Skip to content

A Few of My Favourite Things

August 25, 2011

Hello – is everyone having a fabulous Thursday? I’m just getting ready to go on my first off-run run with my running club. It’s been raining today, so it might be a bit muddy, but that’s probably half the fun! It’s a route that I’ve walked before and it’s very pretty, so I’m looking forward to it. It’s only 6 miles, so I’ll have to do my long run on my own at the weekend instead – I’ve got 10 miles planned, which is quite scary.

I thought I’d give you the opportunity for you to get to know me better, so I’m going to share a few of my favourite things. I like raindrops of roses and whiskers on kittens well enough, but mine are a bit different.

Favourite fruit

22Feb11_5

I love melon with a passion, and cantaloupe is a particular favourite. I don’t eat it all that often, because I like to keep it as a treat. That sounds weird, but I love it so much that I don’t want to get fed up of it.

When I was at uni I was on a field trip and sharing a room with one of my friends. In the morning she was giggling to herself and when I asked her why she said that she woke up in the night and I was making a funny chewing noise. She asked me what I was doing and in my sleep I said “I’m eating melon, mmmm … melon”. You see, I really like it!

Favourite vegetable

OK, tough one – I love vegetables and I like to eat a wide variety but the winner is …

image

Source

Broccoli is so versatile – I love eating it just simply steamed, stir-fried, with pesto, with a tomato sauce, with cheese, roasted …

Favourite chocolate

Another difficult one. I think it has to be a dark chocolate, and it’s probably one of the Montezuma ones. I going to plump for Lordy Lord.

20Jul11_6

The cocoa nibs give the most glorious taste and texture and the chocolate is smooth. I’ve just realised that I don’t have any chocolate in the house at the moment – I’m going to have to fix that!

Favourite grain

Hmm … not strictly a grain, but I’m going to have to say quinoa.

008

I love it served like this, simply with peas and sweetcorn. I regularly eat it in salads and as a side dish. I know it freaks some people out, but I love how the little tail separates, it’s kinds cool.

Favourite legume

Definitely chickpeas – so versatile with an amazing taste and texture. Best of all it can be made into delicious hummus – yum!

image

Source

 

Talking of chickpeas, I used them in a new recipe last night. I saw this recipe for Tofu Tahini Scramble on Choosing Raw. I had all the ingredients in my cupboard or fridge and it really appealed to me. I was also able to make it in 15 minutes flat – winner!

My photographs are nowhere near as pretty as Gena’s, but it still tasted gorgeous and packed full of protein.

25Aug11_1

I served mine on top of a huge pile of red cabbage … yummy Smile

 

What are some of your favourite things?

What’s the best recipe you’ve found on a blog recently?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 25, 2011 4:55 pm

    Have fun with your running club 🙂

    And I’m a huge broccoli fan too– there’s just so much to do with it!

  2. August 25, 2011 5:40 pm

    This is such a fun set of facts 😀

    Fruit: apples! Particularly Jazz.

    Vegetable: Peas. Always and forever. Good old, unpretentious, Birds Eye frozen peas.

    Chocolate: Lindtt 90% dark, no question.

    Grain: I’m with you on the quinoa, even though it’s a seed. So nutty and flavourful. I have been loving paella rice too, but that’s not so healthy!

    Legume: Chickpeas too! They seem easier on my stomach than other legumes. I love your photography and think your version of the recipe looks extremely photogenic!

    Best recipe for me = Laura @ Box, Run, Eat’s Vegan Paella. Twas scrummy.

    And you’re becoming a ‘real’ runner now lol, because you used the word ‘only’ directly prior to ‘6 miles’ 😉

    xxx

  3. Errign permalink
    August 25, 2011 5:49 pm

    Favorite things currently = text messages from boys, peanut butter, getting to buy groceries when I come home and sleeping/

  4. August 25, 2011 6:08 pm

    My favourite things are green smoothies with a passion, nut butters, strawberries, melon, dark chocolate and my dehydrator. I’m with you on the broccoli, chick peas and quinoa too.
    That tofu scramble looks wonderful. I really have to give that a go soon. 🙂

  5. August 25, 2011 6:14 pm

    Hope your run with the club goes well. I’ve never run with a club before – too scared I would’t keep up (which lets be honest is a REAL life FACT!) Would love a report back on what its like to run with a club vs solo.

  6. August 25, 2011 6:48 pm

    My favourite legume is butter beans! Yum yum. Favourite fruit is strawbs in season, and favourite veg is………..maybe butternut squash? I can’t choose. Ahhh.

    Have lots of fun on your run! I imagine a muddy run would be quite fun!

  7. August 25, 2011 6:55 pm

    I have that recipe book marked too, it sounds delicious! I use my evernote account to keep track of recipes from blogs – a recent one includes peanut butter and jam energy balls that I can’t wait to recreate!

  8. August 25, 2011 8:41 pm

    Was good to learn some amusing stories about you. I saw a recipe for a granola peanut butter whivh I really want to make on sweettooth runners blog. I love chickpeas too.

  9. August 25, 2011 11:17 pm

    I thought I was the only one that loved broccoli!

  10. August 26, 2011 1:50 am

    I’ve always wanted to join a running club! Hope it was fun and you stayed dry:)

  11. August 26, 2011 3:42 am

    I am so rubbish at making decisions that mine change all the time! For now, fave fruit is watermelon, But it could easily be apples, pineapples, pears, strawberries, mango…
    Fave veg must be peppers (can they count as a veg?)- I have them with anything and everything!
    Fave pulse is kidney bean for sure. And fave grain would be oats, although I love quinoa too.
    🙂

  12. August 26, 2011 12:28 pm

    I laughed out loud at your sleep talking melon eating! Cantelope is my favourite too… my dog pinched my last melon off the counter and ate half of it lol

  13. August 26, 2011 6:15 pm

    I’m with you on the chickpeas, love them! Not so much the melon and I’m weird about broccoli, I prefer it raw instead of cooked! Nice photos 🙂

  14. August 26, 2011 10:55 pm

    Broccoli is definitely my favourite vegetable; I don’t think I’ve cooked a dinner without it for years and I eat SO much! I’m not so keen on quinoa though; it’s something about the way the tails remind me of tadpoles… 🙂
    Some of my favourite things are coconut butter, red pepper pesto, yoghurt and raspberries but there are so many!

  15. August 27, 2011 12:40 am

    I love broccoli too! I was never a fan of it until I started roasting it. It’s the best that way! I can eat pounds and pound of it at a time 🙂

  16. August 30, 2011 7:26 pm

    I love chickpeas too – especially as houmous! Yum!
    My favourite fruit has to be strawberries, so yummy and good in everything from breakfast to champagne 😉

Leave a Reply

