Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday–The Fifth Edition

August 10, 2011

Happy What I Ate Wednesday everyone!

WIAWbutton

I love this time of the week and I’m even more excited this week for some reason. I had some truly delicious eats yesterday that I’ve been looking forward to sharing with you and I also had a very tough, but fun running session.

 

Breakfast

Before I had my breakfast I did the intermediate workout from Pilates Made Easy. I’m doing really well at doing this workout at least three times a week and I can definitely see an improvement in my core strength and my posture. I’m still too scared to move on to the advanced workout just yet, but I have progressed by making some of the intermediate moves harder like is suggested in the book.

For breakfast I had the most luscious bowl of overnight oats that I’ve ever had!

10Aug11_1

I tried out a new method of making overnight oats that I’ve seen on a few other blogs which made it really thick and smooth. The coconut milk makes it taste just a little bit exotic and indulgent.

Mango, coconut and blueberry overnight oats

  • 50g oats
  • tablespoon chia seeds
  • 250ml milk (I used soya)
  • 3 tablespoons coconut milk
  • handful of dried mango
  • handful of blueberries
  • agave nectar

1. The night before, mix together the oats, chia seeds and 2/3 of the milk and microwave for 3 minutes, stirring halfway.

2. Add the rest of the milk, coconut milk and mango and let it go cool before covering and placing in the fridge overnight.

3. In the morning I added a little extra milk because the mixture had got super-thick and topped with blueberries and a little agave.

 

Snacks

10Aug11_3

I took this little lot with me to work to snack on during the day. In the bag is some Food Doctor savoury roasted soya beans. I’m completely addicted to them, so I have to portion them out, otherwise the whole packet would be gone! I had meetings all day yesterday and I didn’t get to have my morning snack until noon. That meant that I went 6 hours without food, which is unheard of for me and I was very very hungry when I finally did get the chance.

 

Lunch

Lunch was leftover quinoa, chickpea and coconut curry on a bed on lettuce and sliced cucumber.

10Aug11_2

The curry was delicious cold and made a really satisfying lunch.

 

Pre-run snack

10Aug11_4

I couldn’t decide what I wanted to eat before my run, so I had a bit of everything that I fancied – a banana, peanut butter, Dark Chocolate Dreams, and some raisins. It was great fuel, but I would probably leave out the Dark Chocolate Dreams next time because it was a bit rich.

Last night was coaching night at running club and we had a core conditioning class scheduled. However, the coach was on holiday, so we did hill sprints instead! Where I train is VERY hilly, so we had no problems finding hills to train on. I’m quite proud of how I did and I kept up with most of the group, although there was one really steep hill that almost defeated me and I had to slow to a shuffle (but I didn’t stop!). My backside was burning by the end, but I had a proper runner’s high. I didn’t wear my Garmin because I though we were doing core, but according to another runner we did 4.5 miles.

 

Dinner

Before I went to running club I prepared dinner for when I came back. It was my first attempt at following a recipe (I’ve pledged to follow one a week) and it worked out really well. I went for “Butternut and Borlotti Bean Stew” from the Abel & Cole Cookbook. I didn’t have any borlotti beans, so I subbed in haricot beans, which worked fine. I didn’t have any spinach either (shock!!), so I used chard instead. I needed some carbs after the run, so I served with a multigrain bagel.

10Aug11_5

After dinner I had a few blueberries with plain yoghurt and a spoonful of muesli which went unpictured (post-run munchies!!).

What do you snack on during the day? Sometimes I get in a snack rut and I would love some new ideas!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 7:48 pm

    I love bagels so much, I think I livedothem last term in uni.
    Your running club workouts always sound great and you always seem so happy about them! I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I’ve never tried overnight oats, but they could probably save me a lot of time in the morning so I need to!
    I snack on toast/bagels if I am at home, or hard boiled eggs, vanilla pumpkin munchy seeds (obsessed!!!),yogurts, veg/pitta sticks and houmous. I eat bars occasionally but don’t rely on them.

  2. August 10, 2011 9:29 pm

    i like to snack on dry cereal, nakd bars, yogurts and nuts have you tried the food doctor roasted bean mix? its amazing so so good.

  3. August 10, 2011 9:56 pm

    That breakfast looks like a bowl of heaven! I love chia seeds in porridge but have never tried proper overnight oats; might have to give it a go…
    I stick in ruts too; my current favourite snack is rice cakes with coconut butter and strawberry jam… so delicious but it’s lucky I can’t have them at work or I’d eat hundreds!

  4. August 10, 2011 10:27 pm

    fage is my fave! i could eat it for every meal of every day 🙂

    Sam @ fitness food & faith (giveaway today!)

  5. August 11, 2011 12:26 am

    I try to snack on fruit but usually end up with hummus and carrots or cheese and crackers.

  6. August 11, 2011 8:02 am

    Well done on your run! I tend to snack on a variety of things, fruit, veggie sticks with hummus, dip or nut butter, chia seed puddings, nakd bars etc. I’m loving rice cakes with tahini at the moment!

  7. August 11, 2011 2:07 pm

    Awesome run!! Your overnight oats looks so lovely and creamy. 🙂

  8. Errign permalink
    August 11, 2011 2:22 pm

    I like bars sometimes for snacks, veggies (carrots & cukes) sliced apple, popcorn (air popped), nut butter & rice cakes, etc.

    My running club is always freaking hilly. I die. haha.

  9. August 11, 2011 2:58 pm

    I like nakd bars, oatcakes with a little nut butter, or total greek yogurt with fruit – though am considering going dairy-free again due to stomach problems – how will I cope without the yogurt??? 😀

  10. August 11, 2011 10:47 pm

    I’ll seriously have one of everything!!!!!!! ahhhh I want it all! ❤ Hope you had a fab WIAW Sarah!

Leave a Reply

