Skip to content

Birthday in Bullets

August 5, 2011

Thanks for all the happy birthday messages everyone – you guys are fantastic! It seems as though a Vitamix is near the top of a lot of people’s wish-lists and there were a few things that I hadn’t thought of – I’m now lusting after a spiraliser! Also, thanks for the book recommendations, they all sound like the sort of thing that I’d enjoy. At the moment I’m reading “The Hangman’s Daughter”, mainly because it was at the top of the Kindle chart and I hadn’t quite worked out the search function. It’s OK, but I can’t wait to dig in to some of your recommendations.

Earlier in the week Errign wrote about her day in a series of bullet points. I thought it was an awesome idea, so I’ve shamelessly ripped it off for my post today. So this is my birthday (yesterday) in bullets!

  • I got up at 6am and did the intermediate workout from Pilates Made Easy
  • Took delivery of my organic veg box. I got some chard, which I’ve never tried before, so I’m very excited about that.
  • Opened up my lovely cards and presents. I got a new workout top and some earrings from my parents and a selection of goodies from one of my friends, including this fantastic Egyptian rubber duck:

5Aug11_6

  • I had overnight oats for breakfast followed by some blog reading.
  • For some reason I then felt really motivated to change my bed linen and do some washing – not normal birthday activities!
  • I finally caught the bus to work at 8:15am and my new Kindle made it’s debut!
  • Typical day at work – no-one knew it was my birthday because I hate fuss and being the centre of attention … it was a little bit depressing though.
  • Despite the dreadful weather I was determined to buy myself a nice lunch. I walked to Pickles and Potter, a lovely deli, and bought a black olive tapenade and hummus wholemeal sandwich.

5Aug11_3

5Aug11_2

  • All my colleagues left for the day at 4pm, leaving me to watch the phones until 5pm (I should have told them it was my birthday!)
  • I got home at 5.30pm, had a quick snack of a banana with PB and then headed off to running club. I wore my new running top:

5Aug11_4

  • There was a choice of runs – I chose a 7 miler because that fits in best with my half marathon training plan (more on that to come). The coach said it was a flat route … she lied! We completed the run with a 9:10 min/mile average (really fast for me, especially with hills). I was a bit slower than some others in the group, but I didn’t feel like I was holding them up too much. I even managed to hold a conversation, although not while I was going up those big hills!
  • I got home at 8:30pm absolutely starving! I made myself a quick courgette omelette, served with veggies and giant wholewheat cous-cous

5Aug11_1

  • I was still starving, so I had some muesli and half an orange Conscious Bar.
  • Eventually crawled into bed at 10:45pm, a bit late considering I had a 5:30am wake-up call this morning to catch the train to Newcastle!

All-in-all a good day. I’m really going to celebrate my birthday this weekend in Cambridge. I’ve hopefully got a picnic and a meal out planned!

What’s the most bizarre present you’ve received? The Egyptian duck made me laugh – ducks are my favourite animal, so my friend knows me very well!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 4:49 pm

    Aww you should have told your colleagues! I bet they would have made a nice fuss 🙂
    My most unusual presents have been a hairbrush with a woman’s face on (hideous and scary!) from my boyfriend, and a tiara and fairy wings from people at work that i then had to wear all day!

  2. August 5, 2011 4:58 pm

    Aw you so should have told the people at work! I once was given a green shiny garden gnome, because I was saying about the people near me who have them in their front garden, and how I just didn’t get it. So now I have one too. Hmm.
    Sounds like a lovely but very busy day for you!

  3. Errign permalink
    August 5, 2011 7:48 pm

    Yays for bullet points, birthdays, delicious lunches & dinners, and running club. Are you enjoying the running club you’re going to? Mine has been great, which is a bit funny, as it’s not like we do a lot of talking or anything, but the company makes the time pass quickly.

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 5, 2011 7:55 pm

    I love this bullet point idea and was really excited when I saw i on Errign’s blog! I need to get on this bullet bandwagon!

    Glad you had a great birthday 🙂 Happy Friday!

  5. August 5, 2011 8:26 pm

    I have been tempted to join a running club but a bit scared. hope you had a nice birthday. i had to work on mine too

  6. August 5, 2011 8:33 pm

    Aww, that’s so sad about your colleagues at work! I can understand not wanting a fuss made but I can’t believe you were left to be the last one there on your birthday!

    Unusual presents…hmm, our family were always very boring and genreally gave money or vouchers, even when I was a kid! Cop out on all our parts really…my BEST ever present was my Sega Mega Drive though. I went gaga for it when I was 7, and if my Mum hadn’t made me come off after two hours I’d have played on it until my eyeballs exploded.

    xxx

  7. August 5, 2011 9:03 pm

    I wish you shared your birthday with your co-workers! You did get nice gifts! I would love a kindle!

  8. August 5, 2011 10:13 pm

    Aww sorry I wasn’t there to wish you a happy birthday, I only just got back!
    It looks like you had a lovely day though 🙂

  9. August 6, 2011 8:50 am

    yep, you should’ve slipped it in there somewhere with your work colleagues! birthdays are special 🙂

    I love the look of that deli cafe *goes a shade of green that’s envy* :p

  10. August 6, 2011 2:01 pm

    Shame you had to work on your birthday but it sounds like you had a wonderful day none the less! I always treat myself to the day off! That sandwich sounds absolutely delicious too. I got one of those ducks off my sis as a gift one year, it has pride of place in my bathroom 🙂

  11. August 6, 2011 4:38 pm

    Oooh like the look of pickles and potter, gonna have to search that out next time I’m in Leeds! Would you fancy a blogger lunch when I next go? I’m not sure when it will be but I like Leeds! I liked the bullet points btw I may also shamelessly rip it off hehe

Leave a Reply

