Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday III

July 27, 2011

Hello and welcome to the What I Ate Wednesday party! This is my third time and I’m loving it. I’ve got loads of photos today, so I better get on with it.

WIAWbutton

As usual, I’ll start with dinner last night.

7.30pm

27Jul11_1

I cooked up some wholewheat pasta and baked some firm tofu in the oven with a little soy sauce. I then made my own pasta sauce to go with it.

Veggie-tastic pasta sauce

  • small white onion, diced
  • small carrot, sliced thinly
  • 1/2 courgette
  • 1/4 large red pepper
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon vegan pesto
  • pepper to season

I fried the onion for 2 minutes before adding the carrot, courgette and pepper to the pan. I added a little bit of water and then let the vegetables cook for 10 minutes. I then added the chopped fresh tomatoes and pesto and cooked for another 5 minutes. So fresh and delicious!

9.30pm

Two hours later I was ready for a pre-bed snack. I had some muesli with Kara coconut milk. I have an obsession with eating out of this little glass – yes, I’m strange.

27Jul11_2

You can just about see that I’m in my sweats – I don’t make any effort to dress well when I’m at home!

5.45am

Got up and had a bite of a Nakd apple pie bar. I can’t eat before running, but I was quite hungry. Even a tiny bit of Nakd bar didn’t sit too well, I think I’m better off sticking with my tried and tested dates.

I did my last training run before the York 10k and it was a wonderful 3 mile tempo run from Zest Running Made Easy. I did two intervals of half a mile each at about 8:20 mins/mile, which actually felt quite comfortable. Speed training once a week has definitely paid off – I’ve noticed my longer runs getting faster and feeling easier. I followed up with the intermediate workout from Pilates Made Easy.

7.00am

My post-run breakfast was a not very attractive, but oh so tasty chocolate and banana porridge made with Kara coconut milk and chia seeds. Unfortunately doing it in the microwave makes it look awful!

27Jul11_8

10.00am

Mid-morning snackage was these four wholegrain rice thins topped with low-fat cottage cheese and chives.

27Jul11_5

12 noon

I was starving for lunch two hours later so I tucked into the salad that I made this morning. Lettuce, cucumber and radish …

27Jul11_3

… topped with leftover pasta and baked tofu with a little bit of pesto stirred in.

27Jul11_4

An apple was also devoured.

27Jul11_7

Afternoon

I grazed during the afternoon on some almonds and on some cherries that I bought from the market at lunchtime.

27Jul11_6

This is what was left of the cherries when I got home:

27Jul11_9

5.20pm

I’m always hungry when I get home from work, so I usually have a little something. Today I went for some deliciously juicy honeydew melon and Total yoghurt. The original Total yoghurt (10% fat) tastes so indulgent – I love it on fruit.

27Jul11_10

 

… and that’s why I don’t post everything I eat every day – because there’s so much of it. I’ve quite proud of that 24 hours of eats though – I think it’s nicely balanced.

I never tire of asking this question – what was the best thing you ate this Wednesday?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 5:36 pm

    The best thing I ate was a toss-up between oats, mixed nuts and raisins with black cherry yoghurt for breakfast or aubergine lasagne for dinner.

  2. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    July 27, 2011 5:40 pm

    Our lunch salads look so similar! Even the containers 🙂

  3. July 27, 2011 6:04 pm

    That is one LUSH looking apple 🙂
    Best thing I ate today was last nights left over courgette risotto for lunch, mmmmmmmmm

  4. July 27, 2011 7:26 pm

    My breakfast is usually always the best thing I ate and it’s the case again today! Those cherries look delicious!

  5. July 27, 2011 8:08 pm

    Hooray for WIAW! A nice balanced lot of food I would say 🙂 On mine I was not saying that I ate too much, just that it seemed a lot when you looked at it altogether.
    Hmm, today I might have to say my home made peanut butter fudge. Not healthy but really really tasty! 🙂

  6. July 27, 2011 8:52 pm

    I’ve eaten a lot of fruit today too — it’s berry season and I can’t stop!

  7. July 28, 2011 1:11 am

    I keep forgetting radish exists – thanks for the beautiful reminder — i need those babies on my salad stat!

    happy wiaw sarah!!

  8. Errign permalink
    July 28, 2011 1:13 am

    Hmmm, today’s eats were a little random for me, but I think the best thing I ate was the veggie chips I got in the mail 🙂 Lunch was cold pizza and a banana, which wasn’t exciting at all, but it was delicious. I have a SERIOUS kicked-up pizza craving now.

  9. July 28, 2011 6:48 am

    That greek yoghurt is so good, one thing I miss being mostly vegan! My best eat has been my breakfast which was totally random and mostly from my freezer but turned out to be so delicious!

  10. July 28, 2011 6:49 am

    Mmmm original total is so good isn’t it.
    Your breakfast looks delicious too! I can’t eat porridge when it’s warm out, I get the sweats! lol

  11. July 28, 2011 2:24 pm

    I do miss total greek yoghurt yum! I did have a yummy green smoothie this morning, but they are always good!

  12. July 31, 2011 3:23 pm

    That pasta looks delicious!
    I’m a real pasta fiend, I could eat it everyday 😛

Leave a Reply

