Skip to content

A Picnic and Backstreet Bistro

August 7, 2011

Hello – I hope everyone is having a fabulous weekend so far. I had a busy day yesterday, but I’m having a relaxing one today, so it all balances out. The only thing I wanted to achieve today was a 5.5 mile run and I managed to get that done and dusted before lunchtime. I took it very steady and just concentrated on enjoying being outside in the fresh air because I’ve been feeling a bit beaten up by the 7 miler I did with the running club on Thursday. Hopefully I will have recovered in time for an 8 miler next Thursday.

Yesterday was all about good food and good company – the best sort of day in my opinion. Peter and I met up with some friends to have a picnic on Trinity Backs in Cambridge.

002

008

I didn’t get any good photos of the picnic itself because strictly speaking they’re not allowed and we were told to “be discreet”. I mostly munched on pitta bread and hummus, as well as lots of strawberries and cherries, plus a few sweet treats.

011

These guys were very interested in what we were doing!

010

As a belated birthday celebration, Peter had booked a table at Backstreet Bistro in Cambridge. It really was in a residential backstreet as its name suggests, and even though it’s close to where Peter lives neither of us had any idea of its existence before now.

014

The food and service were both excellent, although the main courses were huge and both of us ended up leaving half our meals even though they were really tasty.

I started off with chilled beetroot soup, served with breadsticks:

016

Followed by a nut roast, served with seasonal vegetables and new potatoes:

017

For dessert I had the most delicious bowl of ice-cream. There were three flavours – vanilla, chocolate and raspberry cheesecake and I don’t think that I could choose my favourite:

020

As a really lovely finishing touch, a rose came with the bill:

034

What have you been up to this weekend?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2011 2:32 pm

    your hair looks so lovely in that photo, glad you had such a good time.
    Looks like a really nice day, i love picnics so much!
    I’ve never had a nut roast but i always see them everywhere, maybe i should try one next time 🙂

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 7, 2011 5:42 pm

    How cute that you received a rose with the bill! And that food looks delicious– especially the nut roast. It’s crazy how different the presentation of food is in the states!

  3. August 7, 2011 6:04 pm

    That meal looks lovely, I love the name of that place and the fact that its hidden away in the back streets. Glad you had a good time and got your run in!

  4. August 7, 2011 7:56 pm

    Whata lovely birthday dinner and you look so pretty!

  5. August 8, 2011 12:17 am

    Everything looks delicious! You look so pretty in the last picture, especially with the rose 🙂

  6. August 8, 2011 8:10 am

    Glad you had fun celebrating your birthday! The nut roast looks delicious.
    I’ve been meaning to tell you this, my boyfriend said he was reading the comments on one of my posts and thought your blog name was “every day hispanic” and now every time I see your name I can’t help but think that! hehe

  7. August 8, 2011 8:37 am

    looks really lovely 🙂

    I worked this weekend. nuff said 😦

  8. August 8, 2011 12:41 pm

    Ooh, that looks so nice! I had the yummiest beetroot gazpacho in Spain, really want to find a recipe for it. Yum!

  9. August 8, 2011 5:01 pm

    What a fun weekend! That looks so fun!

    I was busy turning 23! 🙂

Leave a Reply

