Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday VII

August 24, 2011

Good evening and welcome to another What I Ate Wednesday!

WIAWbutton

As usual, these are actually my eats from yesterday. I was up bright and early to get in a 4 mile run, so I started the day with a few dates as a quick source of energy. Tuesday is usually running group day, but it wasn’t on last night, so I did my own interval workout in the morning instead. I warmed up at a steady pace for the first mile, and then I did sets of 1 minute fast pace followed by 2 minutes moderate pace for just over 2 miles, before running home at a moderate pace. My overall average pace was 9:10 min/mile and I felt strong and happy for the whole run – those endorphins were rushing through my blood by the time I got home Smile

Breakfast

I’ve had a smoothie for breakfast every weekday for a couple of weeks now and I love it! I might revert back to hot breakfasts in the winter though because they are a bit chilly.

24Aug11_1

Decadent cherry smoothie

  • 1 cup frozen cherries
  • frozen banana
  • handful of spinach
  • 1 cup milk (I used Kara coconut milk)
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons pea protein powder
  • tablespoon milled flaxseed
  • teaspoon carob powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon agave nectar

I served it topped with my favourite Dorset Super High Fibre Muesli – I’m addicted!

Carob is a new-to-me ingredient. To me it provides a richer, earthier taste than chocolate and works perfectly in smoothies. I added some agave for sweetness because of the slight bitter edge to the carob, but to be honest I could have done without it. A truly decadent breakfast to start the day!

Lunch

24Aug11_2

Under this salad I mixed together some quinoa and chopped chestnuts. I topped with shredded lettuce, cucumber slices, sliced mushrooms, sunflower seeds and cherry balsamic dressing (bought from Wholefoods).

Dinner

I’ve really been loving the fresh fruit available at the moment – plums in particular are in plentiful supply at the moment and are deliciously sweet and juicy. I’ve eaten plum sauce in Chinese restaurants, so I decided to throw some plums into my stir-fry.

24Aug11_3

Tofu, vegetable & plum stir-fry

Serves 1 (hungry person)

  • 1/2 block tofu, drained and pressed, and cut into squares
  • 1 carrot, cut into batons
  • 1/2 courgette, cut into batons
  • 6 broccoli florets
  • 5 closed cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 yellow pepper, sliced
  • 3 plums, sliced
  • soya sauce
  • agave nectar

I served my stir-fry with some soba noodles. The plums made a really fresh addition and brought a delightful sweet zing to my usual stir-fry combo.

Snacks

I didn’t take any pics of my snacks yesterday, but they were:

  • a couple of rice cakes with hummus
  • a nectarine
  • some Food Doctor roasted soya beans
  • sliced apple with mixed nut butter and cinnamon
  • a little more muesli with milk before bed (to satisfy that sweet craving)

Do you like smoothies? – What’s your favourite flavour combo at the moment?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 6:46 pm

    I think I’m probably the smoothie queen! I love green smoothies and could easily eat them every day! What an original idea to add plums to a stir fry too. Glad you had a good run 🙂

  2. August 24, 2011 7:19 pm

    I am not really keen on smoothies, I prefer to eat the fruit in its whole form. Plums in a stir fry sounds great. I love buckwheat noodles prefer them to wholewheat ones

  3. Charlotte Katherine permalink
    August 24, 2011 7:51 pm

    I love the plum idea, they are so cheap at the moment at my greengrocers, I think its 6 for a £1 so I might have to test that stirfry out.

  4. August 24, 2011 8:34 pm

    Is the Pope a Catholic? I love smoothies! I could definitely eat smoothies for every meal in the summer (although Laura is indeed the smoothie Queen. I would call myself the smoothie Princess but that implies beauty and elegance. I know! I am the smoothie Ugly Sister hehe). I agree that I’ll probably need something warmer come winter though, possibly involving pumpkin.

    I’m loving cherries and carob too, and I completely agree with your evaluation of it. Frozen nectarines and banana make a lovely combo too, as does mango/banana/carob: because mangoes and bananas are so sweet, the carob bitternes has the edge taken off it.

    Such a clever concept with the stir-fry: I love it 🙂

    xxx

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 24, 2011 9:03 pm

    I love that you incorporated plums into your dinner! Same with carob, I’ve never actually tried it but I love the idea of putting it in a smoothie!

    I’m definitely a smoothie lover, especially in the summer.

  6. August 24, 2011 9:31 pm

    I love carob powder too- a little more sweet that cocoa, kind of smoky or something too.
    i like tropical smoothies at the moment- have even managed to find a few proper smoothie places (not those horrible ones in plastic tanks with the whirly thing inside). Yesterday I had one with strawberries and peaches and it was amazing- love peaches.

  7. August 24, 2011 9:33 pm

    Cherries in smoothies are the best! I used to always use frozen strawberries, but I found them to be seriously lacking in flavor for some reason- they just tasted really watery. Cherries and chocolate = smoothie heaven!!

  8. August 24, 2011 9:51 pm

    That stir fry looks really really good!

  9. August 25, 2011 7:04 am

    Frozen cherries in smoothies are my favourite but none of the supermarkets around me sell them! Very annoying. My favourite is choc soy milk, frozen cherries and a banana.

  10. Bronagh permalink
    August 25, 2011 9:04 am

    Love the idea of using plums in your stirfry! They’re so cheap in the shops at the moment so I’ll definitely be trying them in my next stirfry dinner (which will probably be very soon seeing as I loooove me a good stirfry!)

  11. August 25, 2011 9:10 am

    I’m in love with smoothies. I love how you can switch them up using diferent combination of flavours so you can never get bored. Love the plums in the stirfy too.

Leave a Reply

