Skip to content

Follow Your Heart

September 1, 2011

Good morning everyone! I’m sunning myself in Northumbria at the moment, either that or wrapped in about seven layers drinking a hot cup of tea. I’ve got a fantastic and inspirational guest post today from the lovely Sarah. I hope you enjoy Smile

Hi guys! I’m Sarah from Sweet Potato Sarah. I’m a 20-year-old student at the University of  Manchester and I like to write about what I eat. This follows 3(or 4…?) totally unsuccessful attempts to write fashion blogs. What can I say? I obviously love food a lot more than clothes…

SarahM_photo

I’m so happy to be doing this guest post here on Every Day’s a Picnic today, because it’s about a topic that really means a lot to me: following your heart.

follow

In our lives we are faced with choices all the time, some big and some small. While the small things like what to have for breakfast are (usually!) pretty easy, the big life-altering stuff can be really hard. A few tough decisions I can think of off the top of my head include what to do when you finish school, what to do for a job and even who you have a relationship with. It’s natural to ask for advice at times like those, and sometimes hearing someone else’s take on things can be
refreshing or even just re-affirm what you already knew.

Sometimes, however, you just have to go with your gut and do what you feel in your heart would be best for you. My boyfriend and me have an age gap of over 5 years and when we first got together (at the tender ages of 16 and 21) my family were not supportive. If I had listened to those around me, there’s no way that I would be now, four years later, happily living with the love of my life. I knew he was a great guy and just had to give other people chance to realise. FYI, the two of us actually now go on holiday with my parents, that’s how much they love him
haha.

Sometimes when you don’t follow your heart you regret it, but things can always be fixed. I went to college to do academic A levels like everyone else instead of doing something artistic, which was my true passion, because it was what was expected of me and I allowed other people to influence my future. Six months down the line when I realised I had made a huge mistake it took a lot of courage (and a bit of shame, if I’m honest) to drop out and take a different route. The
important thing was that it was the right decision for me, and if I hadn’t done it then I’d be stuck studying something I hate, and would probably later on have a  job I would hate! I ended up doing a BTEC, and still got into a great university (despite what people said would happen to me at the time…).

Even things like food can come into this. If you feel in your heart that you would be happier as a vegetarian/vegan/meat eating/raw foodie then do it! Do whatever makes you wonderfully, amazingly, vivaciously happy 🙂 Don’t let the “should” stop you from being the best most sparkly and amazing person you can be. You’re awesome, be happy!

happiness

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2011 7:32 am

    Love love this post! You are so right in all of that Sarah, I always try and follow my ‘gut’ which is the shame as following your heart to me, and it has never let me down, even when at the time something didn’t seem to be working out right it came good in the end. I think staying true to yourself and not allowing the opinions or judgements of others affect you is really important in being able to be truly happy!

  2. September 1, 2011 9:14 am

    What a fab post Sarah- you are so right you do have to believe in yourself and trust your instincts.

  3. September 1, 2011 9:28 am

    This is the most amaing post! Everything you say is so true. I think following your heart rather than your head is always best as it always in most cases decides what you truly want and are destined for.

  4. September 1, 2011 11:46 am

    Love this post Sarah – I’m a massive believer in following your heart, I shudder to think what I’d be doing right now had I not followed my heart a couple of years ago!

  5. September 1, 2011 2:14 pm

    It looks like we were in a very similar situation when it comes to degrees, only I didn’t have the courage to change and am still stuck in a subject area where I feel stifled creatively (not that English is really academic either!)

    You were so brave to change subjects and I wish I’d done the same! And I’m so pleased your parents and boyfriend now get along 🙂

    xxx

  6. Errign permalink
    September 1, 2011 9:08 pm

    LOVE this post. Like, love, love, love. Following your heart can be so difficult, but SO rewarding at the same time 🙂

  7. September 2, 2011 9:52 am

    Great post!

  8. September 2, 2011 2:29 pm

    I love this post!! It’s so true, you always have to do what is best for yourself and follow your instincts no matter what.

Leave a Reply

