Skip to content

Recipe Success and Training Plan

August 9, 2011

Hello! I hope everyone is well this evening and I really hope that everyone in the UK is safe and hasn’t been directly affected by the riots that have been going on in London and other cities. Apparently there were pockets of violence in Leeds last night, but nowhere near where I live or work thankfully. It feels very surreal that all this is going on, as well as the economic crisis, yet we just try to carry on living our daily lives.

On to brighter things … Yesterday I set myself a challenge to follow at least one new recipe and create one new recipe a week. I’ve been full of enthusiasm and I’ve already completed the challenge for this week! I’ll share with you the recipe I’ve tried out of the Abel & Cole Cookbook as part of What I Ate Wednesday tomorrow.

Last night I got creative and came up with this beauty:

 

Quinoa, chickpea and coconut curry

9Aug11_1 

Vegan and gluten-free, Serves 2

  • 70g quinoa
  • 120g drained tinned chickpeas (1/2 tin)
  • 1 small white onion, diced
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1/2 courgette, diced
  • handful of chard (stalks diced & leaves roughly shredded)
  • teaspoon thai green curry paste
  • 3 tablespoons coconut milk
  • approx. 250ml water

1. Sauté the onion in a little oil until translucent.

2. Add the quinoa, carrots, courgettes and chard stalks to the pan along with the water.

3. Cover the pan and simmer for about 10 minutes before adding the coconut milk, thai green curry paste, chickpeas and chard leaves.

4. Simmer until all the liquid disappears (usually about 10 minutes).

This was a real success and absolutely delicious. I’m quite bad at recreating recipes that I’ve created, so I’m glad that I’ve written this one down!

 

On to training … I mentioned last week that I’ve joined a running club in Leeds. I’ve been twice so far and really enjoyed it, although I’m definitely being pushed to work hard. I used to do loads of classes at the gym and I’ve missed the social contact while I’ve been running on my own. The other advantage is that I get to run on routes that I would never have found on my own.

There are a couple of things that I’m having to adapt to though. Firstly, the group meets at 7pm and over the past few months I’ve become a morning exerciser. I always used to exercise in the evening, but switching back has been strange. I feel a bit sluggish in the evening and I find fuelling correctly more of a struggle – I’m getting there though! Secondly, it’s more difficult to stick to a training plan because I’m not sure what each of the training sessions is going to be like.

I’m running the Peterborough half marathon on the 9th October, so I need to start building up my mileage now. Instead of planning out each individual training session, I’ve decided to stick to mileage targets each week. I’ve based the targets on a Running World training plan that I found on the internet and I’m being careful not to increase my weekly mileage by more than 10% at a time. I will do the two running club sessions and then two other runs that make up the mileage and also fill in any training gaps. For example, if I haven’t done any speed work that week I’ll do some intervals, but if I’ve had tough runs I’ll take it easier.

So, last week my mileage target was 19 miles, which looked like this:

Tuesday 5k time trial (say 3 miles)
Thursday 7 miles (fast & hilly)
Saturday 3.5 miles (very easy)
Sunday 5.5. miles (steady)

This week I aim to do 21 miles and I think that Thursday’s run will be about 8 miles.

What time of day do you usually exercise? Do you think that you could change?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 9, 2011 5:18 pm

    I exercise at a different time every day– which seems to work for me! I listen to my body and run when it tells me to run, yoga when it tells me to yoga, and sleep when it tells me to sleep 😉

    • August 9, 2011 5:20 pm

      I think that’s a really good way to go. I like to plan my workouts in to a certain extent around work, social life etc.

  2. August 9, 2011 5:33 pm

    Oooh that curry looks delicious 🙂 I find it impossible to exercise in the morning (but i wish i didn’t!)

  3. August 9, 2011 5:33 pm

    I exercise whenever I can squeeze it in – afternoon or evening work best for me. I like a nice leisurely breakfast on a weekend followed by a nice long run to clear the cobwebs though. The only time I dislike exercise is early in the morning just after I’ve woken up because it usually leaves me feeling ill, plus I hate getting up early!

  4. August 9, 2011 6:09 pm

    I am an evening exerciser, mainly because I used to go to spin all the time which was evenings and never got out of the habit. I always seem to make more excuses not to exercise in the morning, which is a bit backwards.
    Your runs last week looks ace, great work!

  5. August 9, 2011 6:20 pm

    I prefer to do both cardio and lifting mid-morning. Luckily I can do that, given that I’m a student and so in control of my schedule, but when I’m busy in termtime, I tend to leave it until the evening. To be honest I always used to think of myself as a morning person, but I think you can adapt to anything given time. I think for me it’s more the routine that matters, rather than the time of day. Oh, and I do love a run at the end of a difficult day sometimes to drain the stress and draw a line.

    Sounds like a good plan with the training. I think it’s tempting to stick to a programme like the letter of the law, but being adaptable like this means you’re more likely to get the most out of any given session and any given week. Good luck!

  6. August 9, 2011 6:31 pm

    I prefer to run in the evenings as I find it really hard to go first thing and work prevents me going middle of the day. I think it’s quite good for making the distinction between work and home, as well! Your curry looks great, too 🙂

  7. August 9, 2011 6:48 pm

    I much prefer to workout in the mornings as I feel my energy levels are much better then, plus I prefer to workout on an empty stomach! I would really hate to have to run so late in the day, especially when its warmer! That curry looks delicious!

  8. August 9, 2011 8:06 pm

    Your curry looks amazing. I prefer morning workouts to get it all done and out of the way. I tend to have more energy in the mornings too so I usually work at my best.

  9. August 9, 2011 11:08 pm

    I usually exercise during lunchtime, and sometimes in the AM. I like Am workouts because I feel so good the rest of the day!

  10. August 9, 2011 11:14 pm

    That looks like a lovely salad you created. I am glad you are not near the rioting. Please be extra careful though.

  11. August 10, 2011 4:14 am

    I prefer to exercise in the morning, but I’m such a bum! I didn’t end up going on my run til 11 this morning 🙂

    That’s so cool that you joined a running club! I want to, but I’m scared I’ll be the slowest. Not to mention I’m socially awkward…

    I’m glad to hear the riots aren’t near you. Stay safe!

Leave a Reply

