like them, I do not think they are a healthy option! I treat them more like either a pre run carby snack, or a treat food like a chocolate bar. I have not tried the other bars that you mention.

  5. July 23, 2011 4:50 pm

    I dont live in the UK but I’ve been a couple of times and one of my favorite foods there is Eat Natural bars. Oh my gosh, they are just freakin’ so TASTY!!!!! YUM..I wish they sold them over here ::HMPH::

    Luna bars are my go to bars. They come in so many yummy flavors and their stats are pretty awesome if you ask me. Plus, they hold me over between meals. The new chocolate coconut flavor is my favorite!

    x

  6. July 23, 2011 4:51 pm

    My favourites are Nakd bars! 😀 But I’ve never tried the Pulsin one and that sounds delicious!

  7. July 23, 2011 4:52 pm

    I’m now following you on twitter, and I tweeted 🙂

  8. July 23, 2011 4:54 pm

    I liked your FB page 🙂

  9. July 23, 2011 4:56 pm

    I couldn’t say for definite my mood changes too much haha right now I could really murder a 9bar haha yum! I had one of the pulsin raw brownies the other day and it wasn’t as nice as I remembered, their coffee brownies were far better but I don’t think they do them anymore 😦

  10. July 23, 2011 4:58 pm

    I love that the biscuit debate took three days to reach a conclusion, and can I saw HOW HAPPY I am that the good ol’ Choc Digestive won (so long as it’s a McVities, of course 😉 )? It’s like a sturdy constant in life, the Digestive, and the addition of chocolate only leads to good melty things with a bit of tea dunkage..nom nom.
    I’m not a big bar person so have only tried the Nakd ones from this list. I saw a Clif bar in Tescos t’other day – in the Man Protein Diet whatever section – and it was £1.52 for a bar!!! Ridiculous. Anyhow, my loyalty lies with the Nakd – the non-gluten free old school ones. I’ve only tried the cashew and gingerbread gluten free ones and found them too oily. Apparently I like my food dry..
    (ps. You don’t have to enter me into the giveaway – the bars are worthy of someone who really likes them! I just had to comment on the biscuit debate :D).

  11. Errign permalink
    July 23, 2011 6:25 pm

    My favorite snack bar brands are : Luna (even though they’re basically a candy bar), Prana, and Clif Mojo 🙂 They’re all sweet and come in good flavors, so I like them the best.

    (P.S. I used to DEMOLISH packs of hobnobs and digestives! If you ever want to do a parcel swap, since I’ve got access to all of the clif flavors, etc, here, just shoot me an email!) 🙂

  12. July 23, 2011 6:33 pm

    Great giveaway! I have to say my favourite snack bar is a nakd bar, the orange or mint for preference! They are the perfect size for me and taste way more indulgent than they actually are, love them!

  13. July 23, 2011 6:34 pm

    Just tweeted too 🙂

  14. Sarah permalink
    July 23, 2011 7:39 pm

    I like cocoa brownie Trek bars the best, and Eat Natural apricot almond & yoghurt coating a close 2nd best.
    Xxx

  15. July 23, 2011 8:04 pm

    I love this giveaway! 🙂 My favourite at the moment are 9bars, I love the chewy nuttiness! I think my favourite would change if I could get hold of those Pulsin Raw Choc Brownies though…those look amazing!!

  16. July 23, 2011 8:06 pm

    I already follow you on Twitter and just tweeted 🙂

  17. July 23, 2011 8:12 pm

    I love those raw brownies! They’re soooo chewy and chocolaty 🙂
    (FYI: best biscuit is totally the rich tea!)

  18. July 23, 2011 8:16 pm

    I already follow you on twitter too, and i just tweeted 🙂

  19. Jordan permalink
    July 23, 2011 8:22 pm

    Haven’t tried any of these, but Larabars are hands down my favorite. I love the apple pie flavor.

  20. Jordan permalink
    July 23, 2011 8:25 pm

    I like you on Facebook 🙂

  21. Jordan permalink
    July 23, 2011 8:26 pm

    I tweeted! @j_mosh

  22. July 23, 2011 8:40 pm

    I love Clif bars but have eaten more Trek bars!! I wish I could get hold of Clif more often x

  23. July 23, 2011 8:42 pm

    It’s weird because I never ate Hobnobs before I was diagnosed coeliac but now I really miss them!
    I think out of all those, 9Bars (the carob-topped original ones especially) are my favourites but I’m yet to try the Pulsin and I love the Eat Naturals… and Nakd… and Wallabies 🙂
    The only one I can’t eat is the Trek bar because it’s not gluten-free but I love that most of these bars are!

  24. July 23, 2011 8:42 pm

    I already follow you on Twitter but just tweeted x

  25. July 23, 2011 8:44 pm

    I’m liking you on Facebook now tooooo x

  26. July 23, 2011 8:47 pm

    And I follow you on Twitter and Tweeted!

  27. July 23, 2011 8:49 pm

    I’m a Nakd bar girl, although I’d love to try the brownie one!

  28. July 23, 2011 10:09 pm

    just followed and tweeted you

  29. Sarah permalink
    July 24, 2011 12:40 am

    larabars are hands down the best!

  30. July 24, 2011 2:34 am

    I got to try some of those bars from my UK blogger swap! Favorite is Nakd bars 🙂

  31. July 24, 2011 1:23 pm

    I have never tried any of these bars! that brownie one looks amazing- but all of them look fantastic 🙂

  32. July 24, 2011 1:24 pm

    my fave snack bar would have to be luna or lara bars though 🙂

  33. July 24, 2011 3:04 pm

    I think Clif bars are my favorite. It’s between them and Luna bars. They just hold me over the best 🙂

  34. July 25, 2011 12:04 am

    I love Nakd bars, I think the mint ones my fav, but I recently tried the Food Doctor Cars, and I was pretty impressed by them! I’m also trailing mule bars at the mo, and they’re pretty good!

  35. Bronagh permalink
    July 25, 2011 10:34 am

    I’m a huge Nakd fan and pretty much love all of their bars, but then I do enjoy variety and find Clif bars and 9bars are also delicious. My current favourite is definitely the PB&J Larabar that I bought when I visited the US a few months ago. I went a bit crazy in Wholefoods and bought loads of snack bars that aren’t available here in the UK (think i managed to buy 10 different Larabar flavours!) but the PB&J flavour is SO good! You have to try it if you ever see it!

  36. Bronagh permalink
    July 25, 2011 10:35 am

    I just liked your facebook page 🙂

  37. July 25, 2011 4:44 pm

    My favorite snack bar would be the Nakd ginger bar I love it! I also quite like the food doctor bars than again if I am honest I love any snack bar other than the eat natural ones x x

  38. July 25, 2011 8:55 pm

    I’ve linked to this giveaway on my blog!

  39. Ashley permalink
    July 26, 2011 2:55 am

    I love the trail mix Clif bars!

  40. Carolyn permalink
    July 26, 2011 4:29 am

    Definitely Eat Natural bars, the apricot ones, but Kashi bars are pretty good too if you want something a bit crumblier.

  41. Krystal permalink
    July 26, 2011 8:18 am

    I love, love, love Trek Cherry Crunch Protein Flapjack…mmmmmm! Closely followed by Nakd Gingerbread bar.

    Great giveaway!

  42. July 26, 2011 11:36 am

    i LPVEEEEE da nakd barr!

  43. July 26, 2011 9:51 pm

    Definitely JUST bars for me – the seedy cranberry ones rather than the nutty ones. Pure heaven!

    Rosex

  44. July 27, 2011 8:40 am

    Definitely nakd or clif bars. I have only managed to have a clif bar twice as like you said they are difficult to get hold of, but I thought they were an awesome pre-post workout snack. I love nakd bars though, cashew cookie is just too amazing!

  45. July 27, 2011 8:41 am

    Also, I follow you on twitter

  46. July 27, 2011 9:15 am

    Nakd bars for me every time.

    It depends on what mood I’m in as to what flavour, if I want something sweet then it’s the orange or the new minty one, if I want something a bit chewier then the cashew cookie one does it.

    I have tried Trek bars and whilst I like them, they are a bit dry for me.

    I also like the 9 bars, but they are a bit heavy on the calories, (my runs aren’t all that long compared to the rest of you!)

    🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Fun, Food and Fitness: My Weekend « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

