Skip to content

Rubbish at Recipes

August 8, 2011

Good evening and a happy Monday to everyone. I have to be honest, I’ve limped through today rather than bounced. I ended up going to bed ridiculously late last night, which always gets me off to a bad start on a Monday. I got home from Cambridge at about midnight and then I just couldn’t switch off. That could be something to do with the fact that I’d had a bit of a near-miss in my car on the way home and I’d also watched Inception just before leaving for home (my mind was whirring after that!)

Anyway, I managed to get through the day and I have been blessed with some good news about the injuries that I have been struggling with since the beginning of the year. I haven’t spoken too much about my injuries lately, so I’ll summarise if you’re catching up. Last summer I started experiencing pain in my right big toe and like an idiot I ignored the pain until it got really bad while I was on holiday in Cuba in January. I could hardly walk without being in agony, which is when I decided to see a podiatrist. I was diagnosed with sesamoiditis and iliotibial band syndrome (ITBS). Sesamoiditis is swelling around the sesamoid bone which is found at the base of your big toe. In my case it was caused by a fracture in the sesamoid bone – to this day I have no idea how I managed to fracture it! I was told not to do any impact exercise for about two months and I was prescribed orthotics to put in my shoes.

I also had problems with my lower back and pelvis caused by “wonky biomechanics” (the technical term!) and I’ve been seeing a chiropractor at the same clinic as my podiatrist. Today was my three monthly check-up with both of them. I have been a bit pessimistic about it because over the past week I’ve had some pain in my toe again after months of being pain-free and my ITB has been tight. However, it turns out the pain in my toe has been caused by a particularly nasty callus that I just need to file down and the pain should hopefully go!

The chiropractor was also pleased with my progress and encouraged me to continue stretching and massaging my ITB (which I have been a bit lax about doing lately). He messaged it really well today and the tightness completely went away. The only fly in the ointment is a new injury I’ve managed to acquire (doh!). My right collarbone has been really sore for a few months, mainly when I’m at my desk at work or driving. Apparently it’s an unusual injury (which my chiropractor was just a bit too happy about) – the muscle underneath my collarbone is injured. I’m going to try some self-treatment by icing three times daily and going back for treatment if it doesn’t get better.

So, I’ve managed to harp on at length about my injuries and you’re probably wondering when I’m going to refer to my post title. Well, when I got back last night this was waiting for me:

8Aug11_1

I had no idea that you can send a gift through Amazon and it comes all wrapped up – it’s so cool! My friend sent the Abel & Cole Cookbook to me for my birthday. I’ve had a flick through and there are some truly gorgeous-looking recipes that I can’t wait to try out … the only problem is that I’m really rubbish at following recipes. It’s not that I can’t, it’s just that I can’t be bothered. I’m the same with any type of instructions, which led to some very angry words between me and my Garmin when I first got it!

It seems such a shame – I have a shelf full of lovely cookbooks I don’t use and I continuously see recipes on blogs that I want to have a go at, but just never get round to. So, I’m setting myself a little challenge – this month I’m going to follow at least one new recipe a week. I’m going to extend the challenge to include creating one new recipe a week. The kitchen is one place where I feel able to express my creativity, but I get lazy! I have a new recipe up my sleeve for tonight, so if it works out I’ll share tomorrow.

… and you might know that I have a love/hate relationship with baked goods (love eating them, hate making them). I’m going to see if I can learn to love baking and commit to baking at least once this month.

Do you like following recipes? Have you got any good ones that you can suggest? (shameless plugging of your own recipes is encouraged!!)

Do you like baking and what do you like about it? I need all the encouragement I can get!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 6:32 pm

    Don’t like the sound of the “near-miss”!
    Glad you got back safely 🙂

  2. August 8, 2011 6:55 pm

    I find the easiest way of baking is to get Mr DF to do it….. :p x

  3. August 8, 2011 7:16 pm

    Sounds like a great challenge! I often use recipes but very rarely follow them exactly, as you say the kitchen is a great place to get creative and I almost always change up the ingredients or flavours to suit what my preference or what I have available. Hope your poor collar bone is ok!

  4. Errign permalink
    August 8, 2011 7:28 pm

    I don’t really like following recipes as I like to adapt them to whatever I like/don’t like about them, so I use them more for inspiration than anything else. I do love cooking and baking though, just not following rules. 🙂

  5. August 8, 2011 8:00 pm

    Glad you are ok after you trip home.
    I can follow a recipe but sometimes I get the order of things mixed up. I try baking but its a bit hit and miss for me 🙂

  6. August 8, 2011 8:46 pm

    I like to follow recipes. I am not that confident to just cook with the flow, I will adapt them though to get a rough idea.

  7. August 8, 2011 9:25 pm

    Good to hear that you are making positive progress with your injury!

  8. August 8, 2011 10:52 pm

    I am glad you are ok. That near miss sounded very scary.

  9. August 9, 2011 9:47 am

    I’m exactly the same with cookbooks! I have tons and like to read them in bed or in the bath to chill be out, but i never ever cook from them, haha!
    That probably explains why i usually cook the same 4 or 5 things over and over again because i can’t be bothered to get all the ingredients in to try anything else…
    Glad to hear your injuries are healing up, i hope the collarbone one gets better soon too 🙂

Leave a Reply

