Skip to content

Eating What My Body Wants

July 26, 2011

Good evening everyone! I hope you have all had a fun Tuesday – mine has been average, but the sun has just come out here in Leeds, so that has cheered the day up.

If you haven’t already done so, don’t forget to enter my GIVEAWAY. You have until Friday to enter, so get to it!

Lately I’ve been trying to pay more attention to the kinds of foods that I fancy eating and then satisfying those cravings. Obviously, I nearly always fancy chocolate, so there has been plenty of this stuff:

20Jul11_6

But chocolate aside, I’ve wanted different sorts of things every day. Yesterday I shared with you my plate of orange food and last week I mentioned that I’d been a carb-monster for a few days. Since yesterday evening I’ve wanted lots of protein. I included protein in my dinner by making a tofu stir-fry with peanut flour sauce.

26Jul11

It doesn’t look that bad in the photo, but this stir-fry was ridiculously huge! I haven’t been eating my organic veggies at the rate that I normally do, so last night I was faced with three courgettes that were starting to look a bit sad, a huge pepper, tons of broad beans and a bag full of carrots to eat.

Tofu and vegetable stir-fry with peanut sauce

  • 1/3 block of cauldron firm tofu, cubed
  • 1 1/2 courgettes
  • 1 carrot
  • 6 pods broad beans
  • 1/4 large red pepper
  • 5 closed cup mushrooms
  • soy sauce
  • tablespoon peanut flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon agave nectar
  • pinch of chilli powder and black pepper

When I’m making a tofu stir-fry I usually fry it in some oil and soy sauce for 5 minutes and then remove it from the pan and fry my veggies separately. Once the veggies are cooked I put the tofu back in the pan with the sauce. The sauce was simply the peanut flour mixed with a little water, the agave, the chilli powder and black pepper.

In an attempt to balance out the meal I served the stir-fry with a small portion of brown rice.

I still wanted protein this morning, so I added a tablespoon of Pulsin’ pea protein isolate to my cereal. Lunch contained two eggs and snacks have been Food Doctor roasted soya nuts and Ryvita with cottage cheese. I’d like to think that I’m satisfying some deep need that I have for protein at the moment.

I did Level 3 of the 30 Day Shred this morning, so I’m hoping that that protein is going towards building some good muscle definition.

image

I naturally build muscle quite easily I think. When I first starting exercising again seriously a few years ago it only took a couple of circuit sessions for my quads and hamstrings to become defined. I have a larger layer of fat over my muscles than Jillian though, so I’m not quite that shredded yet!

Do you try to eat what you fancy at the time, and do you find that what you want to eat changes on a day-to-day basis?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 6:15 pm

    I try to eat what my body wants. Sometimes my body wants lots of chocolate and wine, and my head’s not too good at saying no yet. I find that after I have indulged my body doesn’t want loads of crap, though, and I naturally go through a bit of a detox period without thinking I really fancy that piece of cake or chip shop chips and gravy.

    What I want to eat tends to change on a month to month basis because I will eat something for every breakfast until I can’t stand the sight of it.

  2. July 26, 2011 8:28 pm

    I find that the more I exercise the more I want to eat healthy so find myself eating more fruits & veg by choice but sadly the same is true for the opposite. I do also tend to eat seasonally by nature these days so more soups etc during winter and salads in summer 🙂

  3. July 26, 2011 8:31 pm

    Your dinner sounds like my lunch apart from I had teraayki sauce where did you buy peanut flour from? I haven’t seen it anywhere. I try and listen to my body I do roughly plan my meals but if I fancy something different I will have that instead.

  4. Errign permalink
    July 26, 2011 8:34 pm

    I want peanut flour! Hehe.

    I usually eat either what I’m craving or what I feel like cooking 🙂

  5. July 26, 2011 9:08 pm

    Ooh I had broad beans for the first time today and loved them, I love the idea of putting them in a stirfry 🙂
    I really think I need to buy 30 day shred, everyone raves about it so much!

  6. July 26, 2011 9:52 pm

    YUM I love that chocolate! i got some last week and have already finished it! I think I am getting better at listening to my body- I know that if I have really sugary stuff then I feel rubbish and sluggish. But then I was having a lot of carbs today (lots of digging so I think I needed it) and maybe overdid it on the veggies and fruit because I feel really full now still!

  7. July 26, 2011 9:54 pm

    I’m rubbish at listening to my body but mainly because it tends to say ‘eat eat eat eat eat’ and I’m still in training to know when it means I NEED to eat rather than I’m a girt big piggy!

    I also try to plan ahead for my meals so that scuppers that!

    Rosex

  8. July 27, 2011 9:04 am

    Oh yes, I do meal plan but more and more recently I’ve been trying to tune into what my body wants, sometimes its chocolate, sometimes its raw foods and most of the time its green smoothies! What I’ve really noticed recently is that even after the smallest indulgences I tend to really crave ‘cleaner’ foods, I take that as a good sign that my body is coming back to balance and obviously it bodes well for future weight maintainance!

  9. July 27, 2011 10:11 am

    I usually just eat what I fancy, unless I don’t have in what I fancy and have to make do. I suppose I do change daily what I eat, but then it cycles over a few weeks so my meals are usually repeated every week or 2.

  10. July 27, 2011 4:15 pm

    I think it’s great to listen to what your body wants! Being true to your body is most important no matter what you think it wants. If it wants some dark chocolate rather than an apple then you should eat dark chocolate!

  11. July 27, 2011 5:41 pm

    Argh, you’re always putting me onto new kinds of Montezuma’s chocolate! That one sounds amazing…

    Stir fry looks great too!

Leave a Reply

