Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday IV

August 3, 2011

Happy What I Ate Wednesday everyone! Once again I’m delighted to join the party – I’m finding WIAW the perfect antidote to the mid-week blues.

WIAWbutton

I had a really snacky day yesterday, which is probably the 10k on Sunday catching up with me, so there might be a few bits and bobs that went into my mouth that don’t make it onto this week’s post (I’m having trouble remembering everything I ate!). I’m a lot more relaxed now about eating more on days that I’m extra hungry because I more aware of how my appetite ebbs and flows.

Breakfast

3Aug11_1

A superb “green” smoothie. I realise that most of my green smoothies aren’t green at all, but that’s because I love berries in them, which usually results in a strange purpley colour.

  • 1 frozen banana
  • frozen forest fruits (mostly blackcurrants because they’d sunk to the bottom of the packet)
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 50g oats soaked overnight
  • soya milk
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons pea protein isolate

Morning snack

Wholegrain thin rice cakes with Delphi red pepper hummus

Lunch

3Aug11_2

This is a new-to-me grain the I picked up from Wholefoods a while ago called farro, which is apparently spelt. I mixed it up with cherry tomatoes, cucumber and a chopped egg. I toped with lots of romaine lettuce.

3Aug11_3

Afternoon snacks

A handful of cashews and an apple at work and then some Montezuma Lordy Lordy chocolate and a few cherries when I got home.

I went to a local running club for the first time last night, so I knew that I had to be careful about what I snacked on before I went. I usually can’t eat much before I run, but I wanted to be well fuelled, so I ate a banana with a little bit of peanut butter about an hour before the run. It seemed to work out fine and I didn’t have any stomach problems.

I was really nervous about going to the running club – I was fearful that everyone would be really serious and would think that I was a slow coach. To make it worse I knew that last night’s session was a 5k time trial (talk about baptism of fire!). I think I was more nervous starting this race than starting either of my 10ks, which is very silly really. I didn’t wear my Garmin because I didn’t want to come across as too keen for my first time, so I had no idea how fast I was going. My legs felt like lead and I felt like I was going really slowly, but it turns out I managed it in 26:08 minutes! I was by no means the last in either – I even lapped a few people. Everyone was really friendly and very supportive of the slower people, so I thought it was a great atmosphere. They gave out sweets and chocolate afterwards, which is always a winner – I had a drumstick lolly.

image

Source

So, I’ll be going back again and joining the sub-55 min 10k training group – I can’t wait!

Dinner

I saw these veggie burgers in the heath food shop labelled as “the best burgers in the world”, so I knew I had to try them!

3Aug11_4

I served one of them with a big pile of veggies (courgette, cabbage, broccoli, runner beans) topped with nutritional yeast and a blob of ketchup.

3Aug11_5

It was pretty flavourful, but the texture was a bit crumbly. I reckon I could make better if I got my act together!

I’m off now to read what you’ve all been eating – have a great evening!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2011 6:08 pm

    Everytjin looks so good! I wish i could take a spoon to that smoothie right now!

  2. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    August 3, 2011 6:10 pm

    I just ordered some spelt in the mail and after seeing your salad, I’m glad I did! Your eats look great, girl 🙂

  3. August 3, 2011 7:34 pm

    Lots of yummy food there. I’m joining a running club as well in the next few weeks when work calms down a bit, huzzah!

  4. Errign permalink
    August 3, 2011 10:27 pm

    Yayyyy you went to running club 🙂

  5. August 4, 2011 12:25 am

    Another delicious Wednesday in the books! 🙂

  6. August 4, 2011 7:35 am

    Well done for going to the running club! That’s fab! I haven’t tried farro but I love wheat berries which I think are pretty similar, yum!

  7. August 4, 2011 8:07 am

    Nice work on the running club- I am sure everyone was nervous when they first joined so it is lovely that they are so supportive,. And fab time too.

  8. August 4, 2011 11:16 am

    I’ve tried farro once and loved it! Well done for joining the running club!! 🙂

  9. August 4, 2011 12:48 pm

    Well done for going to the running club! And for your super speedy 5km run. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Joinging new clubs are always so scary, but more often than not everyone turns out to be lovely don’t they. I love drumstick lollies too, yum!

  10. August 4, 2011 7:39 pm

    I bet you totally could make better burgers =) homemade is always more flavorful and we get to control our fav ingredients so its a total bonus! ❤ Happy WIAW sarah!!!! ❤ mwah!

Leave a Reply

