Skip to content

Magical Maintenance?

August 2, 2011

Good evening! I trust that everyone is having a great start to the week. Time is flying for me now that it’s coming towards the end of the summer. Sometimes I wish that I had time to appreciate every day a bit more, but there’s so much to look forward to in the future as well. Today is one of those days where I have 101 things running amok in my head, so apologies if this post ends up a bit random.

First of all, remember this little guy?

image

Of course you do – Amos was a huge hit with all of you when I introduced him on the blog on Saturday. The good news is that he’s now got his very own blog where you can read all about his exploits with his new family:

http://killiebraeamos.wordpress.com

Secondly, the Gold Challenge team commented on my Olympic Gold Challenge post last week with a message for all my readers:

image

“To everyone else who’s thinking about taking it on – do it! You can do it as a team and split the distance, or take on a more manageable target.
Find out more here:
http://www.goldchallenge.org/2012kmchallenge

I’d just like to reiterate their message – it’s a fantastic innovative challenge and you don’t have to do the whole 2012km if you’re not as crazy as I clearly am. I’ve already totted up over 30km in less than a week, which I’m very pleased with. You can track my progress on my Gold Challenge page (I need to work a bit more on the content of the page, but you can see how many kilometres I’m racking up).

For part three of Sarah’s random ramblings I wanted to discuss something that’s been going through my head for a while now. As you might know if you’ve been following me for a while, I’ve been maintaining a 50(ish) pound weight loss for nearly two years now. When you’re actively trying to lose weight you think that maintenance will be this magical time when you can stop worrying about what you weigh, what you look like, what you eat and what exercise you do. Then you get there and realise that it’s not as easy as all that.

It’s not easy, but I still think it’s possible to let go of the anxiety that can surround losing weight and maintaining without going back to your old habits and gaining again. I think I’ve been making some good strides forward with this over the past year. I no longer weigh myself because, personally, I don’t think it’s necessary to know your weight in order to be healthy. I have a rough idea of my weight from the occasional trip to the doctor’s surgery and then I take notice of how my clothes are fitting.

In terms of worrying what I look like, of course this isn’t something that’s easy to shake off. One thing that’s helped me is posting photos on the blog, even if they’re not that flattering:

10_Apr11_5

For another example, see yesterday’s photo of me after I’d finished racing!

I’ve found the blog community a hugely positive influence in terms of helping me to reduce my anxiety around my diet. I know it’s very easy to compare yourself with other bloggers, but I try to focus on getting inspiration for yummy recipes and participating in discussions around tools such as Intuitive Eating. I’m certainly not saying that Intuitive Eating is for everyone, but some of the concepts have really helped me with the transition to maintaining my healthy body.

Exercise is probably the area where I’ve let go the most. I love exercise for the challenge, the feeling of being fit and strong and the mental release that it provides me with. I don’t connect exercise with calories any more, although I know that I need to fuel my workouts. I would struggle if I couldn’t exercise, but I don’t think that I’d be worried about weight gain … everyone else would be worried that I’d start bouncing off the walls!

Have you found the blog community a positive influence on you?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. waltersdaughter permalink
    August 2, 2011 4:49 pm

    Amos says, “Thank you for the plug, Aunty Sarah 🙂 “

  2. August 2, 2011 6:16 pm

    Hey there Sarah
    It’s really inspiring to hear of the change in your attitude and anxiety towards your weight. While if I’m honest, I would still like to lose another few pounds, I am trying to break away from the cycle of diet/weight gain/misery/diet and I am finding reading blogs that focus on healthy, enjoyable lifestyle changes rather than ‘the number on the scale’ really helpful. I’m also hoping my own blogging will help me examine some of my less healthy thought processes too.

  3. August 2, 2011 8:14 pm

    I think maintenance is so, so hard. For maybe four years I was either in an “I want to lose X amount of weight” mindset or a “bugger it I’m going to eat and eat and eat” mindset. It was finding food blogs a few years ago that showed me it is possible to maintain and be happy, and I think it definitely has had a positive influence on me, I also no longer connect exercise with calorie burn or punishment and I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be at this stage without healthy living blogs.
    I LOVE that Amos has a blog! I’ve bookmarked it 🙂

  4. Errign permalink
    August 2, 2011 8:16 pm

    I think the blog community can be SO positive and it really is for me, but for some, the more restrictive blogs are probably quite triggering!

  5. August 2, 2011 9:25 pm

    The challenge looks brilliant – I think I’m going to sign up – thank you for sharing it!
    I’ve found so much inspiration from bloggers, this post mentioning the challenge is a good example. I’ve also discovered Body Pump, which I love, and so many new foods – not just the food itself but inspiration about how to use it and how to be more creative… love it 🙂

  6. August 2, 2011 10:38 pm

    I can’t wait to follow the exploits of Amos. You are doing everything right in terms of maintaining and you have the key ingredient-motivation.

  7. August 3, 2011 8:50 am

    I’m completely with you on all of this, I’m maintaining a 60+ pound weight loss and the fear of gaining it all back is only just now starting to subside thanks to a lot of the positive influences of the blog world. The biggest turning point for me has been that after even the smallest indulgences I naturally feel the need to eat healthier stuff. I also agree about the exercise thing. I do need to relax a little with the scales although at the moment ironically I’m using them to make sure that I’m not losing any more weight. I can’t wait for the day when I can dump them all together!

  8. August 4, 2011 8:40 am

    I think blogging is really helping my own self confidence, and like you I have been feeling a little brave about posting pics of me (eg red face after a run). I think some blogs are a little misleading, but I tend not to read those ones (but I cant get them off my google reader so I still do occasionally) but generally I find all comments to be lovely and supportive.

  9. August 4, 2011 9:43 am

    Love your reflections. I find the blogging world a mixed bag. I took a break from the blog world last year because I was beginning to relapse into my ED ways. Whilst the break helped to some degree, it was my return to the blogging world that helped bring me more freedom with and pleasure from food. Does that make sense? I guess the positive and negatives from blogging partly depend on how fragile my state of mind is at the time. Overall though, I would say the blogging world is hugely positive… although I find it hard when I read other blogs and recognise ED symptoms (without the blogger necessarily having a full blown ED) and know that blogging could be making it worse for that person. Ok, I feel like I’m rambling on. I have so many thoughts on the matter, think I’m going to have to write a post about it! xxx

  10. August 4, 2011 3:00 pm

    I think the blogging world is very special because it unites people with the same passion and even though everybody lives far away, you still feel so close

Leave a Reply

