Skip to content

Health Food Shops See Me Coming

August 27, 2011

Hello! I hope you are all having a brilliant weekend. It’s an extra long one in England and an extra, extra long one for me because I’m off next week Smile The weather is a bit crazy at the moment – I think they call it “sunny spells with showers”, but I’m going to enjoy being off work whatever the weather.

When I left you on Thursday I was getting ready to go on my first off-road run. I had really good fun! It was organised by my running club and there was a mixture of abilities there, which worked out well because I was able to find my own pace without feeling like I had to keep to to anyone, because I’m never going to be able to keep up with someone who can run a 10k in under 40 minutes! It was also lovely to run a relatively flat route because the club runs are usually incredibly hilly. On the easy bits I comfortably maintained a 9 min/mile-ish pace and I didn’t stall too much on the rougher ground. If I do more off-road running I will have to invest in some trail shoes because my feet were not happy running over stones, especially since I’m still recovering from a foot injury. We covered just over 5.5 miles in the end.

I did another easy 4.5 miles this morning with an average pace of 9.17 min/mile, which included a walking break. Running in Cambridge feels blissful because it is so flat … I’m sure I’d miss the hills if I moved here permanently?!

Apart from the run, the only notable thing I did today was pay a visit to my favourite health food shop – Arjuna. I’m a danger let loose in a health food shop and I ended up spending more than I intended. I always pick up loads of stuff and then walk back around putting things back that I can’t justify buying.

This is the haul I ended up with:

27Aug11_1 

Some snacky things:

27Aug11_2

I couldn’t resist the mixed quinoa, even though I have a nearly full pack of quinoa at home! And I adore these oat cakes, although they’re very moreish.

27Aug11_3

(Excuse computery stuff in the background – it’s everywhere at Peter’s house)

I picked up some other random stuff while I was there, including some Celestial tea that my housemate highly recommended. It’s caffeine-free and doesn’t contain liquorice.

27Aug11_4 

As soon as I got home I cracked open the Ginger ale.

27Aug11_5

This was the perfect summer drink, even though it’s not very summery outside. I love ginger ale – it’s perfect with a drop of vodka in as well Winking smile

I ate one of the tofu burgers for my lunch with a side of salad and an Amisa crispbread with some hummus.

27Aug11_6

The rest of the day is going to include catching up on blog-stuff, watching the new Doctor Who and some more chilling. Tomorrow I hope to reach double figure on my run (eek!) … I’ll let you know how that goes.

Can you resist the lure of health food shops?

What are you up to this weekend?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Charlotte Katherine permalink
    August 27, 2011 4:45 pm

    I get so excited about health stores! I go to my local three at least once a week although usually i leave my purse at home otherwise its a disaster but im off to london on thursday so I think ill treat myself to a £15 spend in whole foods!

    I really want to try a cliff bar they look yummy, as does your dinner!

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 27, 2011 4:46 pm

    Your new header and layout look awesome! 🙂

    No I cannot resist the lure of health food shops– they get me every time. I go into one and come out with 3x the things on my grocery list!

  3. August 27, 2011 4:58 pm

    I love the look of that spelt pasta, does it taste pretty much like wholewheat?
    Love the new header too 😀

    • August 27, 2011 5:26 pm

      I’ve not tried it yet! I think spelt is just a variety of wheat, so I imagine it tastes pretty similar – I’ll let you know!

  4. August 27, 2011 6:35 pm

    Your running is really coming along well done you:) I’m a nightmare in health food shops too, I just see so many things that I fancy I try and limit myself to one new thing and the rest are staples but is hard lol.

  5. August 27, 2011 7:03 pm

    Ginger ale + spiced rum is also very nice, one of my favourites! I did some damage at the granary the other day, it’s just sooo easy to buy stuff at health food shops. Good luck on your double digit run tomorrow! I hope it doesn’t rain for you. I moved from very hilly Wales to Chester, and I definitely do not miss the hills!

  6. August 28, 2011 7:37 am

    Ha, no I really can’t help myself with health food shops either, but I am getting better at not just buying everything in site! I wish I had some very flat routes for running near me, even the smallest inclines are giving my injured knee jip!

  7. August 28, 2011 8:43 am

    I have to steer clear of health food stores, but I can still spend a large portion of my shopping time in the free from section of Tescos 😉

  8. August 28, 2011 12:01 pm

    You sound like me when I get into Whole Foods! Enjoy your time off!

  9. August 28, 2011 1:49 pm

    Ha ha I am terrible! In Welwyn there is Natural Health, and also a Holland and Barrett, so often I get things in both. I go for baking things (different flours, rice syrup, things like that), snack bars, bags of nuts and dates, chocolate, non dairy milks….. We do not have enough space for it all!

  10. August 28, 2011 2:11 pm

    I’m awful at resisting health food shops! I love all of the stuff in there and if I had the money I’d try everything in sight! Unfortunately I don’t so I have to restrain myself from going in there too often 😛
    Looks like you made some great buys!

  11. August 28, 2011 3:04 pm

    I’m that bad in health food shops too! It’s terrible; I have to try and steer clear or I’d be bankrupt 🙂
    I’m off next week too, I’ll think of you when I’m not setting the alarm!

  12. August 28, 2011 4:32 pm

    I used to have the most amazing health food shop 2mins from my house! I miss being able to shop there every day but it saves me a lot of money haha

  13. August 30, 2011 7:41 pm

    I love health food shops, it’s dangerous! Funnily I am not in Cambridge at the moment and really missing the flat – my injury does not like the hills 😦 Enjoy your week off!

  14. September 2, 2011 8:26 pm

    I know what you mean with health food shops! I’m exactly the same! I nearly bought that pasta the other day, I wish I had now!

Leave a Reply

