Skip to content

The Blogging Time Warp

August 16, 2011

Good evening friends! I hope your week has been going well so far. Nothing too exciting has happened to me, but I’ve got another work trip up to Newcastle tomorrow – it’s good to have a change of scenery. When I go up to Newcastle I usually only see the train station, the Metro and the suburb where my office is, which is a real shame. One time when I travel up I’m going to give myself an extra hour or two to check out the city a bit.

Time seems to be flying by, especially since August has had a very autumnal feel about it so far. Over the past few weeks I’ve hardly been out of the house without my jacket (or a raincoat!) on – brrr!

They say that time starts to go faster as you get older, but it’s starting to get ridiculous. Specifically, time has started to whiz past since I started the blog in January. I call this phenomenon “The Blogging Time Warp”.

image

Source

I have really enjoyed writing about my life and I’ve finally found a way in which I can liberate my creativity that was buried a bit deeper inside me than I would have liked. However, there’s something about posting everyday and discussing my daily triumphs, trials and tribulations that’s making my life accelerate.

I realised all this when I was writing my Seven Links post. I was looking back at posts I’d written in April and photos I’d taken during the dark days of winter and it felt like it was just last week. I love blogging and I hope to carry on for many years to come, but this recent revelation has taught me that sometimes I just need to stop … breathe … and appreciate what I’ve got.

On a lighter note, last night I spent a good long time pottering about in the kitchen experimenting with a couple of recipes from my new Leon: Naturally Fast Food and Appetite for Reduction cookbooks.

This plate took me an hour to put together because there were so many different parts, but each component was very quick and simple to make.

16Aug11_1

Leon’s runner beans with tomatoes, tapenade and garlic sauce, and baked sweet potato chips, Cauldron Cumberland veggie sausages and green veggies all smothered with easy breezy cheezy sauce from Appetite for Reduction.

I got loads of runner beans and tomatoes in my organic veg box this week, so the Leon recipe was perfect and very simple the make. I boiled the beans and then stirred in a little tapenade. The tomatoes, garlic and some more tapenade were cooked for about 10 minutes to make a sauce.

The easy breezy cheezy sauce was also very easy – just nutritional yeast, flour, water, turmeric, stock powder and mustard cooked gently on the hob for 20 minutes. Mine turned out very thick, so perhaps next time I would add more water. The turmeric gave a brilliant bright yellow colour which made me happy.

All in all, a delicious, satisfying and nutritious meal and a lot of fun to make!

Have you experienced the blogging time warp?

Do you like to spend time preparing food, even if it’s just for yourself?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 5:27 pm

    Time does seem to fly by and I think it’s great that you have an appreciation of that and are able to step back and realize all that is good. I love to prepare food and it usually is for myself but I do love to cook for others too

  2. August 16, 2011 6:29 pm

    I do know what you mean, I have to say one of the things I love is being able to look back at what I was up to a few months ago -it does make it seem like the time has flown but its fun to remember things in so much detail. You will definitely have to spend more time in Newcastle, I love my home city!

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 16, 2011 7:58 pm

    I know exactly what you mean about life seemingly going faster when you have daily posts to write and a blogosphere to keep up with!

    Definitely a huge time warp, but I still do consider my blog a blessing 🙂 It’s my little baby!

  4. August 16, 2011 8:15 pm

    I am terrible with food if I am by myself in the evening, doing cheese on toast is pushing the boat out but I love to cook for the 2 of us or more (but hubby does a WAY better job so he does it most the time).

    SKILL: I can burn toast in a pop-up-toaster ….. well ok it WAS about 25 odd years ago & the pop-up mechanism gave up the ghost 😉

  5. August 16, 2011 8:50 pm

    I hope you are enjoying the Leon book! 🙂
    This food looks lovely. I know what you mean about time warps – I’m not sure it is about blogging in particular, but I spend a lot of time thinking about the future and I’ve resolved to live more in the moment from now on.

  6. Errign permalink
    August 16, 2011 8:51 pm

    I love to spend time preparing food, especially for myself. I know I am a good cook, but the satisfaction of experimenting with new ingredients and new dishes is just so fun!

    I can’t believe I’ve been blogging as long as I have, and it’s crazy to look back on posts that I feel like JUST happened.

  7. August 16, 2011 9:02 pm

    Those are some really astute observations. I actually find that blogging has the opposite effect: I have a really poor short-term memory and years can often slip by without me recalling much about them at all, where as with a blog I have some kind of reassurance that things did actually happen! I have to remind myself of things so often! Plus, it’s weird to look back at older posts and see how tone/style evolves and changes. It’s scary to realise how much you can alter as a person and as a blogger in just a year.

    That cheesey sauce looks yummy: I think the book would be worth the money just for that alone!

    xxx

  8. August 17, 2011 1:23 am

    Some days I really like to spend a lot of time in the kitchen, but I’m always so hungry that sometimes I just want to eat as soon as possible! I prefer to spend more time cooking for other people- it’s so rewarding!

  9. Rob permalink
    August 17, 2011 7:13 am

    Yes I love spending time preparing food but never if its just for me. If the family are away I never cook. A few weeks ago I had 2 nights on my own and had my tea at the gym both evenings!

  10. August 17, 2011 8:13 am

    Time is flying on past! In fact, it was just last night that I said that to Tom. However, I put it down to getting older rather than blogging since they say the older you get the more time flies by! Or maybe it is blogging…

  11. August 17, 2011 8:17 am

    it’s a scientific fact I believe that time does go faster as you get older……..

    and when you are doing something you really enjoy it speeds up even more! :p

    the main thing I think I like from blogging is the fact that my ‘diary’ is so easily accessible; I can refer back to things so quickly. Even if I’m not sure when it was posted I can type a few letters into the search box and hey presto!

    🙂 x

  12. August 17, 2011 9:16 am

    I hate it when it comes to winter weather I just love the summer. I know what you mean about time flying by, from bring ill my moto is to live each day like its your last. time goes far to quickly. Where did you get nutritional yeast from? I have been trying to find it in town but haven’t been able to find it in my local holland and barrat.

    • August 18, 2011 4:20 pm

      Both my local health food shops sell it, but I’ve never looked for it in H&B. I’m sure you’d be able to get it on the internet

  13. August 17, 2011 1:58 pm

    I definitely agree with you about the time warp, i can’t believe how quick the last few months have gone by when i look back.
    Your dinner looks delicious, i really want to check out that cook book 🙂

Leave a Reply

