Skip to content

The Giant Water Bottle Controversy

August 12, 2011

Hello – is everyone glad that it’s Friday? I certainly am and I’m looking forward to having a very chilled out weekend visiting my parents in Chester. I’ve not got any plans in particular, just lots of sofa time!

Thank you for all your comments on yesterday’s post about technology addiction. I’m glad I’m not the only one who can’t live without their laptop and phone. I’ve been doing well with my pledge so far – I only checked my phone during breaks at work instead of having it sat on my desk and I managed to turn my laptop of well before bedtime and I even read before going to sleep. I was very tempted to have a look at my phone when I woke up in the middle of the night, but I did resist.

Today I want to ask you a question – does this litre bottle of water look out of the ordinary to you?

12Aug11

I ask because my work colleagues seem to have a fixation with it. Yesterday morning I sat down at my desk and my colleague said to me:

“There’s something I’m been meaning to ask you for a while”

“Uh-oh” I thought, “This sounds ominous, what I have I done?” (I have a guilt complex, I always think I’ve done something wrong – that’s a whole other post)

“Is there a reason you drink out of that bottle – do you measure how much you drink or something” he said.

I went on to spend about 5 minutes justifying my choice of drinking receptacle and the reasons why I drink “so much”. It’s not the first time either – ever since I bought the bottle it’s been a source of fascination. It just seems weird to me. Yes, I eat some “strange” stuff, but that never gets commented on. The water bottle however gets it full throttle.

I used to buy ordinary bottles of water and then refill them until they wore out or I lost them. However, I realised that this was a big waste of money and bad for the environment seeing as I could easily get all my water for free out of the tap. I got a big bottle because I drink a lot. It’s really handy to take to meetings and to take with me when I’m travelling as well. When I’m at work I drink at least a litre, sometimes two litres, plus a (big) cup or two of herbal tea.

I’m the first to admit that it’s probably not necessary to drink that much, especially as I also drink more water and tea when I’m at home. Drinking a lot makes me feel comfortable, helps my concentration and prevents UTIs, plus I do lose a lot of fluid when I’m exercising (I’m definitely a Sweaty Betty).

One of the arguments my colleagues use is that I could “drown” by drinking too much water. I think they are talking about over-hydration or hyponatremia, which is when the normal balance of electrolytes in the body is pushed outside of safe limits by over-consumption of water. I don’t think that I drink that much, but I am careful to replace electrolytes when I’m exercising.

I suppose the wider point is that people think it’s OK to comment and challenge my personal habits and I then feel like I have to justify it. I think part of it is purely curiosity, which I can understand as a fellow nosy person. I also think that people know that should drink more, but haven’t managed to get into the habit, so feel the need to challenge me for drinking a lot.

Do you drink a lot of water?

Do other people comment or challenge you on your eating/drinking habits?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2011 4:16 pm

    Question 1: Yes
    Question 2: No, thank God.

  2. August 12, 2011 4:40 pm

    i drink a ton of water and always feel better when i do! it’s great to have a reusable water bottle with you at all times 🙂

    Sam @ fitness food & faith

  3. allthingswholesome permalink
    August 12, 2011 5:59 pm

    I am really bad, I go through stages of drinking alot and then barely anything except tea and coffee, I find it hard to drink water though i really dont like the taste of it, but I add some squash to it, but ive been gertting acidic burning when i do that recently so ive stopped drinking it. I really ought to drink more.

    I hope you are having a wonderful friday.
    Love Jess xxx

  4. August 12, 2011 9:04 pm

    They need to mind their own business!

  5. August 12, 2011 10:40 pm

    I drink so much! I didn’t really realise until a friend of mine said one evening she’d only had one cup of tea to drink that day and I couldn’t get my head round it! I get through so much tea, coffee and sugar-free squash it’s unbelievable!
    I know it is possible to drink so much water it’s really bad for you but I think that’s about eight litres a day… it sounds like you’re not drinking too much at all – and water and herbal tea’s a lot healthier than what I drink 🙂
    It does irritate me slightly when people pick out other people’s eating habits and make you feel like you should justify them – not good!

  6. August 13, 2011 3:01 am

    I have a big water bottle too (750ml one) which I take to work and often refill at lunch. I hate to buy water (say if I am out and about) as I think I get it free (well, nearly) from the tap and I like tap water. Some people say I drink a lot of water but I think as I talk all day at work I get a dry throat overwise, and also I do notice if I have not had enough. And things like hyponeutrimia are really for slow marathon runners (eg several hours of exercise and several litres of water). Most people at my work drink so much coffee, tea and squash, but never much water. I think naturally we are meant to drink it, and if you drink too much you just flush it out anyway.

  7. August 13, 2011 7:18 am

    I have a refillable water bottle that is like an extra limb to me. I think your definitely right, people challenge you to defend their own habits. I’m sooo fed up of defending what I eat/drink to my friends/strangers. Last night I got trash talked for about 10 minutes because I had a salad at nando’s instead of a burger, leave me alone!

  8. August 13, 2011 8:24 am

    I really need to get one of those bottles, they’re a great way of making sure you’re drinking properly! I completely know what you mean about people just feeling the need to make comments, I often get comments about what I eat and about why I exercise and it can get a bit irritating! Oh well, just be pleased that, at the end of the day, you’re being much healthier than them 😛

  9. August 13, 2011 10:01 am

    I don’t drink enough water at all, i think getting a reusable bottle would really help me! I hate justifying my choices to other people, i don’t see why i should have to when it makes me happy and doesn’t affect them!

  10. August 13, 2011 12:39 pm

    I drink a lot of water and have a very similar water bottle that I take almost every where with me. Your colleagues sound quite cheeky to be questioning you like that, but I find that when people do that its because they themselves probably feel they don’t drink enough and are projecting that issue on to you. I have people commenting on my eating choices all the time, but I’ve now learned to just let it go over my head!

  11. August 13, 2011 3:32 pm

    I have a waterbottle JUST like that and I am constantly refilling it! I’m just always so thirsty! People in my classes give me weird looks all.the.time. I just ignore it, even though it does get annoying. I agree with ^^ Laura, they’re just projecting their issues onto you.

  12. August 13, 2011 3:34 pm

    It’s a tricky one, the ol’ hydration problem. I think I have attendancy to drink too much water but you have to drink a helluva lot to actual get hyponatremia. I always a drink a minimum of 1.5l water per day (not including coffee etc). And I never go anywhere without a bottle of water.

    Yup, people comment on my eating habits. I pretty much always take a salad to work, and people often comment or ask questions about my diet. Also, sometimes I lack confidence so I don’t bother saying that I eat a predominantly vegan diet (and don’t have the time nor inclination to give my reasons), I just say I avoid meat! 🙂

  13. August 15, 2011 7:01 pm

    I drink quite a lot of water, I take my bobble bottle with me to work, and try and finish it by the time I go home. My bobble bottle gets quite a lot of attention as it has a filter on the inside, and quite a lot of people ask what it is!

Leave a Reply

