Skip to content

The Mystery of the Incredible Shrinking Clothes

August 18, 2011

Happy Thursday – I hope you’ve all had a good one! My work day has been quite busy and I’ve got an active evening coming up with a 9 mile run a bit later on. My legs are still quite sore, so I can’t say that I’m exactly looking forward it, but I’m sure that it will be rewarding when I finish!

I had a lovely surprise when I got home this afternoon.

18Aug11_2

Peter sent me some red roses. I think every girl loves getting flowers and these brought a real smile to my face.

There’s been a mystery going on in my wardrobe recently – all my clothes seem to be shrinking. It’s been happening quite gradually and is really puzzling. I decided that the problem needed some further investigation. Is my washing machine to blame? No, it can’t be that – my housemate’s clothes are all OK. Is someone playing a trick on me like in “The Twits” where someone messes around with his walking stick? After much sleuthing I deduced that it the most likely explanation is a bit too much chocolate and bowls of yoghurt and muesli.

Maintaining weight loss is a real balancing act I when I feel the pinch on my waistline I know that I have to do something about it. Not anything drastic, because I believe that the basis of my everyday diet is very healthy and I just want my clothes to fit a little looser – I definitely don’t want to have to buy a whole new wardrobe! My downfall recently has been evening snacking, so if I can crack that I don’t think I’ll go far wrong.

Random question – what’s your favourite Roald Dahl story? I’m a huge fan of Matilda myself.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2011 5:26 pm

    The Minpins!

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 18, 2011 5:46 pm

    Peter’s a keeper! Roses (pink ones especially) are definitely the way to win me over 🙂

    And don’t worry about gaining a little extra weight! Naturally as humans we are inclined to have fluctuations. You will probably lose it with little effort, Sarah!

  3. August 18, 2011 6:09 pm

    Fantastic Mr Fox was my favourite! I also liked The Witches, and I never, ever took sweets from anyone offering me them after that…I didn’t even trust my parents sometimes! The Twits actually made me very sad in places: I couldn’t listen to some parts of the story, where animals were getting hurt in various ways. I LOVED the end though, so happy that those vile…err, Twits, got their comeuppance.

    Hmm, my clothes must be shrinking too 😛 What upsets me is the complete feeling of powerlessness I have to do anything about it: any attempt to cut back just seems to lead to me eating even more in the long run because I get so exhuasted by the end of the day that I just go through piles of stuff without even thinking. I’m sure you’ll get back on track though: you have tonnes more willpower than me!

    xxx

  4. August 18, 2011 6:57 pm

    Ah the flowers are beautiful 🙂

  5. August 18, 2011 7:39 pm

    PS, I bought jamming sugar. 1kg berries + 1kg of that sugar melt in a pot chuck in a knob of butter boil & stir for 10 minutes, job done. Sterilising the jars = wash in hot clean soapy water then upside-down onto a tray into an oven (about 150degC) until totally dry. Let jam sit off the heat for about 10 minutes, scoop off any scum, then into the still hot jars (top jam with a circle of grease proof/wax paper I think they call it) seal very tight with lid & label.
    tadaaaaaa 🙂

  6. August 18, 2011 8:11 pm

    OMG at the jam-making above. I’m so jealous! I wish I had a garden or an allotment *sigh*

    My favourite Roald Dahl would be James and the Giant Peach or The Witches. I adored his stories as a child even if I found them a little frightening or disturbing. I loved his use of metaphors and language. I can remember snatches today like how George’s grandmother had a mout all puckered like a dog’s bottom!

  7. Errign permalink
    August 18, 2011 9:14 pm

    Ooohhhh Roald Dahl. Love him. I actually have 2 cookbooks (children’s cookbooks really) based off of recipes from his books. I should start doing a blog series on them!

  8. August 18, 2011 11:29 pm

    What a wonderful surprise to come home to! Gorgeous flowers!

  9. August 19, 2011 4:25 am

    Oooh, beautiful roses 🙂

    I just went through my drawers recently and had to donate a bunch of clothes that shrunk- or rather, that I outgrew :/ My washing machine has actually been shrinking my clothes recently though, which is so annoying! I already have a really long torso so most of my shirts are too short, and now all my running tops expose my midriff!

  10. August 19, 2011 7:52 am

    sorry, I’m an Enid Blyton girl through and through….. 😉

    as for the shrinking clothes and the tricky art of maintaining – welcome to my world :p

    I have only recently gotten rid of my ‘bigger’ clothes. I now have no backups at all. What an incentive to stay on track!

    x

  11. August 19, 2011 8:33 am

    I think that my problems are very similar to you. I’m eating very healthy stuff but just a little too much of it…might be time to go back to having the graze box every OTHER week!

    As for Roald Dahl, my favourite is definitely Danny Champion of the World! I still read it every now and then now and you’ve made me realise that my youngest is probably old enough to have it as a bedtime story now (just as soon as we’ve finished the Enchanted Wood series….)

    Rosexx

  12. August 19, 2011 8:46 am

    Its the BFG for me, love Roald Dahl! Those roses are lovely, what a sweet fella you have!

  13. August 19, 2011 1:34 pm

    Oh those flowers are beautiful 🙂

    And I have to agree with you on Matillda 🙂 x

  14. August 19, 2011 9:46 pm

    Oh bless him, what a sweetie! Lovely random things like that are the best 🙂
    The second bit of this post really made me laugh, I love the “sleuthing” reference! I think you’re right; just cutting down a tiny bit will sort it… and favourite Roald Dahl? So hard to choose… maybe Going Solo – brilliant book!

  15. August 20, 2011 8:42 am

    Aw that is so sweet, lucky you!
    Snacking is definitely my downfall too, especially when I had my exams, still need to lose those couple of extra pounds!
    Definitely with you for Matilda 🙂

  16. August 20, 2011 12:03 pm

    Aww very sweet! I think I would have to say the BFG I even went dressed as Sophie with a cardboard bfg and papier mache snozzcumber to my schools book fair day when I was tiny haha

Trackbacks

  1. Have You Lost Weight? « Every Day's a Picnic
  2. A Step Forwards or a Step Back? « Every Day's a Picnic

Leave a Reply

