Skip to content

Weekend Recipes

August 14, 2011

Hello and a happy Sunday to everyone! I’ve had a very relaxing Sunday and I have spent some time updating the blog. I’ve added a new running page, which includes links to race recaps, updates on the Gold Challenge and my half marathon training. I’ve also updated my About Me page and my Blogroll. I’ve found so many fantastic new blogs over the past month or so, but don’t forget to let me know if there’s another one that you think I should check out.

My day started out with a 5.5 mile run at 9:09 min/mile average pace. I didn’t set out to do a particular pace and I just started running steadily at what felt like a comfortable and sustainable pace. I didn’t look at my Garmin a lot while I was running, so I was pleasantly surprised that I managed to go so fast. I think my running club training has made me faster in just two weeks. I think a big part of it is that running with a faster group has shown me what I’m capable of. Plus, running on relatively flat terrain in Cheshire feels so much easier than the torturous hills in Leeds … 9:09 on the Cheshire Plain feels like a walk in the park!

I’ve had some delicious food this weekend, so I thought I would share a breakfast, lunch and dinner recipe with you.

Apple pie porridge

13Aug11_1

Serves 1

  • 50g jumbo oats
  • 1 apple, grated
  • tablespoon of raisins
  • 300 ml liquid (I used approx. 200ml milk, 100ml water)
  • teaspoon cinnamon
  • tablespoon milled flaxseed

I put all the ingredients, except the flaxseed, into a pan on a medium heat. I used a bit more liquid than usual because of the volume created by the apple and I cooked it for about 10 minutes to make it really creamy. I then stirred in the flaxseed before serving. Considering the relatively small amount of oats used, the bowl was really full and I found it very satisfying.

Barley & chickpea salad with balsamic dressing

 (4)

Serves 1 (hungry person) – vegan

  • 50g barley, cooked and cooled
  • 100g tinned chickpeas, drained
  • 1 salad tomato, diced
  • 1/4 cucumber, diced
  • 2 tablespoons sweetcorn
  • handful of spinach
  • teaspoon olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
  • salt & pepper to season

I simply put all the ingredients, apart from the spinach, in a large bowl and mixed them all up. I left it for 10 minutes for all the flavours to meld together. I then just piled it up on top of the spinach. It tasted so fresh and summery. Barley is one of my all time favourite salad ingredients, it provides a really interesting chewy texture.

Dad’s vegetable curry

My Dad makes the best vegetable curry. Every time I go to visit my parents I make a special request for him to make it for me. He uses a different recipe every time, but this is how he made last night’s curry and it tasted really good!

 (10)

Serves 4 – vegan, gluten free

  • small onion, diced
  • small potato
  • 1 cup butternut squash
  • 1/2 cup celery
  • 2 small field mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 10 dates, chopped
  • tin chopped tomatoes
  • 2 teaspoons creamed coconut
  • 10 cardamom pods
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder
  • teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander powder

1. Fry the onion in a little oil until translucent.

2. Chop the other vegetables up roughly and add them and the other ingredients to the pan.

3. Simmer on the hob for approximately 45 mins, stirring occasionally. You might need to add more liquid.

My Dad then leaves the curry to stand for at least 2 hours before reheating. It also tastes great the day after!

Have you eaten any good food this weekend?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 5:27 pm

    I love your running page: it’s so lovely to read other people’s inspiring stories and you’re making such wonderful progress 🙂

    I have tried a few of Laura’s (Keeping Healthy) recipes this week-end and, unsurprisingly, they have all been brilliant so far. I love the chia pudding and raw sesame squares to bits.

    xxx

  2. August 14, 2011 5:29 pm

    Everything looks delicious, but that porridge looks AMAZING!! I will definitely be making that soon 🙂

    I’m off to read your updated pages. I love reading people’s running stories and race recaps. I’m excited!

  3. August 14, 2011 6:50 pm

    I love that you added the running link. That is such a big part of who you are and what you do that it is so generous of you to share that. As always all your food looks so healthy and delicious!

  4. August 14, 2011 7:55 pm

    That salad looks lush, I have some pearl barley but wasn’t sure what to do with it. I may give that salad ago as the weather is defintly still salad weather. I had my favourite goats cheese and fig relish sandwich for lunch which is my favourite sandwich combination

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 14, 2011 8:28 pm

    This is the post of my dreams! 3 recipes!? You’re awesome, Sarah 😉

    Also, I checked out the running page and am loving it! I’m starting to finally get organized with the pages on my blog too.. haha

  6. Errign permalink
    August 14, 2011 8:46 pm

    I love how much curry is eaten in England, etc. Here it’s not nearly as popular, so I usually make my own. I actually just bought some curry powder today at Whole Foods to make a curry tofu scramble yum!

  7. August 14, 2011 9:11 pm

    That salad and curry both look so yummy! 🙂 I didn’t eat much this weekend but feeling inspired to have curry this week from this post. Thanks for including me on the blogroll too – really appreciate it 🙂

  8. August 14, 2011 10:13 pm

    That salad looks yummy! I never think to have tinned pulses uncooked like that, but if I am at a salad bar or something I would always choose them. Weird. I need to remember that!

  9. August 15, 2011 1:16 am

    You just reminded me it’s been too long since I’ve last had oatmeal. Sweet ones, at least. The last time I had oatmeal it was with ground pork and century eggs. Totally different from yours, haha!

    Interesting that your dad lets the curry stand for a couple hours before. The flavors really must intensify. It sounds super delicious!

  10. August 15, 2011 10:10 am

    That curry looks absolutely gorgeous! I had some lovely wraps yesterday, so yummy!

  11. August 16, 2011 3:33 pm

    I am such a curry addict! I love anything spicy and had a great curry over the weekend. And thanks for adding me to your blogroll! Much appreciated, and it reminds me to update mine! x

  12. August 16, 2011 3:33 pm

    PS Sorry I went overboard with the exclamation marks in that comment.

Leave a Reply

