Skip to content

Birthday Wish List

August 4, 2011

Happy Thursday everyone and Happy Birthday to me! I turn 27 today (or 21+6 as I like to think of it). I thought it would be fun to do a wish list if money and space was no object.

I’d really like one of these:

image

Source

This is a Vitamix, but I’d love any decent blender. I get a little bit jealous every time I see other bloggers making fantastic nut butters and lovely smooth hummus. It costs a lot of ££s, but space is really the issue – my house has such a tiny kitchen with very little storage space. My house mate has a mini-blender and a smoothie maker that I can use, so it’s not all bad news

I was seriously considering asking for some Sweaty Betty stash for my birthday.

image

Source

I really love their workout gear and I’ve been lusting after some new running clothes and also some nice things to wear for yoga, but I’m not 100% sure that it’s worth the money when cheaper alternatives are available. Plus, I bought two pairs of running socks from there recently at £12 a pair, and they’ve both gone into holes within a few wears. That could be because of my very pointy big toes!

I would love to visit here:

image

One of my friends is working in New York for 18 months and this year I want to visit her before she comes back to the UK. I’ve never been across the Atlantic and one of Peter’s childhood friends lives in California, so I think we would both like to visit the US soon.

This is what I eventually asked for:

image

Source

A Kindle! I went and bought it yesterday (my parents gave me the money) and vowed not to open it until today. In the end I decided I would open the box up and charge it so that I could use it today. I love reading, but lately I’ve got out of the habit. I’m hoping that having a new toy will encourage me to get back into it and I’m going to aim to read two books this month. I need some inspiration though:

What books should I read? I’m after fiction and non-fiction. Lately I’ve had a thing for 20th century classics, but I’m open to anything.

What’s on your wish list at the moment?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 4, 2011 5:27 pm

    Happy birthday! 27 is a great age 🙂

    Hope you have an awesome day 😉

  2. August 4, 2011 5:57 pm

    Happy Birthday! A vita mix is definitely at the top of my wish list too, although I am chuffed to bits with my dehydrator! I’d love another holiday but to some where nice and sunny like Greece. I bought my fill of sweaty betty stuff when I was in Brighton so I can’t say I need any more work out clothes!

  3. August 4, 2011 6:39 pm

    Happy birthday! Sweaty Betty stuff is very lustworthy, but I’ve seen them selling things that are up to 0% cheaper elsewhere.

    I’ve got a kindle. It’s amazing since I live in a small flat with not very much room for more books. It’s also VERY dangerous because it is soooo easy to just think, ‘Hrm. I wonder if X book is on the kindle…. Oh! It is!’ *click download* And then you get the book right there right then. You can buy books in your sitting room, on the loo, in a coffee shop, on the train… AND START READING STRAIGHT AWAY.

    It’s brill for reading classics that you’ve always been meaning to read but never gotten around to because there are loads of free versions available. I’m telling myself in order to ‘pay’ for my kindle I have to download 100 and read them.

    As for authors if you haven’t read these already I recommend Hilary Mantel (though not A Greater Place of Safety unless you know a lot about revolutionary France. I had to give up on it), Kate Atkinson (her earlier works like Behind the Scenes at the Museum – which is partly set in York! – and Human Croquet are very very good her later stuff good but different), Jasper Fforde (especially the Thursday Next series), Louis de Bernieres’ south American trilogy which combines a gentle pastiche of magic realism with hard-hitting politics and social commentary, and a brilliant book set in the 16th century about the Reformation and Counter-Reformation called Q written by a collective of Italian authors called Luther Blisset. It is so much better than I’ve just made it out to be.

    I’ll stop now.

  4. August 4, 2011 7:08 pm

    Sending you a basket full of birthday wishes with stars to reach for, sunshine to bask under and rainbows to marvel at. HAPPY BIRTHDAY.

    Heehee, I sent hubby my birthday wish list, hoping he got it 😉

  5. August 4, 2011 7:21 pm

    Happy Birthday! I adore my Kindle – I’m getting back into reading too, I really enjoyed The Historian by Elizabeth Koskova, and also the Millenium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson 🙂

  6. August 4, 2011 8:48 pm

    Happy birthday: have a great one 🙂

    I’d love a Vitamix too: my blender dies even with frozen cherries.

    I’m so limited in my reading…I used to read widely but my PhD killed the urge for anything other than Stephen King novels or Discworld books…

    xxx

  7. August 4, 2011 9:21 pm

    Happy birthday!

    Have you read The Woman in White (Wilkie Collins)? It’s mid 19C but it’s a really good read. Mystery. I’ll also second Fifi’s Bernieres recommendation — really good trilogy.

  8. August 4, 2011 9:47 pm

    Happy Birthday! Hope you are having a wonderful day!

  9. August 5, 2011 1:37 am

    Happy birthday!! I hope you have an awesome day 🙂 I would LOVE a Vitamix! My mom just got an iPad and has been downloading lots of books on it. I’m reading The Help right now- it’s awesome!

  10. August 5, 2011 6:01 am

    Books I love: Jitterbug Perfume, The Time Travelers Wife, Born to Run.
    Things I want: A hotel room for the Disney Wine and Dine Half marathon and a plane ticket to my friend’s wedding in Sept.
    Sweaty Betty just started USA online shopping a couple of months ago. I haven’t tried any of their stuff.

  11. August 5, 2011 6:15 am

    Happy belated birthday Sarah! Hope you had a great day. And 27’s an awesome year. Books to recommend… hmmm, not sure. The one’s I’m reading for book club at mo aren’t great. I’ll let you know if inspiration strikes!

  12. August 5, 2011 8:37 am

    Happy birthday! Hope you had a fab day! Love the vegas new york pic too 🙂 You should totally go out there- not far from California 🙂

  13. August 5, 2011 9:09 am

    very happy birthday Sarah! 🙂 🙂

    It’s Mr DF’s birthday on 24th August and I have a kindle all ready to give to him and I’m jealous as sin as I want one! Couldn’t quite run to two….. 😦

    I could do with a new MP3 player as mine died some time ago and I’m making do with my little shuffle for now – which is brilliant for exercising, but not so great for laying out by the pool which I will be doing in a shade over 4 weeks’ time :p

    I want a spiraliser for the kitchen, have been lusting after one for ages 🙂

    and also a really decent cheese grater!! my needs are simple…..

    x

  14. August 5, 2011 10:01 am

    I’m dying to buy a vitamix. I think i should start saving up. Happy Birthday!!! I hope you have an amazing day! 🙂

  15. August 5, 2011 11:01 am

    Happy birthday!
    If anyone deserves all of those lovely treats it’s definitely you, lady!
    I hope you love your kindle, my dad has one and is never without it now and i love the app on my phone 😀
    If you’re looking for a good read i love “Room” by Emma Donoghue. It’s really gripping and you can download the first chapter for free to see if you like it.
    Have an amazing day 🙂

  16. August 5, 2011 11:46 am

    A belated Happy Birthday from me too!

    I’d love a blender, I only have one of those little hand ones and never make smoothies so always lust after the ones I see on everyone’s blogs!

    As for my real wish list – a book reader of some description would be pretty high up. It’s my fortieth this month though and my lovely family already bought me the item that was top of my list…a garden swing seat! It’s lovely and my fave thing is to curl up on it with a glass of wine and a good book.

    I’m also currently lusting after half the Superdry shop….well, a jacket, a gilet and some boots in particular!

    Rosex

  17. August 6, 2011 1:41 pm

    happy belated birthday. have you considered a magic bullet? I am considering getting one as heard some great things and is also compact http://www.jmldirect.com/Magic-Bullet-Pm4000/

Leave a Reply

