Skip to content

Lazy Days

August 22, 2011

Hello! Monday is here again with its dogged inevitability. I hope you’ve had a good one. I’ve had quite a busy day at work, which made home time come quickly, which is usually a good thing.

I had a very lazy day yesterday, featuring some of my favourite activities: running, eating, food shopping and watching TV. It was one of those days when bedtime comes around before you know it and you’re not too sure what you’ve done. I enjoyed doing not very much though!

I got up early to see Peter off and had breakfast, but then I crept back into bed for an hour (shhh … don’t tell anyone!). My day really got started mid-morning with a 6 mile run. I’ve got used to the less than fantastic British summer weather we’ve been having, so I headed out in my capris and a full T-shirt, but it was actually very very warm. I also failed to put sunscreen on, which was really silly considering my skin is practically translucent. I think I got away with it though – the T-shirt protected my shoulders and chest and my face hasn’t burnt, just grown some more freckles. Don’t worry, I’ve learned from my lucky escape.

I planned to do a circular route that I thought might be about the right distance, but I’d never done it before. The first 2 miles from my house was completely uphill, and a fairly steep one at that. The next mile was up and down and I confess that I walked up the final hill. It seemed that the sun came out every time I was going up and went behind a cloud when I was heading down! When I got to the 3 mile mark I realised that my planned route might be a bit long and I didn’t want to stay out any longer in the heat. I turned around and went back the way I came – which was nearly all downhill. I had great fun building up some speed – weeeee! I did the 6 miles in 57:39, which is an average of 9:36, which I was very pleased with considering the massive amounts of uphill and I walked for at least 3 or 4 minutes without stopping my Garmin.

While I was at the supermarket I succumbed to another DVD boxset.

image 

Source

I’m a total DVD boxset addict and I particularly like a good period drama. I saw Downton Abbey when it was on TV, but I can watch that sort of thing over and over again. Over the past 15 years I’ve owned several copies of Pride & Prejudice because I kept wearing the VHS/DVD out! My boxset habit can get expensive sometimes, but I try to never pay full price unless I really really want it.

For dinner I made another recipe from Appetite for Reduction, so I’m on track for my one recipe a week challenge. I made the Sun-dried Tomato & Walnut Dressing and mixed it up with some cannellini beans and spring onions and put it on top of a humungous salad of shredded lettuce, sliced plum tomatoes, mixed sprouts and sweetcorn.

22Aug11_1

The dressing was yummy and so easy to make, but I ended up picking out the spring onions. They weren’t in the recipe, but I had some in my organic veggie box that needed using up. I’m just not that keen on them, but I still have loads to use – any suggestions?

Do you like running on hilly routes? It’s unavoidable where I live, but my half marathon in October is completely flat.

Are you a boxset addict, or do you spend your money on more sensible things like I should?!

Have a great week everyone xxx

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Errign permalink
    August 22, 2011 5:17 pm

    I went through a phase in high school that I bought a DVD almost every day haha,

    I don’t necessarily LIKE hilly routes, but they’re totally unavoidable both here & home so I adjust!

  2. August 22, 2011 5:48 pm

    I don’t really buy DVD’s anymore but I have been known to frequent netflix! That looks like a fabulous salad! Very healthy too

  3. August 22, 2011 6:21 pm

    Boxsets all the way.

  4. August 22, 2011 7:58 pm

    I’d seriously check out your local parkrun. What else are you doing at 9am on a Saturday? 😉

  5. August 22, 2011 8:42 pm

    I have only been running on the flat so far lol. I will brave hills soon. how long have you been running for ?

    • August 22, 2011 9:03 pm

      I’ve been running since april. I stuck to the flat for the first couple of months, but that’s very limited where I live. Hills are ok – just take it slow to start with!

  6. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 22, 2011 8:43 pm

    Don’t worry Sarah– we’re all guilty of creeping back into bed for a little extra shut eye 😉

    As for the spring onions, try using them on top of a creamy soup or a baked/sweet potato topping!

  7. August 22, 2011 9:14 pm

    What I lack in box set addiction my hubby more than makes up for …. he even buys the kids box sets “for them”!!!!!!!!!

    Great to hear the blackberries are ripening, soooo yummy fresh/baked/jammed 😉 enjoy.

  8. August 22, 2011 10:23 pm

    That salad looks gorgeous! I need to get that cookbook I love the PPK books! I like spring onions in stir frys, takes the edge off them a bit!

  9. August 23, 2011 6:36 am

    I loved Downton Abbey. I can’t wait for the new series. 🙂

  10. August 23, 2011 7:20 am

    I must try out that dressing it sounds lovely. I have a particular hilly route that I sometimes run but I’ll be avoiding hills for a while until my knee improves as hills really aggravate it!

  11. August 23, 2011 7:31 am

    Hills are good. Hills are our friends. They make us stronger.

    Which is quite useful really as we live at about the highest point in Leeds – so almost any route from home means the return will finish with a good mile of uphill running.

  12. August 23, 2011 8:51 am

    Total box set addict, I get completely sucked in! Especially at uni, we watch sooo many of them.
    I think spring onions are better if they are cooked down quite a bit, in a stir fry or pasta sauce.

Leave a Reply

