Skip to content

Olympic Gold Challenge

July 28, 2011

Good evening and Happy Thursday! Only one more day until the weekend and I can’t wait. I have a very exciting weekend coming up. On Friday I’m going over to Peter’s parents’ house in Lincolnshire to meet their new border collie puppy, Amos. Then on Sunday it’s the York 10k. What could be better than a weekend involving a puppy and a race?

The advantage of doing the race on Sunday is that I’m now taking a few rest days in preparation. My legs feel quite tired at the moment, so I think I need the rest and I felt that it made a real difference when I did my first 10k in Leeds last month. I absolutely love running and exercising, but the thought of a few days off sounds good to me at the moment.

Yesterday marked a year to go to the London Olympic and Paralympic Games and Gold Challenge is a way for everyone to get involved in the excitement.  The new charity challenge, partnered with Team GB and the British Olympic Association, challenges participants to take on Olympic and Paralympic sports to raise money for one of its 125 charity partners.

image004

Challengers sign up for free and choose their challenge or create their own.  Challenges include the Olympic Sport Challenge, where participants take on 5 – 30 Olympic & Paralympic sports, the 2012 km Challenge where challengers must cover 2012 km (individually or collectively) in one or more of a group of Olympic & Paralympic sports and the Family Activity Challenge which encourages families to learn Olympic sports together. 

With a target of over 100,000 participants and £20million to raise for its charity partners, Gold Challenge aims to be one of the most successful multi-sport charity fundraisers of all time. Anyone over the age of seven can take part and there are specific challenges for those aged 7 – 15 and families.

You can find out more information and register to take part at www.goldchallenge.org.

I think Gold Challenge is a brilliant and innovative idea. I was so inspired by looking at the website that I decided to register for to 2012 km challenge to raise money for Cancer Research UK. This involves completing 2012 km before the start of the Games.

image005

You can do this is whatever way you want – running, walking, swimming, cycling, rowing, kayaking/canoeing. I’ll be honest, I’m not sure I thought it through when I first entered! 2012 km means doing nearly 39 km a week, which is a challenging target. When I thought about it more deeply, I think it is achievable if I’m consistent. My plan is to walk for 2 km every day (732 km in the year), and run an average of 20 km a week (1040 km in the year) adding up to 1772 km. The other 240 km can be made up in extra runs and walks and well and cycling and rowing in cross-training.

You can view my progress on my Gold Challenge Page. I’ve done nearly 7 km already, so only 2005 km to go!

If you’re not crazy enough to sign up for the 2012 challenge, you can choose to do it as a team or do 201.2 km or 20.12 km.

Also, has anyone seen the BBC comedy Twenty Twelve about the Olympic Deliverance Commission? It’s hilarious! I haven’t caught up on last night’s episode yet, but you can find it on the iPlayer.

Twenty Twelve BBC

Do you think that the Gold Challenge is a good idea? Would you consider signing up?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2011 6:24 pm

    Oh my gosh a border collie puppy!!!! Please take lots of photos, they are my favourite thing in the world. I keep telling my boyfriend that I am broody, for a border collie pup!
    That’s a really great idea actually, I don’t think I do enough of one exercise to be able to do 2012 km though. (I just googled how many miles that is, that is a lot!)

  2. July 28, 2011 6:40 pm

    Wow, that’s a cool challenge! I’m almost tempted to sign up myself, but I don’t think I need any more commitments at the moment. Thesis first, then I’ll start signing up for mad crazy challenges after that!

    Enjoy the weekend, and good luck with the race 🙂

  3. July 28, 2011 6:42 pm

    I love border collies, my Nana had a border collie she bought as a pup, so cute! I think any challenges like that which encourage people to be more active are great 🙂

  4. July 28, 2011 7:11 pm

    I think the Gold Challenge is AWESOME! I would totally think about signing up for that! What a great and inspiring idea 🙂

  5. July 28, 2011 7:43 pm

    I think its a great idea. I’m going to look at the website a bit later on. Good luck with it.

    Xx

  6. July 28, 2011 9:50 pm

    I love the sound of that challenge, but it seems like an awful lot of miles to cover! I might have to look into doing it as a team I think! I have some holidays between now and then so I would lose that time already.
    🙂

  7. Errign permalink
    July 28, 2011 11:11 pm

    I think it’s a good goal! I like to set yearly mileage goals for myself (this year it was 500 miles – so around 800km, I think) and this is something similar, though on a large scale.

    Have fun with the pup – I have an Australian Shepherd, which is basically a higher energy, tail-less border collie 🙂

  8. July 29, 2011 12:18 am

    I think it is awesome! You are so well trained and will do fantastic! Post pics of the puppy!

  9. July 29, 2011 5:46 am

    I think the gold challenge sounds like a great idea! Beating Usain Bolt is another challenge though-I would live to be there for that race for sure! 🙂

  10. July 29, 2011 8:59 am

    I think it’s a great idea in principle, but I know from experience on WLR when I did a challenge there that I soon got fed up with working out the mileage whether it be running, walking, cycling or rowing etc. I was focusing more and more on the distance than on listening to my body.

    Have yourself a great weekend x

  11. July 29, 2011 9:32 am

    Love this blog Sarah – and it’s great to see you’re already totting up those miles.
    To everyone else who’s thinking about taking it on – do it! You can do it as a team and split the distance, or take on a more manageable target.
    Find out more here: http://www.goldchallenge.org/2012kmchallenge

    Best of luck covering the rest Sarah!

  12. July 29, 2011 11:30 am

    Yeah, can’t think of much better than a weekend involving racing and a puppy! Off to check out the gold challenge website now!

  13. Lexi permalink
    July 29, 2011 8:53 pm

    Good luck with the race! The challenge also sounds awesome – great motivation – I will check out the website too!

Leave a Reply

