Skip to content

Seven Links

July 25, 2011

Hello – is everyone happy that it’s Monday again? When Glee was still on Monday used to be my favourite day of the week (I’m a total TV addict, OK?!), but now this season has finished Mondays are a bit “meh”.

I’ve got a weird cold/no cold thing going on today – I’m voting for no cold obviously! I had a sore throat a few days ago and now my nose will randomly run for a few minutes and then stop. I’m hoping that nothing more comes of it before the York 10k at the weekend. I am pretty tired though, so I’ve decided to bail on yoga tonight, even though it’s my teacher’s last week before going on holiday for a month. I did manage an easy 3 mile run and the intermediate workout from Pilates Made Easy this morning.

I think my impending cold might have been behind my food choices yesterday. I looked at my dinner last night and realised that it was nearly all orange (with a little bit of green)!

25Jul11

This was the ultimate comfort food! Sweet potato wedges cooked in the oven with just a little olive oil for about 40 minutes, baked beans topped with nutritional yeast, and peas and carrots.

There were also plenty of these:

22Feb11_4

I think my body was telling me that I need more vitamin C.

Yesterday Errign from Errign’s Adventures tagged me in the “7 Links” thing that you’ve probably seen going around the blogworld.

THE GOAL
To unite bloggers (from all sectors) in a joint endeavour to share lessons learned and create a bank of long but not forgotten blog posts that deserve to see the light of day again.

THE RULES
Blogger is nominated to take part
Blogger publishes his/her 7 links on his/her blog – 1 link for each category.
Blogger nominates up to 5 more bloggers to take part.
These bloggers publish their 7 links and nominate another 5 more bloggers
And so it goes on!
We’ll be sharing the best posts from participating bloggers on our blog and everyday on Facebook and Twitter at #My7Links

I usually publish a post and then move on, so it was fun looking over my posts from the last 7 months. So, here we go:

1. Most beautiful post – Back in Blogland

This post contains some beautiful photos that Peter and his Mum took at his cousin’s wedding.

25Jul11_2

Most of the good photos on the blog are either taken by Peter or his Mum. My header is actually one of Peter’s Mum’s photos.

2. Most popular – What I Ate Wednesday: The Second Edition

I’ve done two What I Ate Wednesday’s now and they’ve both been popular. I got lots of comments on last week’s post, which made me very happy!

3. Most controversial – Is The Chinese Diet Healthier?

I don’t really do controversy on the blog, but this post on my experience with food while I was in China prompted some good discussion.

Beijing

4. Most helpful – Tips For Staying Healthy Away From Home

I love reading tips on other peoples’ blogs, so I try to do a tips post every now and then. This one was the most popular.

7Jul11_12

5. Surprise success – How Not to Get Fat Book Review

This was a tough category to think of a post for – there was nothing that jumped out at me. However, looking back at this book review there are some great comments.

6. Not enough attention – Healthy Marketing Hype

This was only my third post, so no-one read it! Look beyond the truly terrible photographs and you’ll find my opinion on the hype behind “nutritious” food and drinks like Vitamin Water.

7. Most proud – Leeds Run For All 10k Race Recap

I did my first ever 10k in 57 minutes and 22 seconds … and I’m proud!

002

Now to nominate 5 other bloggers to tell us their 7 links:

Laura @ Box, Run, Eat

Leigh @ peanutbutternutter

Maria @ Running Cupcake

Laura @ Keeping Healthy Getting Stylish

Sarah @ Sweet Potato Sarah

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 6:29 pm

    Thanks for the nomination! I may try and post this tomorrow! 🙂

  2. July 25, 2011 6:55 pm

    I enjoyed reading back on some of your old posts! I will try to do this post, but I don’t have many so it may be quite hard.

  3. July 25, 2011 7:28 pm

    Thanks for tagging me!
    I loved checking out some of your older posts from before i started reading 🙂
    My WIAW are some of my most popular posts too, there’s always a spike hehe

  4. July 25, 2011 7:29 pm

    I’m so glad WIAW has been so popular for you!!! yay!!! ❤ Its a lil traffic machine lately — and so fun meeting new bloggers, right?

    on my way to check out your controversial chinese diet post! i'm intrigued!!! =)

  5. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    July 25, 2011 8:35 pm

    I read your tips for staying healthy away from home post– very informative!

    Gotta love WIAW! I always get so much blog love 🙂

  6. July 25, 2011 9:48 pm

    I love the review on the book. Was good to read over your old posts.

  7. July 25, 2011 10:16 pm

    Thanks for this, what a good idea 🙂 I will have a read of those posts (I have a feeling you may share my view on vitamin water too!). And thanks for the tag- have put it on my list- will need to have a think.
    🙂

  8. Errign permalink
    July 26, 2011 12:56 am

    Yay – can’t wait to read your posts 🙂 And awesome job on the 10k – it took me 57 to run a mile less than that this evening!

  9. July 26, 2011 10:13 am

    Thanks for tagging me I can’t wait to do my 7 links! Also how good are beans and nutritional yeast, yum!

  10. July 26, 2011 1:20 pm

    Awesome post and such a great idea!!!

  11. norunningchickpea permalink
    July 29, 2011 12:45 pm

    Hi – I absolutely love all your food, I could pretty much devour everything you make! Haha. I got my inspiration from your sweet potato and veggies meal for my dinner last night – http://norunningchickpea.wordpress.com/2011/07/29/massive-breakthrough/ Thanks!

    I was just wondering – what is nutritional yeast? Also, what are its health benefits?

    Thank-yooou 🙂

    • July 29, 2011 12:48 pm

      Thank you! You can buy nutritional yeast from most health food shops and it’s a good source of b vitamins which you need if you don’t eat much meat. It has a savoury and slightly cheesy taste.

Trackbacks

  1. MASSIVE breakthrough :) « norunningchickpea

Leave a Reply

