Skip to content

This Time It’s Different …

August 23, 2011

Ahoy! I had a colleague who used to start every e-mail with “Ahoy!” … he was a twit, but I’m running low on blog greetings Winking smile I hope you’ve all had a fantastic day! Mine has been OK, but since lunch I’ve had really painful trapped wind (sorry about the TMI), the sort where you feel like you’ve blown up to twice your normal size. I’ve taken medication now, so I’m very much hoping that there’ll be room for the delicious dinner I’ve got planned.

Last week I wrote about “The Mystery of the Incredible Shrinking Clothes”, or in other words I would like my waistbands to fit a little less snuggly than they do at the moment. It got me thinking about the changes that we decide to make to our lives to benefit our health, well-being and self-confidence, and what triggers us to make those changes.

I only want to lose a few inches over the next couple of months, but back in August 2008 my task was much bigger and much more daunting (I was about 50 pounds overweight). But I didn’t get that heavy overnight – the weight crept on over several years and I’d been unhappy about my weight and my appearance for a while. So what made me get up one morning and go to my local Weight Watchers meeting?

It wasn’t something that I was planning to do. I worked shifts at the time and I happened to be on a late shift starting at 1pm. When I got up in the morning I started surfing the internet and found myself on the Weight Watchers website. I found out that there was a meeting locally at 10am that morning, so I just grabbed my stuff and went. No big decision, no agonising, I just did it.

Deciding to lose weight, gain weight, stop smoking, start exercising, or whatever it is you want to do to get healthier is just the first step. Considering I joined WW on an impulse, how come I managed to lose that 50 pounds and still be (mostly) maintaining three years later? Well, once I’d made the decision to lose weight I just knew … this time it’s different. I was prepared to put the effort in and be dedicated to make the lifestyle changes necessary.

Similarly, I’d been saying that I wanted to run outside for several years before I did it. I even went on a few runs, but I just didn’t catch the bug – I thought that I wasn’t a runner and should just stick to the gym and classes. When I decided to start running in February I knew that this time it was different – I was going to stick to it. Even when I got injured just a couple of runs in, I knew that I was going to get back to the pavements as soon as I got over it.

On a smaller scale, my decision to lose a few pounds now feels like a “this time it’s different” moment. I can’t describe why, but I have a sense of determination and commitment.

Have you had any “this time it’s different” moments?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2011 8:00 pm

    I think you are right- a lot of the time I think people are prone to thinking things through too much, and sometimes you do just to just do it. With me I always wished I could run, but thought I was just one of those people not built for it. When I decided for myself to run the 5k race for life, I was determined to stick to the plan- I was going to stop after the race but by then I actually found I loved it. Took me a couple of months of training to enjoy it, it was not an instant thing. Before then I had had a few times of running on the treadmill at the gym and things, but never seriously and never enjoying it.

  2. August 23, 2011 9:20 pm

    Yes defintly for me it was entering recovery from anorexia. I had been in hospital before and I never wanted to get better but the last time I came out I had fighting spirit in me that I couldn’t change my past but I can shape my own future.

  3. August 24, 2011 12:30 am

    I think the bottom line is motivation. One must be motivated enough to want to lose the weight or run or stop smoking and you certainly were!

  4. August 24, 2011 3:14 am

    i did a post back in the winter about having my clothes become to small and the issues that brings up. it was my trigger but also my driving force to find acceptance and move past it in whatever way possible. you have a wonderful well of knowledge and i am in love with this post ❤ thank you so much for sharing!

    xoxo

  5. August 24, 2011 9:05 am

    I have had a few of those moments, the best one being when I decided on the spur of the moment 6 weeks prior to the event to run my first marathon. Sadly none since though!

    I think sometimes our mind just ‘clicks’ and things fall into place naturally: trying to force things just makes that ‘time’ like all the previous ones. Err, that was a nonsensical ramble, sorry! Your post did trigger some deep thoughts for me, I just can’t seem to get them onto the darn page…

    xxx

  6. August 30, 2011 7:21 pm

    I had the same thing when I entered the Race for Life in February. I’ve done charity races in the past and never stuck with the running – and I will admit to not making brilliant progress – but I am still out there doing it and it did seem to click into place more clearly this time. I totally empathise!

Leave a Reply

