Skip to content

Fun, Food and Fitness: My Weekend

July 24, 2011

Hello – I hope everyone is having a good weekend! I’ve been busy, but with some time to chill out, which to me is perfect. I can’t believe it’s already Sunday evening though – boo hiss!

If you haven’t already seen it, I’ve got a giveaway where you can win a selection of snack bars – go to yesterday’s post to enter.

My activities this weekend can pretty much be categorised into fun, food and fitness – the perfect balance.

Fun

I headed over to Manchester yesterday afternoon for a party at the rowing club that one of my friends belongs to.

005

She had organised the party and put on an awesome buffet.

001

It had pretty much been polished off before I remembered to take a photo. She also made some lovely vodka and orange. A few of these were consumed:

004

I didn’t want to drink too much, but it was nice to relax with a few vodkas. I said to two of my friends “I don’t want to drink too much because I’ve got a 10k race next weekend”. They looked at each other and then said “we’re doing a 24 hour marathon next weekend” … so my excuse wasn’t very strong! Both of these friends are awesome athletes and it’s inspiring how dedicated they are.

After the boat club we went to a couple of bars and I was more than ready to head home at 11pm … I’m such an old woman these days!

Food

The best meal I’ve had this weekend without a doubt was on Friday evening.

24Jul11_1

I spooned some thai green curry paste on top of a fillet of salmon and then baked it in the oven for 25 minutes. In the meantime I stir-fried some carrots, broccoli, courgette, mushrooms, sweetcorn and soba noodles in a little more curry paste and a little bit of coconut milk. I don’t eat fish very often, but every time I do I think that I should eat it more.

The smoothie I made after my run today was very good too. I took inspiration from the power smoothie I had in Leon last week.

24Jul11_2

In the mix:

  • frozen blackforest fruits mix
  • 50g oats soaked in some oat milk for a couple of hours
  • tablespoon natural yoghurt
  • some more oat milk
  • spinach
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of Pulsin’ pea protein
  • swirl of agave nector

This was so thick and flavourful, just what I needed when I got in from my run.

Fitness

Saturday was a rest day (apart from a bit of dancing on my night out in Manchester!) and I really needed it. The inside of my thighs and my bum were really sore from the hilly run and strength training I did on Friday.

Today I decided to do 5 miles. I cut down my mileage from the 8 miles last week in preparation for the York 10k next weekend and also because I was running in the heat of the midday sun. It was only 20 celsius today, but I still felt the heat – I don’t know how people run when it’s really hot like in the USA at the moment.

Despite the late night it was quite a fast run for me. At one point I slowed myself down because I wanted an easy-ish run and didn’t want to feel that I was dying. Overall I did 5 miles in 46 mins 27 secs, which I think bodes well for my time in the 10k next week.

Mile 1 09:21
Mile 2 09:00
Mile 3 09:23
Mile 4 09:20
Mile 5 09:21

It’s also a bit more consistent than last week, apart from mile 2 when I got a bit carried away!

What fun things have you done this weekend?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 5:50 pm

    Sounds like you are having a fun weekend!

  2. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    July 24, 2011 6:04 pm

    Your dinner looks a lot like the one I’m planning for myself tonight! Did you make the curry paste or was it store-bought?

    Glad you’re having a great weekend 🙂

  3. July 24, 2011 6:12 pm

    Thats a brilliant 5 miles.
    I also love fish but find it racks up my grocery bill if we eat too much – otherwise I’d have it every second night AT LEAST and not get bored 🙂

  4. July 24, 2011 6:18 pm

    Very little boo-hoo-hoo!

  5. July 24, 2011 6:59 pm

    i love adding things to my fish before I cook it my favourite being soya sauce some grated ginger and five spice. i havent really done much fun things apart from work.

  6. July 24, 2011 7:30 pm

    That salmon dish sounds so good! I love salmon and thai flavours…mmmm 🙂
    Congratulations on your super run, too!

  7. July 24, 2011 7:55 pm

    Excellent run well done 🙂

  8. July 25, 2011 8:11 am

    Your weekend sounds lovely, the salmon looks delicious! I had an amazing thai salmon curry at a restaurant a few months ago and have been obsessed with thai salmon since.
    Great run too 😀

  9. July 25, 2011 8:59 am

    Sounds like you’ve had a lovely weekend! My weekend has been fab, seeing friends, Harry Potter at the cinema etc 🙂 I would have been on my way home way earlier than you, I just can’t handle my drink these days!

  10. July 25, 2011 4:26 pm

    Couldn’t help but giggle at the 24hr marathon response, least you were with like minded people, explaining to a non athletic person you don’t want to drink cause of your *insert activity here* usually meets with confused expressions in my experiece!

Leave a Reply

