Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday VI

August 17, 2011

Good evening and a happy What I Ate Wednesday to you all! I love this time of the week – posting my eats and nosing on what everyone else has been munching on.

WIAWbutton

As usual these are my eats for yesterday.

Breakfast

17Aug11_1

I’m really into my smoothies at the moment and I’ve had one for my breakfast three mornings in a row. Don’t worry – my beloved oats haven’t felt too left out as you’ll see later on.

In this green monster went:

  • frozen banana
  • frozen strawberries
  • spinach
  • oat milk
  • pea protein isolate
  • hemp seeds

Topped with some delicious Dorset super high fibre muesli.

Morning snack

17Aug11_2

Lettuce and mixed sprouts, topped with some low-fat cottage cheese.

Lunch

17Aug11_3

I’m also just discovering the pleasures of leftovers for lunch. This was left over runner beans, cabbage and courgette mixed with tomato, tapenade and garlic sauce and then topped with sweet potato chips and mixed beans.

So filling and satisfying!

Afternoon snack

17Aug11_4

A sweet and crunchy pink lady apple with cashews and pale-skin peanuts

Pre-training snack

17Aug11_5

Rocket fuel a.k.a porridge made with oat milk and water, with raisins, strawberries and mixed nut butter.

We had a short running session last night because we’ve got a 9 miler on Thursday. We played some games, mainly involving sprints and hills. Although I only ran a total of 3 miles I have serious DOMS today! I’ve been doing yoga like crazy trying to stretch out my hamstrings before tomorrow night.

Dinner

17August11_6

A quick and easy meal. I chopped up all the veggies and cooked the millet before I left for training, so it only took me 15 minutes to prepare this when I got home.

Omelette and vegetable stir-fry

Serves 1 (hungry person)

  • 1 large duck egg
  • 1 carrot, cut into batons
  • 1/2 large courgette, cut into batons
  • 3 large cabbage leaves, shredded
  • 3 closed cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 heaped teaspoon of peanut flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon honey
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • soy sauce
  • pinch chilli powder

1. Beat the egg and then pour into a large pan. The omelette should be very thin and only needs 1 minute to cook.

2. Remove the omelette from the pan and cut into strips

3. Stir-fry the vegetables, add peanut flour sauce (peanut flour, soy sauce, honey, chilli powder & water)

4. Add the omelette strips about 3 minutes before the end to warm through.

 

Do you like leftovers for lunch? Do you eat them cold? Call me strange, but I love cold leftovers and I can never be bothered to trek to the staff canteen to warm them up.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 6:35 pm

    I love leftovers. It’s such a great way to be frugal and save time. Also I think leftovers taste much better the next day after all of the flavours have had a chance to mingle. 🙂

  2. August 17, 2011 6:50 pm

    Two of my favourite things came togethet in this post; leftovers, and egg in stirfrys. It takes the simple stir fry to a whole new level of deliciousness!

    And leftovers are just so awesome, i think everything tastes nicer the next day (and it’s even nicer if you slap the leftovers on a sandwich…)

    Happy WIAW!

  3. August 17, 2011 7:27 pm

    3 miles of hills and sprints is not a small amount of running!

    I happily eat cold leftovers, though I do prefer them at room temp (rather than straight out of the fridge) — the taste is better.

  4. Errign permalink
    August 17, 2011 7:55 pm

    I do love me some leftovers. I’ll eat them cold or hot usually depending on my mood 🙂 Love DOMS 🙂

  5. August 17, 2011 8:13 pm

    Leftovers for lunch make the work day much better in my opinion! I really like cold stir fry, but most stuff I heat up.
    Hope your doms is gone for the 9miler tomorrow!

  6. August 17, 2011 8:14 pm

    i love cold leftovers!! especially cold sweet potatoes – yum! great eats 🙂

    Sam @ fitness food & faith

  7. August 17, 2011 9:16 pm

    I’m not usually a leftovers person unless the meal has been exceptionally good, but if I do have them then I’d rather they were cold, because at leas then I get to experience a slightly different flavour/taste/texture combination than when heated up.

    Your oatmeal snack looks particularly appealing right now 🙂

    xxx

  8. August 17, 2011 11:33 pm

    IF I have food left, I love eating leftovers the next day! Big if! I am impressed how healthy and delicious all your food is

  9. August 18, 2011 1:36 am

    Leftovers for lunch is the best! Requires almost no effort 🙂 Even better when it involves sweet potatoes!

  10. Rob permalink
    August 18, 2011 7:21 am

    Oh yes to leftovers. I often feel leftovers taste better than they did when first cooked – probably that the individual flavours marry and blend together more. I think that’s particularly true of curries, stews, chillis etc.

    Who do you run with on Tuesday nights? Is it a club?

    • August 18, 2011 9:07 am

      I run with the pudsey pacers on tues and weds. I’ve been going for 2 wks and so far so good. I’m still very sore from the sprints though!

  11. August 18, 2011 7:23 am

    I love cold leftovers! I tend to have mine the next evening rather than for lunch, your mix of things sounds yummy! Your running club sounds like so much fun, hope the 9 miler goes well 🙂

  12. August 18, 2011 12:00 pm

    Cold leftovers rock. They’re perfect and economical. I think cold pizza would be my favourite leftover.

  13. August 19, 2011 1:54 am

    I LOVE cold sweet potatoes in my leftover lunches 🙂

Leave a Reply

