Skip to content

Double Digits

August 28, 2011

Hello! I hope everyone is having fun this weekend. I’ve spent a lot of time on the sofa so far, but that’s the sign of a good weekend sometimes. I think we’re venturing a bit further afield later on to go to see “One Day” at the cinema. It’s had some mixed reviews and I know that the movie is never as good as the book, but I’m looking forward to it all the same. It’s over a year since I read the book, so I hope that I can appreciate the film and not compare it too much to the book.

This morning I set out with some trepidation on my first double digit run. My longest run previously was just under 9 miles and I managed that fairly easily, but something about hitting 10 miles made me quite nervous. As usual, I ate some porridge about three hours before starting out, but I decided that it would be wise to take some dates with me to make sure that I was fuelled up throughout the run. This was the first time I’ve ever eaten mid-run, so I stopped and ate a couple of dates at 6 miles and 8.5 miles rather than trying to eat them on the go.

I’m glad I did take them because I was feeling hungry from about 5 miles onwards. I never feel hungry when I run or do aerobic exercise, so it was a weird feeling. I guess I was going at a steadier pace than my other runs lately, so that might have been why. I purposefully slowed myself to about 9.40 min/miles from the beginning because I didn’t want to flake out. When I did the 9 miles I went faster than that, but I had the rest of the running group with me to keep me going.

All-in-all reaching double figures was a success and I feel confident that I’ve got the extra 3.1 miles in me to be able to finish the half marathon. When I got home I replaced some electrolytes with one of these in a pint of water.

28Aug11_1

And took the edge of my hunger with a Clif Bar.

28Aug11_2

Pizza sounded good to me, so I ordered a “Mediterranean” from a local gourmet pizza take-out before jumping in the shower. While I was waiting for it to arrive I throw together a quick salad to go with it.

28Aug11_3 

This was my ideal pizza – a thin and crispy base and not too much cheese. The sauce was nicely salty and the vegetables really flavoursome, which is what I needed after the run. I also had a couple of Amisa crispbreads with hummus. I haven’t felt this hungry since I first started to run, but I’m trying to make smart choices and assess whether I’m really hungry before eating anything. So far, so good, apart from one bourbon biscuit that somehow jumped into my mouth Smile

Do you get hungrier than usual after exercise and what do you fill up on?

Enjoy the rest of the weekend everyone!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Charlotte Katherine permalink
    August 28, 2011 4:21 pm

    Where do you get those zero low cal tablets from – cherry and orange sounds like a nice flavour!

    I’m hopefully going to see one day this week as well, i’m scared it wont live up to the book – especially since I only read it last week!

  2. August 28, 2011 5:03 pm

    That pizza looks so yummy! Well done on your first double digit run 🙂

  3. August 28, 2011 7:50 pm

    Strangely, with very long runs my appetite is suppressed sometimes, it comes back with gusto on rest day’s though! Well done on reaching double digits, that’s awesome! That pizza looks fab 🙂

  4. August 28, 2011 7:53 pm

    Excellent work on the double digits! For me about 8-10 miles leaves me very hungry after, but then as I got higher and higher I would not feel hungry at all, but then later in the day (as I did it on a saturday) I would get a major energy crash, so I tried to eat more than I felt like, to avoid the crash, but it was hard. Or I would get to dinner time and suddenly feel starving and so be desperate for loads. It is tricky.
    I had to practise eating while running too- it is hard, but as I was going at a slow pace it was not too bad. My fave snack was a nakd cocoa orange, for some reason it was the easiest to eat and settled in my stomach well. I did like nakd raisins too for something sweet and a sugar boost.
    I know what you mean about the numbers seeming daunting, but when I started out I read a thing that said to not get fixated on the numbers. If you ran km instead of miles you would have passed double digits and the next milestone would be 20k (so 12ish miles)- just build up and you can get to those milestones- 🙂

  5. August 28, 2011 10:55 pm

    Whoop well done on your fantastic run! Only slightly jealous 😛
    That pizza looks delicious 🙂
    For me it depends on the exercise and the intensity. Aften full-on strength training I like to drink something like a smoothie but after cardio I’m usually not that hungry. Having said that occasionally after cardio I get super shakey and need to to eat something sharpish!

  6. August 29, 2011 3:51 am

    YAY for a double digit run!! Congratulations! There’s something really daunting about running in the double digits, but it’s also fun at the same time 🙂

    I just tried that flavor Clif Bar yesterday and I loved it! I brought a mini version with me on my run and devoured it in about one bite. So good!

  7. August 29, 2011 3:36 pm

    People are always split into two camps regardling prolonged periods of cardiovascular exertion, particularly running: those that lose their appetite (as cardio can actually be an appetite suppressant: http://www.iparentmagazine.com/iParenthood/NewsforParentsFamilies/HealthFitness/HealthFitnessArticleViewer/tabid/152/ArticleId/2759/Cardio-an-effective-appetite-suppressant.aspx) and those that get REALLY hungry straight afterwards. As I can’t distinguish between emotional and physical hunger, I’m not sure which camp I fall into.

    I think for most a giant Green Monster does the trick though, and provides great rehydrating fuel too.

    Congratulations on the run: you’ll ace the half no trouble.

    xxx

  8. August 29, 2011 6:47 pm

    Hey, congrats on the personal record! Right now I average about 5-6 miles, but I’m hoping to do my first half next spring. Good idea bringing dates to snack on. I’ll have to try it!

  9. August 29, 2011 7:57 pm

    well done on the long run thats fab. I am planning to hit 5 miles on my next run. It’s such a great buzz when you feel your endurance improving. Have you ever tried energy gels? their really easy to carry, and do have immediate glucose released. also easy to digest.

  10. August 29, 2011 8:11 pm

    I’m so with you on the less-cheese-is-more camp. Love veggie pizza with no sauce and a little sprinkle of Parmesan.

Leave a Reply

